We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Hotel - Perfect Location - Friendly Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Griffin House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Griffin House Hotel to your Saves list
Griffin House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Connaught Street, Marble Arch, London W2 2AH, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #688 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    39
    30
    20
    54
See reviews for
28
41
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hatfield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

booked a double deluxe room , got 2 awful single beds pushed together ,carpet old and threadbare, mould in shower , generally disgusting . breakfast bad , just cereal juice , toast and eggs . no one claimed to be in charge so no one to complain to . i rang the owner once home . no real apology , he promised to refund £10.00 on card , wow . it never did arrive of course . please do not go to this hotel ever

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The griffin house is a very nice hotel for a short stay in London. The down side is maybe the noise, you hear the other people quite a lot. Otherwise very nice stay and a good price for a romantic weekend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed here 8th-9th December and for a good price, the hotel is in a great location off Edgware road, close to Marble arch and ideal for Hyde Park and for the shoppers next to Oxford Street.

I stayed on the top floor which was for single person, room was very clean, with tv, en-suite shower and basin(small), the bedding was clean and fresh fluffy towels, the toilet is on the landing of which i knew about when i booked that didn't bother me.

Reception was clean and tidy and very helpful staff, most of them are foreign workers with good English, you can leave your luggage at £2 per item was great for my last day of visit.

Breakfast was Continental with bread,jams, cereal, tea, coffee, fresh juices etc...included in your price,

I feel hotel is more suitable for couples, business people and singles, i didn't look at any of the family rooms so can't give any feedback on them.

To sum up my stay, great hotel, clean room, friendly staff, great location would book again next time i visit London.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I was booked into this hotel for a business trip, reading previous reviews my hopes weren't very high however I discovered the hotel staff friendly and helpful. The room was clean and warm with good facilities. For the excellent location and price this was a very pleasant stay in a very expensive city! I would definately book here again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tipperary
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Booked to stay at the Griffin Hotel at the weekend over from Ireland booked with Travelstay, got all the confirmations booked 2 single rooms for 3 nights, on arrive told they only had one room available so very disappointed, so spent the rest of the day, trying to find somewhere for the 3 nights, eventually found one in Holborn not where we wanted to be, not sure if it was down to Travelstay or Griffin House Hotel, but they did pay for the taxi to take us to another hotel as by that time we were very tired, and just wanted to get on with enjoying our stay in London for the weekend, so felt terribly let down. My suggestion to all is even if you do book through an agent ring the hotel direct yourself and confirm that they have the rooms booked that you require do, not assume all is ok.

Room Tip: always always phone the hotels direct and get confirmation that the agent has put in the booking for...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed here for the second time and was again pleased with what we got especially for the price, the location was brilliant (we were at the proms in the park) for Hyde park , the bathrooms are very small and need attention ( the receptionist when we arrived told us they are shutting down probably in January 2013 to update all the bathrooms), the rooms have been updated since we went last year and are all very clean and well fitted out. We will chose this hotel again and yes the breakfast isn't a full fried , but cereals, toast, eggs and tea or coffee is good enough choice for us and if you want bigger and better then there are plenty of places around this hotel. Staff are all friendly and willing to help.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Griffin House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griffin House Hotel

Address: 10 Connaught Street, Marble Arch, London W2 2AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #688 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Griffin House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Griffin House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griffin Hotel London
Griffin House Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Griffin House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.