We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another super stay at the Cavendish.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cavendish London

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Cavendish London to your Saves list
The Cavendish London
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   81 Jermyn St | St. James's, London SW1Y 6JF, England (St. James's)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free bottle of champagne
Ranked #105 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Northern Ireland
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Another super stay at the Cavendish.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We have just returned from another lovely long weekend trip to the Cavendish and again are singing its praises. Everyone at the hotel is so helpful, from check in, to check out. It was both of our birthdays while we were there and the receptionist Chloe left a lovely cake in our room for my wife and on the last morning at breakfast, I was brought a lovely little cake with a candle lit, by Iman, so what more could one ask for. Full marks yet again. We look forward to our next visit, which can't come soon enough.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear coantrimtripadviser,

Thank you very much for your excellent review and I am delighted that you let us celebrate your birthdays with you. Thank you for your great comments about Chloe and Iman and I will ensure that they both get recognised for their excellent service.

I hope that we can welcome you back in the near future to celebrate your next special occasion.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,426
    721
    151
    47
    14
See reviews for
333
1,170
106
288
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

As mentioned in lots of reviews, this hotel is in a fantastic location for walking to all central london attractions, it is modern, nicely decorated and clean, concierge most helpful. Unfortunately the rest of our stay was disappointing.

Just stayed 2 nights to celebrate my partners retirement (£190 per night package including breakfast and champagne in room on arrival). If booking the classic room - beware it's very small, not much room to move around, bathroom only big enough for one person to stand in, small hanging space (not recommended for more than 2 day stay) and had a second floor room which must have been over the kitchen as noise from below throughout both nights. Note left to replace ice for champage ignored. No additional shower gel & shampoo for 2nd day. Breakfast - great food however had to queue for restaurant and once inside staff so keen to clear tables you have to hang onto your plate to prevent it being taken away whilst you're still eating. Staff on reception have no interest in their guests or whether they've had a nice stay, just took the room key on checking out.

Got stuck in London due to train cancellations due to storm, asked about booking another night and cheapest offer was £205!! Moved to refurbished Travelodge Euston for £80 - bigger room, much quieter night, should have stayed there!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear helsb31,

Thank you very much for your review and feedback about your stay. I am sorry to hear that you had a disappointing stay, as we pride ourselves in the level of service we offer and the friendliness of the team. I can assure you we will be following up with the teams about the replacing of the Ice as well as why no replacement toiletries were left in the room, as this is our usual standard. I have also spoken to the receptionist involved when you were collecting your bags and your key was taken.

I hope that we can welcome you back on your next visit to London to show you our true service levels.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Currently about to check out of this fantastic hotel, it has to be without doubt the best hotel I have ever stayed in. The staff and customer service is second to none, they do treat you all individually and not as a room number . They are a prime example of amazing customer service. The room was very clean, the breakfast was very tasty as well . I would choose to come back here next time I come to London and will also advise people I know to do the same . For the money you pay you get everything you deserve . I have been told by others though to top of your stay ask for top floor as the views are meant to be outstanding .

Thank you to all the staff for an amazing experience .

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear neilhat,

Thank you very much for your excellent review and kind comments saying that we are the best hotel you have stayed in. I know that the whole team are delighted with your comments as I know they all put in a huge amount of effort to ensure that our guests have a great experience in London. We do have great views from the higher floors as we are one of the highest buildings on the area and we hope that we can welcome you back in the near future to show you the views.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We had two night stay at the Cavendish last weekend, location great for the West End, room very comfortable and clean but not the biggest of rooms. We were on the 14th floor, so had great views.
The breakfasts were excellent and the staff were very friendly and helpful, very enjoyable and looking forward to going back in the new year.




We stayed here a couple of months back and thoroughly enjoyed it,the rooms are nicely decorated and staff including concierge are very helpful and toy get fortnum and masons next door too . Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Andrew H,

Thank you very much for your excellent review. Thank you for letting other travellers know about our excellent location and that we are a few minutes walk from the West End. We have a great team who love making sure that our guests have the best possible experience in London.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the New Year.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My friend and I have stayed at the Cavendish every year for the last four years.
We have a little trip to London just before Christmas to watch a show, dine out, explore Winter Wonderland and of course shopping.
The hotel staff are very helpful, the rooms are clean and tidy with comfortable beds.
We both greatly enjoy the breakfast every time.
Look forward to returning in December.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better view of London.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Julie M,

Thank you very much for your great review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoy staying at the hotel and that our team take such good care of you. We are lucky to have the team that we do, as they are the ones who really make the hotel what it is.

We look forward to welcoming you in December.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Me and my mother arrived at the hotel to be greeted by a helpful, if a little grumpy, concierge, and then the very helpful receptionist who was very upbeat. After a swift check in we went to the room which was comfortable and had great views over London. The bathroom was a little on the small side and not much room between the beds, but well maintained and spotless. We headed to the first floor and had a lovely lunch before the Theatre matinee performance. We arrived back later for Dinner and we were a little baffled by the drama of the maitre'd as the restaurant was empty, and we hadn't booked. He eventually led us to our table. The food was very good and the service was good too. The staff were very polite and helpful. The following morning, after a nice breakfast, we headed out towards St James's which took 10 minutes to find Clarence House and St James's Palace. We were also within a 5-10 minute walk of Soho and Theatre land with Fortnum and Mason at the top of Jermyn Street. Great Location, and service. Even the concierge cracked a smile in the end! Loved also by Americans! A definite for a weekend of culture and theatre!

Room Tip: Ask for breakfast in your room as a treat at no extra charge, but don't surprised if what you ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Jennyc1965,

Thank you very much for your great review. I am delighted that you had such a good stay and that you found all the staff so helpful and friendly. I would be very interested to hear more about the drama you had at the restaurant, as our guests feedback is very key for us to enable us to improve. My direct email address is neil.braude@thecavendishlondon.com. I do know that Nitin our Head Chef and his whole team will be very happy with your comments about the food.

Thank you for your kind recommendation it is really appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hereford
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed here a couple of months back and thoroughly enjoyed it,the rooms are nicely decorated and staff including concierge are very helpful and toy get fortnum and masons next door too .
Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear visiontec,

Thank you very much for your great review and we are all delighted to hear that you would return and stay again. We take a lot of pride in our attention to detail and I am glad that you found that in our rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cavendish London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cavendish London

Address: 81 Jermyn St | St. James's, London SW1Y 6JF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in London
#64 Romantic Hotel in London
#89 Luxury Hotel in London
#99 Family Hotel in London
#135 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cavendish London 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on prestigious Jermyn Street in the heart of Piccadilly, The Cavendish London offers the ultimate in luxury and convenience for visitors to the UK's Capital, whether for business or for pleasure. In the Edwardian era The Cavendish London, was run by Rosa Lewis the infamous "Duchess of Duke St". Famous throughout London Society for hospitality and cooking, The Cavendish London, continues this tradition today - the attentive staff, variety of facilities and the meticulous care in all the services offered will ensure your stay is as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, LondonMarketing.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Cavendish London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cavendish London Hotel London
The Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish London
The Cavendish London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cavendish London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.