We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is great” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rose Court Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rose Court Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rose Court Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35/35a Great Cumberland Place | Marble Arch, London W1H 7DS, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #720 of 1,075 hotels in London
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Location is great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Great location. Rooms were reasonably sized. Very old bathrooms. We had to depart at 630 and had paid for breakfast. The male receptionist advised us that the staff do not start until 8am to do breakfast. We asked politely that as we had paid, surely we could at least have some toast or cereal before we leave. It all seemed too much for him. However we were pleasantly surprised and had croissants as well as toast and cereal for breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasu S, Manager at Rose Court Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Sir,

I read your review with interest as we always strive to improve our services, however I was confused over your comments. Overall your review is a positive one, although I was surprised by the old bathroom one as we recently refreshed all of them, yet your overall vote is negative. I am not sure if this is referring to what you perceived to be the receptionist attitude, as you clearly state reception did indeed organise an early breakfast for you, which is what we do for all clients who leave early.
I can only apologise if this spoilt your stay with us, but I can't help to reiterate we indeed served you breakfast as although the breakfast team starts at a later stage we always try to go the extra mile to satisfy our guests. I hope you will consider us for the future so to welcome you back, also to make sure we meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    55
    39
    23
    51
See reviews for
40
34
25
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toulouse, France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is the second time I stay at the rose court and I find it almost perfect for location, price and comfort. My children also love it as they had a separate bedroom within our room, almost a suite! The hotel is 1 minute away from Oxford street, we took the kids to watch a show, my wife did some shopping and after dinner we went back to the hotel, everything is so close by. The staff are super friendly, the breakfast has improved since our last visit with hot elements as well. For a 3 star hotel the rose court really delivers, much better for us than the bog standard chain hotels that London is so full of! No doubt on the next visit to London we will be back.

Room Tip: The basement has really large rooms, don`t be put off! Great family space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Weird but hilarious hotel! We walked in and were greated by the Receptionist who informed us we were early in a very polite manner (and yes we were by about two hours) we asked if we could leave our bags there and nip out for lunch, we were told, yes just put it in the corner over there (the corner of the large reception room), had we had anything valuable we would have maybe felt a bit dodgy about this but it was just clothes as we were only staying a day so happily obliged. We popped down to Marble Arch (which you can see at the bottom of the road) and Oxford Street less than 5 minutes away!

When we returned our items were still there and we were promptly checked in and directed to our room. The room was big! We had a double(ish) and single bed in our high ceiling room with plenty of floorspace, a desk, two wardrobes and a bathroom. We noticed a kettle but no coffee/tea/cups - no issue as we weren't overly bothered. Fun begins - toilet seat would not stay up unless jussst riiiight which resulted in many loud bangs scaring the poop out of ye! The shower took some technical know-how to operate and once I was in I realised the bath was quite high and as such could only really shower if you were about 5ft as my head was over the tap and screen! I did have to laugh! The hairdryer was as good as any hotel dryer. The TV was a decent size with plenty of channels which we enjoyed after our shopping trip and evening meal. Problem was our room was on the ground floor in quite a high traffic area with a set of lights right out the window which was not glazed to a high standard. As we were clearing out the next morning we found the tea/coffee/milk/sugar in the bedside cabinet - doh!

Please do not take the above as saying this is a bad place at all! It isn't! We paid £60 for one night to stay in a hotel 5 mins from Oxford Street, we were expecting worse and it was actually quite fun with its quirks! We would definately go back but maybe see about staying in a room not on street level!

Room Tip: Ask for an off-street-level room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Hi

Rose court is our at home feel, have stayed here many times.. Resonable price for what they provide..

friendly staff

Clean rooms, ..clean bed spreads,blankets etc..

Nice breakfast served quick and hot ,free egg and many other essentials of breakfast.

Safe lockers avbl.

Overall safety n secured feel.

Free wifi too...

Cheers..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We were a group of 8 persons with 2 children who stayed in this hotel for 5 days, the managment was very kind and patient with us because after we booked we planned to stay few more days and more relatives joined us and they promtly helped us. It is situated in a perfect area 5 mins walk away from the marble arch tube. The staff there are very nice and friendly. The breakfast is good,reasonable price and it has a small lift.....will definatley stay here again........

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This hotel is crazy. It's like a warren. Basic but clean rooms. The best location you could imagine. Check out it's neighbour hotels!! £50 per person per night B&B.I wouldn't bother with the breakfast. Eatern European at it's worst.

Pop round the corner to Deli Valerie!

Have no expectations and you'll be pleased.

Room Tip: Go for basement. It's not as grim as it sounds and it's so peaceful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I'm in the hotel since 6 January and I'll be leaving here on the 26th, the truth is that I read a lot of reviews of the nearby hotels and ended up deciding on this hotel by chance. As we drove prices were all more or less equal.

The hotel is in a perfect location, close to Hyde Park and Marble Arch Station (bus and subway), near Oxford St. shopping where you have to almost 24 hours of the day and the best brands.
The staff is beyond friendly and super affordable, our English is not the best and were always attentive and patient.
The rooms have the basic comodidas you need any tourist, a bed, a tea / coffee to drink when it reaches the street, and a good tv to see Top Gear when he gets tired.
  The cleanliness of the hotel is good, it is every day and change towels and sheets, spend vacuuming and dusting the furniture.

The truth is that super pleased with everything, if we are lucky to ever return to London, I will not hesitate to return here.

Estoy en el hotel desde el 6 de enero y me estare yendo de aqui el 26, la verdad es que lei un monton de reviews de los hoteles cercanos y terminamos decidiendo por este hotel por el azar. Ya que los precios que manejabamos estaban todos mas o menos iguales.

El hotel queda en una ubicacion perfecta, cerca del Hyde Park y de la estacion Marble Arch (De buses y de subterraneo), cerca de la Oxford St. donde tienes para shopping casi las 24hs del dia y de las mejores marcas.
El staff es mas que amable y super accesible, nuestro ingles no es el mejor y siempre estuvieron atentos y pacientes.
Las habitaciones tienen las comodidas basicas que necesita cualquier turista, una cama, un juego de te/cafe para poder tomar algo cuando llega de la calle, y una buena tv para poder ver Top Gear cuando llega cansado.
La limpieza del hotel es buena, se hace todos los dias y cambian toallas y sabanas, pasan la aspiradora y desempolvan los muebles.

La verdad es que super satisfechos con todo, si tenemos la suerte de volver a Londres alguna vez, no dudare de volver aqui.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rose Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Court Hotel

Address: 35/35a Great Cumberland Place | Marble Arch, London W1H 7DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #720 of 1,075 hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rose Court Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rose Court Hotel is a converted townhouse, steeped in history having been the private residence of the Churchill family. All 43 bedrooms have private facilities and are decorated in a simple and traditional style. All bedrooms have lcd Tv screens, tea and coffee making facilities, and very comfortable beds. With such a unique location, being 2 minutes walk from Marble arch and Oxford street, we are the perfect choice for all travellers wishing to stay in the very heart of London. The team is looking forward to welcome you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Rose Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Court London
Hotel Rose Court
Rose Court Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rose Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.