We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cavendish London

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Cavendish London to your Saves list
The Cavendish London
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   81 Jermyn St | St. James's, London SW1Y 6JF, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
£189* Luxury Winter Break
Ranked #89 of 1,065 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersGold level
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I stayed at the Cavendish hotel during the weekend of the marathon as a base to see the FA cup semi-final at Wembley.

I was very impressed by the location, which was central and meant we could walk to most places we wanted to visit - and take in the atmosphere of the marathon.

The hotel was really well decorated and comfortable, which was great but it was the service that really wowed me. Nothing was a bother to the staff, the concierge, those on reception and in the restaurant & bars. They made us feel very special and welcome. I would definitely recommend the Cavendish to friends and will be returning in the future!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Emsylouiseb,

Thank you very much for your great review and we hope that you had a great day out at Wembley and that your team won. The whole team will be delighted with your comments that they made your stay in London and we all hope we can welcome yo back in the near future.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,291
    664
    134
    38
    13
See reviews for
311
1,058
98
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Excellent location all parts of London easily accessible , drinks and food a bit pricey but excellent quality so worth it.
Cant really say any more other than for a special weekend or break we would definitely recommend it

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Greens35,

Thank you very much for your excellent review and we are delighted that you felt the food and drinks were excellent quality. Thank you for the kind recommendation to other travellers it is really appreciated.

I hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We arrived to the greeting of a friendly and helpful concierge and his staff who helped us in with our bags. The interior was striking, very beautifully decorated and open with easy access to everything. The rooms were perfect, with lovely comfy and spacious beds, bathrooms stretching on with a shower AND bath as well as the room having a wonderful view of the London skyline. The bar was only small but fit enough people into it that came to have a drink, with extremely friendly bar staff who did their utmost to make us feel welcome and relaxed. The breakfasts were organised very well as being such a busy hotel, there is a slight wait before you can be seated but once you get in the selection of food is great with very well cooked English breakfasts on the buffet as well as cold meats, fruit, toast, cereal and the general breakfast foods you get! The room service menu was very extensive and my brother ordered a simple sirloin sandwich which arrived very well presented on a silver tray with everything you would find on a regular dining table! The sandwich itself was delicious, definitely recommend it! The staff on the desks were very helpful and patient with our requests, we were made to feel welcome, cared for and relaxed throughout the whole weekend from everyone in the hotel. I would most certainly recommends The Cavendish to anyone who wants to stay in surety of comfort, relaxation and above all, lovely staff! Thank you for a brilliant stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear jg2892,

Thank you for your brilliant review and great comments about the team, I know that they will all really appreciate it and delighted that they had such an impact on your stay. Thank you very much for the kind recommendation it is really appreciated.

We hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Location of the hotel is great. Shopping, sightseeing and metro stop are close by. The room was nice (although small as they are in London) and had everything you would need. One minor minus was that the bed is really soft. It depends how you like it but for me the bed was absolutely too soft. However, I would stay in this hotel again. Personnel was noce adn made you feel welcome.

Room Tip: Ask a room from as high as possible. Better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear TJLhki,

Thank you very much for your great review and for letting other travellers know about our great location and how close we are to so many of London's attractions. Beds can be a very personal thing and in some cases guests do find our mattresses a bit soft, but we do have bed boards which are available from housekeeping which will make the bed a bit firmer while still ensuring the same level of comfort.

I hope that we can welcome you back on your next visit to London.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel on two previous occasions and enjoyed the hotel and its location. Our third visit over Easter was a really good experience again.

On all three occasions we have taken a penthouse suite on the 15th floor. This time we had 1508 which has a balcony onto which you have access – having signed the health and safety disclaimer! Nanny state huh!

Based on admittedly the best rooms the hotel has to offer, I thoroughly recommend this hotel for its value, location, staff and accommodation. I can’t vouch for the breakfast as we didn’t take it. Preferring to spend the money in a restaurant rather than hotel. Stands to reason you get better food this way. We ate breakfast at Fortnum & Mason, which is a 60 second walk from the hotel. I’ll be writing a review on the breakfast there as it was superb. Give it a go when next in London.

So if you need a West End hotel and don’t want to spend over £400K but do want great service, location and accommodation – make sure you consider the Cavendish.

Room Tip: Go for the 15th floor if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear simon l,

Thank you very much for your great review and hope you enjoyed the views from the balcony on the 15th floor. The team will be delighted with your comments about service and the quality of the accommodation and we hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lowton
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We chose this hotel for the location to the west end as we were coming to see the show Les Miserable for my sons 18th Birthday. The hotel was magnificent in every way, the rooms (we had rooms 610/611 were luxurious spacious and very clean, with very large comfy beds! and good views of the London Eye. The breakfasts were exceptional all tastes catered for. The staff were helpful and attentive especially the concierge.The bar man treated us to one of his "inventions" to test out ! it was very good even though it had whole grain mustard in it!! inventive indeed!. We cannot fault this hotel for its standards across all boards, and it made Bens 18th Birthday very special,the location is literally 10 mins walk to the tube station or to Piccadilly Circus and all theatres. We would definately recommend The Cavendish to all who visit London, and hopefully we will be staying there again soon. many thanks to all staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear warwickwiddler,

Thank you for your excellent review and I hope your son had a great 18th Birthday and enjoyed Les Miserable as well. Thank you for your great comments about the team, I know they will really appreciate it. Your cocktail sounds very interesting and will have to go and try that one myself now.

I hope that we can welcome you back for your next family celebration.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Gosh, this is a wonderful hotel. From the front desk to the concierge staff, I felt so welcome. People greeted us as we came in and out - I felt well cared for. Breakfast (and the staff) are excellent with an amazing variety at the buffet in addition to purpose-made orders. With a good breakfast, it's easy to do a very simple lunch (if at all) and then a nice dinner.

The rooms are well appointed and scrupulously clean. With an upgrade, the view from the Shard to the London Eye to Big Ben to Buckingham Palace was amazing. A wonderful location just behind Fortnum & Mason with Piccadilly Circus and Green Park tube stops equidistant in either direction on Piccadilly. You are in walking distance of wonderful sights, events, and restaurants.

Room Tip: Room that end in "12", e.g., 1412, have the great Big Ben view. The higher the better, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Festina L,

Thank you very much for your excellent review and great comments about the team. We are very lucky to have the great team that we do and they are all passionate about making our guests stay in London a memorable one. Thank you for also letting other travellers know about our great location and how close we are to so many of London's attractions.

We hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cavendish London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cavendish London

Address: 81 Jermyn St | St. James's, London SW1Y 6JF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in London
#55 Romantic Hotel in London
#74 Luxury Hotel in London
#88 Family Hotel in London
#105 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cavendish London 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on prestigious Jermyn Street in the heart of Piccadilly, The Cavendish London offers the ultimate in luxury and convenience for visitors to the UK's Capital, whether for business or for pleasure. In the Edwardian era The Cavendish London, was run by Rosa Lewis the infamous "Duchess of Duke St". Famous throughout London Society for hospitality and cooking, The Cavendish London, continues this tradition today - the attentive staff, variety of facilities and the meticulous care in all the services offered will ensure your stay is as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, LondonMarketing.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Cavendish London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cavendish London Hotel London
The Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish London
The Cavendish London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cavendish London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.