We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfy and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cavendish London

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Cavendish London to your Saves list
The Cavendish London
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   81 Jermyn St | St. James's, London SW1Y 6JF, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
£189* Luxury Winter Break
Ranked #89 of 1,066 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersGold level
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Clean, comfy and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Me and my husband was staying in Cavendish London for 3 nights on June 6-9. It was a satisfying and awesome stay.
Room; The room looks like it was newly renovated, clean, and comfy. It was equiped with everthing you need including an ipod amplifier.
Service:The receiptionist was very helpful. I book my room through .com, and I send an email to the hotel asking for booking and payment comfirmation two days prior to my trip. They did reply within several hours for comfirmation. I also email them for an airport transfer very last min, and they did arragne it nicely for me within hours. Fast checkin and checkout, it is definitely a five star service.
Location: Centrally locationed in the heart of london city. 5 mins walk to Green Park subway station. 8 mins walk to Piccadilly circus subway station, which brings you to all the attractions within 20-30 mins by subway. Soho area is just few mins walk away, which provides you with all the dinning options, fast and conenient. Main shopping district like regent st., oxford st is also a few mins walk away, also there are many local shops around the hotel area, excellet for shoppers.
The negative: Room is rather small and small. You definitly cannot open up two large size suitcase at one time if you are travelling with your partner. One suit case is the max. The room doesn't provide free wifi in the room. Only lobby and public area does. Price is a little bit too high, maybe I was just travelling in high season. But for overall, I still think it worth the money I spent, and I will definitly return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy S, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Elsa A,

Thank you very much for staying with us on your recent trip to London.
Your praise is much appreciated and i will ensure the relevant departmenst get word of it.
As you mentioned we do not provide free Wifi in the rooms however do provide this on the ground and first floor. Besides that we have 3 Mac computers in our business centre for guest use. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you will be back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,295
    664
    135
    38
    13
See reviews for
311
1,058
99
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
paris
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stayed here for a couple of nights on business.

Room was small but comforable and clean. Nice views over London. However, room was right next to the lift shaft and so sleep was disturbed frequently by noise of lifts/other guests coming and going.

I had quite high expectations of this hotel and was left a little disappointed (especially given price per night) but this was probably due to disturbed sleep

Staff polite and efficient.

If I needed to be in Mayfar again I would absolutely consider the Cavendish, but would request a room further away from the lifts.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear mlohara,

Thank you very much for your review. I am sorry to hear that you had a disturbed sleep as our key focus is that all of our guests have a good nights rest. If I can ask you to send me your booking details form your stay and I will be able to update your profile with your requests about being away form the lift. My direct email address is neil.braude@thecavendishlondon.com

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to London

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed for a single night in June. Nicely appointed entrance with friendly and attentive staff. We had booked a Superior Room (through last minute.com) and at check in we're told that we'd been upgraded to an executive room free of charge.......excellent!!!

The room was clean and spacious with a Nespresso machine and free coffee capsules (hope you like you coffee strong as some of these could wake the dead). If coffee isn't your thing then there's a kettle and tea plus normal coffee tucked away in the wardrobe as well. Other amenities in the room include ironing board/iron, safe and hairdryer.

Bathroom has a separate bath and shower with bathrobes and slippers.

There is wifi available in the room but there is a usage charge of 10p per minute.

The bar and restaurant is located on the first floor. We had breakfast which had a good selection to choose from. Didn't use the bar area but passed it on the way to breakfast and it looked liked a good place to meet and have drink in a relaxed atmosphere.

The Cavendish is located just off Piccadilly and is a great location to be based from. Easy access to Piccadilly and Green Park tube (Green Park is the closest by a couple of minutes walk).

To sum up, good location, friendly staff, good rooms and we will definitely look to stay here again when visiting London.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear KeithBLV,

Thank you very much for your excellent review. I am delighted to hear that you had such a good stay with us and that you really liked the location, staff and rooms and that you will be staying with us again.

We really look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I've stayed at the Cavendish on several occasions for business. Centrally located on Jermyn Street it's ideal for tubes, the West End, sight seeing, short breaks and business. The rooms are well furnished and appointed, the bar is small and personal and the restaurant has an excellent menu. I'm always fascinated by buildings history and the story of the hotel in the booklet in the room is a nice touch

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Markmsomerset,

Thank you for your excellent review and I know that the whole team will be delighted with your comments. The history of the hotel is very interesting and there are many tales that are not in the book of tunnels and affairs which are yet to be proven but make for some good stories.

I hope that we can welcome you back on your next visit to London and would be happy to tell you about some of those stories.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed as part of a theatre break. All staff were attentive and polite. Cocktails were excellent as was breakfast, which provided an excellent choice. Highly recommended. Plan to go back again as the location was ideal to explore the capital

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Harold_ardrada,

Thank you very much for your excellent comments, I am delighted to hear that you had such a great stay. Our Team are truly the ones that make the hotel so good, and we are very grateful to have the team that we have. Thank you for the recommendation it is really appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uddingston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My cousin and I stayed at the Cavendish for three nights from 8th June. The hotel is ideally situated being within walking distance of Buckingham Palace, Leicester Square and Oxford Street. Very pleasant staff. Very good choice in the buffet breakfast and we also enjoyed a lovely pre-theatre meal in the hotel as well. A great location for a London Weekend Break!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear linda b,

Thank you very much for your excellent response. Thank you for telling other travellers about our excellent location and how close we are to the local attractions. Our Head Chef Nitin and his team will be delighted at your comments about the food.

I hope that we can welcome you back on your next weekend away.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights from 17 May in an executive room. Asked for a room with a view but had office windows in front of us but could see London Eye ...just! Breakfast choice was excellent as were the staff on duty...table cleared constantly. The early hours of Sunday morning were constantly disturbed by shouting and police sirens...as we discovered next morning the noise was from a nightclub close by. Good area to walk around as near parks.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Samd1105,

Thank you very much for your great review. I am sorry to hear that your sleep was disturbed by the police sirens around the hotel. I know that Nitin our Head Chef and Chris our Food and Beverage Manager will be delighted with your comments about breakfast and know that they will share them with the whole team.

I hope that we can welcome you back for your next ladies getaway.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cavendish London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cavendish London

Address: 81 Jermyn St | St. James's, London SW1Y 6JF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in London
#55 Romantic Hotel in London
#73 Luxury Hotel in London
#92 Family Hotel in London
#113 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cavendish London 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on prestigious Jermyn Street in the heart of Piccadilly, The Cavendish London offers the ultimate in luxury and convenience for visitors to the UK's Capital, whether for business or for pleasure. In the Edwardian era The Cavendish London, was run by Rosa Lewis the infamous "Duchess of Duke St". Famous throughout London Society for hospitality and cooking, The Cavendish London, continues this tradition today - the attentive staff, variety of facilities and the meticulous care in all the services offered will ensure your stay is as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Venere, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Cavendish London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cavendish London Hotel London
The Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish London
The Cavendish London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cavendish London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.