We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect place for a celebration!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cavendish London

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Cavendish London to your Saves list
The Cavendish London
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   81 Jermyn St | St. James's, London SW1Y 6JF, England (St. James's)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free bottle of champagne
Ranked #105 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“perfect place for a celebration!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I held an afternoon champagne tea party for 25 people at the Cavendish and it exceeded my expectations. The private room (Electra) was perfect, the food was generous and delicious, and the staff were helpful and charming and went out of their way to make sure that everything went smoothly. My guests enjoyed it very much and so did I. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a private function.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeilDBraude, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear dene s,

Thank you very much for your excellent review. I am delighted that you had such a good party and that the team took such good care of you. I know that both the Service team and the Kitchen will be delighted with your comments.

I hope that we can welcome you back for your next celebration.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,425
    721
    151
    47
    14
See reviews for
333
1,169
106
288
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The Cavendish London is located 1 minute from Piccadilly and The Old Bond Street. Regent Street, Piccadilly Circus and Oxford Street are within 10 minutes walking distance. Next to Fortnum & Mason and close to the Metro station it’s a convenient location for a London trip.

Accommodation at The Cavendish London combines luxury with some of the best views in London. The guest rooms present elegant furnishings, indirect lighting and clean, neat design complemented with great bathrooms (shower and bathtub), well-equipped. The double room was quite spacious – also well equipped with iPod docking station, tea and coffee making facilities (Nespresso).
The staff was more than courteous; the Concierge has good restaurant tips and shopping advice!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeilDBraude, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear LillyWien 1975,

Thank you very much for your great comments. I am delighted that you liked the rooms so much as we have recently ad them refurbished. Thank you for your great comments about our Concierge team, I know that Richard our Head Concierge and the team will be very happy with your comments.

We hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights at The Cavendish and could not be happier with the location – just a 5-minute walk to Piccadilly Circus or Green Park and next to Fortnum and Mason, yet in a quiet street. The room was clean and tastefully decorated although it was smaller than an American hotel room we are used to. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Free WIFI at the lobby and free use of computers and printers. An excellent hotel overall.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeilDBraude, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Joanna C,

Thank you very much for your great review. Thank you for telling other travellers about our excellent location, as you say we are close enough to all the excitement of London but 1 street away from the main road making it nice and quite.

I hope that we can welcome you back on your next visit to London.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan,lancs
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
232 helpful votes 232 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

This review is a little belated! I stayed here last December for 1 night as part of a theatre break. The Hotel is fabulous! We were celebrating my boyfriends 30th birthday and I emailed the Hotel in advance to request a room with a nice view. When we arrived we were allocated a room on a high floor with views of Big Ben, London eye etc, amazing.

When we came back to the Hotel after the show, we were surprised to see a huge chocolate cake and a happy birthday card which was lovely and much appreciated, I didn't expect it! My boyfriend was made up!

The location is perfect for shopping,sightseeing, very upmarket area with lots of great boutiques. The breakfast was gorgeous and the staff we encountered were always smiley, helpful and professional.

I'm a travel agent and I would recommend this hotel to anybody ( in fact i already have ) looking for a central hotel in a lovely, safe area.

Thanks to the staff at Cavendish for making our stay perfect and my boyfriends birthday extra special!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy S, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Shelley99,

Thank you for your review and you know what they say! "Better late than never".
We always try to do a little extra when we know guests are celebrating a special occassion and for us to be able to surprise both yourself and your partner is great and the reason why we do it.
Our high floor rooms are very popular and in high demand, so you did the right thing to request a room with a view in advance so we can do our best to accomodate your request.
I like the fact that you are a travel agent and hope that you will send many more people our way.

All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffs
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stayed here with a group of friends, the location was excellent and the rooms lovely, probably the best breakfast I've had in a hotel, lots of choice. The staff were friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy S, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Janiewanie,

Thank you for your short but great review of your recent stay with friends at The Cavendish London. It is comments such as yours which make it all worthwhile doing. Breakfast has often been singled out as being one of the best hotel breakfasts in London.

Hope you will be back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed at The Cavendish on a Superbreak 1 night theatre break.
Excellent location,the staff were excellent. Benefitted from Trip advisor reviews and emailed for a high floor with a great view. The bedroom though was rather on the small side.
The breakfast was terrific, the best I have had anywhere in the UK
Would certainly stay at this hotel again

Room Tip: Ask for a large room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy S, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Adrian M,

Thank you for your feedback.
The superbreak package is normally for our classic rooms which is our starting category, should you wish to have a bigger room in the future then there is the possibility to upgrade your room on arrival. As you mentioned we try to accomodate guest requests where we can and I am happy that you got a room with a view. Our breakfast has won many awards and we believe that the selection is varied and substantial for all our guests wishes, we recently changed over our a la carte breakfast menu and this now features pancakes and waffles.
Thanks again and hope to see you back at The Cavendish London soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed in The Cavendish for four nights and had made our booking through their Facebook page - with a great offer. The Cavendish is just around the corner of Green Park tube station and only a 5-10 minute walk to Picadilly square. So you're really right in the heart of London, with Buckingham Palace, Regent Street and fun locations like Audi City close by.

The staff was really friendly and always helpful - from reception desk to waiter.

We had a standard room which was ok from the size, however, don't expect a suite-sized room if you book a standard. A bit more room for clothing would have been nice, but that was only a minor point.

To put it all into a nutshell: if we manage to receive the same rate again, we will definitely book the Cavendish again for our next trip to London.

Room Tip: You might want to check their Facebook page for limited discount offers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy S, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Peter K,

It seems like you had a great time in London and got to visit many places. our location is ideal for sight seeing, shopping and theatre land and for sights a bit further out we are well connected to the underground stations.
We try to look after our loyal followers by as you mentioned offering discounts on our Facebook page, you can get 20% off in the restaurant for example if you book through facebook and also keep your eyes open for room discounts.
All in All we are very happy that you enjoyed staying with us and I would like to thank you for writing about your experience on this site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cavendish London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cavendish London

Address: 81 Jermyn St | St. James's, London SW1Y 6JF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in London
#64 Romantic Hotel in London
#89 Luxury Hotel in London
#99 Family Hotel in London
#134 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cavendish London 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on prestigious Jermyn Street in the heart of Piccadilly, The Cavendish London offers the ultimate in luxury and convenience for visitors to the UK's Capital, whether for business or for pleasure. In the Edwardian era The Cavendish London, was run by Rosa Lewis the infamous "Duchess of Duke St". Famous throughout London Society for hospitality and cooking, The Cavendish London, continues this tradition today - the attentive staff, variety of facilities and the meticulous care in all the services offered will ensure your stay is as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, LondonMarketing.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Cavendish London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cavendish London Hotel London
The Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish London
The Cavendish London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cavendish London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.