We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rip-off merchants” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Cavendish London

Save Saved
You added The Cavendish London to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Cavendish London
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   81 Jermyn St | St. James's, London SW1Y 6JF, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
£179* Summer Break Offer
Ranked #75 of 1,075 hotels in London
GreenLeadersGold level
3mnth/yr in Europe 3mnths/yr in asia 6mnths/yr in NA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Rip-off merchants”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2006

The hotel is fun and stylish, but they take price gouging of their guests to new levels. For 7 local calls and exactly 120 mins of internet use I was charged more than USD 150!!!!! I had a regular reservation (with a cancellation policy of 2pm) and I informed the hotel at 6am that I would check out a few days early and they then came back to me saying that I had to pay for the entire stay - an additional 4 nights. We did fix this in the end, but I had to escalate this all the way to the director of revenue at the hotel and I wasted about 2 hours of my time doing this. Apart from that the hotel is fine - no onsite gym (you have to go to LA fitness down the road).

  • Liked — Funky room decor
  • Disliked — They were unusually exhorbidant in their price gouging and their service simply didn't meet the standard
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,985 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,187
    627
    123
    37
    11
See reviews for
273
935
88
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2006

Stayed here for one night on a weekend in July. I booked two double rooms via a website and got the rooms quite below the rack rate, so was pretty pleased (but worried that I'd get the dodgiest room in the house - I needn't have worried). Arrived early just after noon and the rooms were ready for us. The receptionist was very sweet and sent up a complimentary bottle of wine when he found out it was my birthday.
The decor in the public areas is quite nice although the ladies loo upstairs is in need of a little TLC and redecorating. The rooms are small, yes, but they are very well decorated. Nice large flat screens and CD/stereos are great. The rooms are also nice and quiet and unlike some other hotels, not much sound travels from the hallways. The beds are very comfortable, although I am intrigued by all these hotels that seem to think that a top sheet beneath the duvet (flat sheet) is no longer necessary. I know that they are not changing the duvet covers for each guest, so I do think that's a bit icky.
The concierge staff and the reception staff were excellent. In contrast the food and beverage staff could benefit from more customer service training. When it was not possible to order food from the lobby bar after 11.00pm we were also told that we could not order room service to the lobby. On going up to our room, we found that the 24 hour room service menu is dire. The ony thing on offer is beef/ham or egg mayonnaise sandwiches or a couple of types of pizza. The room service staff were also a little rude, so zero points for attitude there!
Overall, a great location for this hotel, smack band in the middle of the West End so you can walk everywhere. It's still in good nick and makes a very pleasant stay. I wouldn't stay here if you are looking for a traditional quaint English style hotel, but it's nice and modern. Beware if you need to park - car parking in the West End is expensive and the hotel does not subsidise their car park in any way - even for hotel guests. Our parking overnight cost us £35.

Stayed July 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2006

Stayed in this excellently located hotel near the tube (Picadilly line from Heathrow to Green Park Station). Staff were wonderful could not do more to help. We were upgraded to an executive room with breakfast and all for under £130 per night, what a treat. Spotlessly clean. Can't wait to return. Beware of minibar though - prices are sky high - all your needs can be met at M&S at Green park tube station.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2006

This is a great hotel in a great location. The staff were excellent (although some in the breakfast area struggle with English), and always friendly and welcoming. The rooms were nicely appointed (modern and clean) and every promise was delivered upon. We stayed 5 nights and the service was consistent throughout. Our package included breakfast and this was excellent. Overall a very good hotel, that delivers what it promises for a fair price.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2006

Myself and my girlfriend stayed in the De Vere Cavendish this weekend as we were in London to see a show and visit the city.

Getting to the hotel from Gatwick was very easy (Gatwick Express > one stop on tube > short walk), the area is very elegant and the hotel itself is nice too. The lobby, reception, bar and dining area/restaurant was very pleasant and tasteful. There is computer access, an ATM and a widescreen plasma for the World Cup etc..

The concierge was very helpful and the check-in/out was very easy and painless too.

