We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exhibition” 3 of 5 stars
Review of West Cromwell Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added West Cromwell Hotel to your Saves list
West Cromwell Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   66 West Cromwell Road | Earls Court, Kensington & Chelsea, London SW5 9QS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #860 of 1,052 Hotels in London
belfast
Level Contributor
115 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“exhibition”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

A no frills hotel. staff very pleasant and helpful, well located to Olympia exhibition halls, also near to earls court tube station..5 mins walk. Also very large Tesco store 24 hours 2 mins away. iF you are on a budget it is good. Also clean and tidy. Lots of eating paces near by .

Room Tip: trya triple room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    26
    27
    29
    34
See reviews for
17
22
20
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Faro, Portugal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I stayed for 3 nights, the first night I had a room at the front of the hotel, it was the worst night's sleep I had ever had. It was like sleeping in the middle of a race track, no double glazing and the room faced onto Cromwell Road. I asked to be moved into a room at the back of the hotel, what a difference, lovely and quiet.

The rooms are small and cosy. The bathrooms are ok, with plenty of shampoo and soap provided, there was a hairdryer, tea and coffee facilities. The sheets and bedding were clean, but the carpets and paintwork were a bit scruffy, and there was a large crack down the wall.

The staff were polite and friendly, and the breakfast was quite adequate

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the Hotel are very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Very small rooms. The lift was so small that it could only fit a person, so carrying heavy luggages up the stairs may be troublesome. Breakfast was of very cheap quality. Cheap cereals, some ham and cheese slices and toast. However, for £35 a night, there's not much to expect in the first place. Not suitable for families, but maybe for budget travellers.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Booked on basis of price, so I shouldn't have expected much. A single room on almost the top floor, it was too warm, I had to have the window open, facing the A4 Cromwell Rd not enjoyable! Something in the room didn't help my breathing, my problem not theirs I guess. It was clean, had basic things supplied, the shower pressure was good and the water hot. Reception staff did what they needed, but isn't life boring!! Breakfast very basic, I struggle without marmalade! So I struggled. The coffee seemed Expresso strength in a coffee pot, a bit powerful. All in all, basic, a handy room for ONE night, I was woken up by people, I thought, coming into my room, very noisy so soundproofing no good as flagged up by others. Fire escape route by stairs or onto the roof, so if that is a concern don't come to the top floor.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Will never stay here again.

After exiting the lift into the hallway, I could audibly hear a lady in the throws of passion, with her boyfriend panting along quite loudly. The bed was banging against the wall, and this was REALLY loud for all to hear. Walking through the door, which slammed shut behind me, the noise suddenly stopped as they realized they may have been heard.

Thoroughly awkward.

The room was dirty, with old fixtures and fittings, and smelt of something foul. Can't place what it was.

Pros: Tesco 2 minutes away.
Cons: Everything else.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Well what do you expect from a 2 Star Hotel for £35 a night? The answer: Nothing
I stayed here because I flew into London Gatwick and was stupid enough to leave my wallet in the airplane. Therefore my pre booked 4 Star Hotel of which I am a Gold Member would not let me stay there because I had no Credit Card to show and the room was £315 – Intercontinental Zero points.
Well done on my side. How do you survive 2 days of London with only a Passport and £120 emergency cash in the bag.
£40 Gatwick Express Train
£18 Tube ticket (2 day pass)
£35 Hotel breakfast included but not yet tested in this review
£98 Gone

£22 Left for 2 days for food, coffee, etc. (lucky I was on a business trip).

• The rooms are absolutely clean and furnished with some spartanic but useful furniture
• They let me pay in cash
• I was able to check in immediately at 10am because of my situation to make some phone calls
• They gave me wifi for free again because of my situation
• And they helped me to survive on my £22 budget with a lot of tips

I am absolutely wowed by this behaviour and the friendliness of the staff here.

A big thank you to these great people at the West Cromwell Hotel. I wouldn’t have made it without you.
Yes I am completely biased but in a situation like this you learn that luxury is not everything.

5 STARS

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This hotel is situated accross the road from Gloucester Road underground station so the location is very good and very convenient. Although the hotel faces a busy road the rooms are reasonably quiet.
They are also quite well appointed. The front desk staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel does however have a number of stairs leading to some rooms so people with mobility problems or who have a lot of luggage could be challenged.
There is a Waitrose super market accross the road which opens at 7:30am from which breakfast items can be purchased at much cheaper prices than in a restaurant.

Room Tip: Try and get a room that does not face Gloucester Road
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Hammersmith / Fulham
Ibis London Earls Court
Ibis London Earls Court
#496 of 1,052 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 3,040 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
Ibis London Shepherds Bush
Ibis London Shepherds Bush
#226 of 1,052 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,295 reviews
Earls Court
Garden View Hotel
Garden View Hotel
#566 of 1,052 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
BEST WESTERN The Cromwell
BEST WESTERN The Cromwell
#573 of 1,052 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 857 reviews
Caring Hotel
#441 of 1,052 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 628 reviews
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
#190 of 1,052 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Cromwell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Cromwell Hotel

Address: 66 West Cromwell Road | Earls Court, Kensington & Chelsea, London SW5 9QS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #860 of 1,052 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — West Cromwell Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Budget Places, EasyToBook, Agoda, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your West Cromwell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Cromwell London
Hotel West Cromwell
West Cromwell Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Cromwell Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.