We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snel weer wegwezen” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Oxford Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Oxford Hotel to your Saves list
The Oxford Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13-14 Craven Terrace | Lancaster Gate, London W2 3QD, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #720 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Gouda, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Snel weer wegwezen”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Overpriced and very bad rooms...lousy bathrooms and as a family your are stuffed into a room! 4th flour and no elevators....few minutes late for breakfast and you dont get any! That was one horrornight, we left as soon as we could!

Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    63
    46
    32
    23
See reviews for
56
49
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I chose this room because of its location and price. The room was clean although the decor a bit dated and the bathroom had been updated fairly recently. There was a TV, as well as a little kitchen area with kettle and fridge. For the price it was fairly good value - but I have stayed in other hotels in this area for a similar price that have been slightly more up to date. I had the room behind the reception area - noisy as it was near the stairs, and the staff door to the reception desk. Some simple things would help - a mattress protector on the bed (not just the sheet straight onto the mattress) and replacing the damaged shower head. Although it is in a good location for when I travel to London I would probably not choose to stay here again.

Room Tip: avoid the room behind the reception - it can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

This place is ok to stay! I mean good not too bad and nothing excellent then again can't fault. The room is very good size and the service was good too. Breakfast was ok bit small portion but never mind. Can try it

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volgograd, Russia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

For those used to the size and decor of European hotels, this is a great inexpensive place to stay in London. If you're expecting an American style and size room, then you'll be disappointed.

Our room was clean and the bathroom roomy enough. We had booked through a travel site and the only room left was a triple, but this turned out to be good because it gave us extra room for open suitcases.

There are stairs! and fairly steep ones, so don't book here if you have mobility issues, perhaps even mild ones.

The wifi works but really only in the lobby and the breakfast room.

There is an included breakfast which is a bit rudimentary (buns and croissants, cheese and jams, instant coffee and tea). Toast and hot chocolate are available, but you have to know to ask. OTOH there are several local cafes for breakfast, and Paddington station is quite close.

The location is quite good: Hyde Park is a short block away; Gloucester Road tube station is close (but is one of those tedious stations that relies on lifts/elevators); Paddington is only slightly further away, but the Bakerloo line access was closed when we were there, making getting to the West End a bit more complex than necessary.

Room Tip: The street isn't noisy, so almost any room is OK. The basement rooms might be a bit less desirab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

That was the most horrible hotel I have ever been.
Horrible rooms, terrible breakfast.
no elevator, ugly room, small bad, worst bathroom, very small,
breakfast ?
I would not call this breakfast.
not worth a penny









  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luleå
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We visited the Oxford Hotel and it wasn't too bad. The rooms were small, and the bathrooms even smaller (the shower didn't work most times due to low water pressure and severe temperature changes).

We lived on the third door, and the stairs were hell, due to them being very narrow and steep. Thanks to our third floor room we got a nice view, however.

They serve breakfast which is nice, although navigation to and from the dining area (and the hotel in general) is limited.

What really makes the hotel stand out is its location. Walk straight out the door and you have several restaurants and convenience stores to chose from, and Hyde Park + the Lancaster Gate Underground Station are both within a five minute walk. This, in addition to its price, has me saying that this hotel is worth a stay if you're looking for a place to spend the nights, not live in. If you travel light, travel in a group of 2 or 4, and spend most of your time out looking at London, go for this one, since it's really worth the price.

If you come to London for business and need to spend a lot of time in the room, I'd tell you to look elsewhere. There's not much to do in the room, and the tv doesn't even work.

A good summarization is that you get what you pay for, which is a good location and a good place to sleep, not live.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed here for 12 nights in May and enjoyed our stay. Every day consisted of leaving early in the morning to sightsee and explore and returning late at night to shower and sleep. If, like us,you're in London as an eager and curious tourist who will use the hotel as little more than a place to rest at night, this is probably a great place for you. If you plan to hang out in your room all day and enjoy the hotel's amenities, you might want to go somewhere else.

The positives:
- Very friendly, cheerful, and helpful staff
- Clean rooms
- Excellent location (a five-minute walk to the Lancaster Gate tube station, 10 minutes to Paddington, Kensington Gardens, etc.)
- Tea, coffee, a mini-fridge, and a microwave in the room (wasn't expecting to find this at this hotel)
- Cozy and quaint

The negatives:
- The bathrooms might be a bit small. I'm 5'1, so this wasn't a big deal for me, but I can definitely see how others would find them uncomfortable
- The wi-fi doesn't really work unless you're sitting in the lobby
- The beds aren't very comfortable

Breakfast is a croissant or bun with butter and jelly, but that was enough for me (especially considering what we paid for our stay).

Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oxford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oxford Hotel

Address: 13-14 Craven Terrace | Lancaster Gate, London W2 3QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #720 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oxford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Budget Places, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Oxford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Hotel London
The Oxford Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oxford Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.