Our room on the 12th floor - as other reviews have said - wasn’t the size of a football field, but it accommodated us very well and we had no complaints. The decor of the room was very tasteful and there was a plasma with a decent selection of channels and a CD player/radio. There was also tea and coffee making facilities, a safe and an iron.

The bathroom, in spite of previous comments, was roomy enough and the showers size/power/position/etc was all very good. I quite liked the shower in fact. The views from the room was good - we could see to the London Eye and St Pauls and also beyond to the Swiss Re Building and skyline..

The breakfast in the morning was very nice. There was a good selection and the service was excellent.

We found the location of the hotel excellent. It is situated very close to St James Park/Hyde Park, Buckingham Palace, Green Park Underground, and Theatres etc. Everything was within walking distance and the tube is obviously very handy.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to visitors to London for short and long stays.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2006

my room was very small but convenient. the location was ideal to central sights like buckingham palace and SOHO was within walking distance. it's situated across from fortnum & mason. the bed was very comfortable for myself but it might be cramped for two people. the front desk people could be more pleasant but the bell people were very accommodating and offered their services with a smile. the breakfast buffet was mediocre but i think it was free with the reservation package i obtained.

Stayed June 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EASTBOURNE
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2006

Stayed in this hotel with girlfriend for a London theatre break booked through Supabreaks.

Not the prettiest building in the world but this hotels major selling point has to be its superb location. As regular visitors to London this has to be far and away the best placed for whatever form of entertainment takes your fancy. Its placed right behind Fortnum & Masons and is 5 mins walk from Piccadilly Circus and Regent & Oxford Street for the shopping fans. And then for the night owls its 5 mins from a plethora of bars, restaurants and clubs. You also have a handful of theatres 10 mins away in the Shaftesbury Avenue area. Ideal if as we were, you are off to see 'Les Miserables'. On a culinary note fans of chinese food should note that Chinatown is just 10 mins away with the whole range of establishments from posh to fast service noodle bars.

Despite its location the hotel is tucked nice and quitely in Jermyn Street and you are not troubled by late night noise. The lobby area is very modern with cool lavender lighting and the general clean lines will appeal to most. Front desk staff were very helpful and i loved their informal but efficients beige sweat tops and slacks. If you like your staff very formal in ironed shirts and skirts this casual look is not for you.

First impression of our room on the 12th floor was that it was very tasteful decoreated and continued the modern theme of the lobby area. My only gripe and to be fair my only really important negative on this hotel was the room size. Very small and with 2 suitcases on the floor there is not much room to move around. Bathroom was again very modern and spacious with a bath and shower combo. Beware the bed if you like yours firm. Whilst very comfortable with a duvet which was a nice surprise, it was very soft.

We had breakfast in our room both mornings so cannot comment on the eating areas. Full English was pretty good as wa s the more continental fayre of croissants etc.

One particular niggle was the chambermaids always trying to get into your rooms. We will be out when we are ready thanks!

In conjunction with the small room the only other point to be wary of is the price of drinks. Both the ground and 1st floor bar areas are very swish and modern but i did choke on the £3.75 for a beer and £9.25 for a vodka & diet coke! To be fair this minus factor is cancelled to a degree by the fact that you are so splendidly placed for so many pubs, bars & restaurants.

In conclusion i would give the DeVere a resounding 8 out of 10 with the only the room size and drink prices preventing full marks. Its greatest selling point has to be the location which you will struggle to better and i personally loved its cool modern air.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Cavendish London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cavendish London

Address: 81 Jermyn St | St. James's, London SW1Y 6JF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in London
#46 Romantic Hotel in London
#60 Luxury Hotel in London
#67 Family Hotel in London
#105 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cavendish London 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on prestigious Jermyn Street in the heart of Piccadilly, The Cavendish London offers the ultimate in luxury and convenience for visitors to the UK's Capital, whether for business or for pleasure. In the Edwardian era The Cavendish London, was run by Rosa Lewis the infamous "Duchess of Duke St". Famous throughout London Society for hospitality and cooking, The Cavendish London, continues this tradition today - the attentive staff, variety of facilities and the meticulous care in all the services offered will ensure your stay is as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, LondonMarketing.com, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your The Cavendish London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cavendish London Hotel London
The Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish London
The Cavendish London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cavendish London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.