We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vancouver Studios

Save Saved
You added Vancouver Studios to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vancouver Studios
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Prince's Square | Bayswater, London W2 4NJ, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #154 of 1,073 hotels in London
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“What a gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I agree with the other reviewers - this place is a hidden gem. Excellent location, very clean, and great to have the kitchenette. Unlike some other self-catering places that don't provide it, I really appreciated the daily housekeeping. Wifi was fast enough to work from.
My bathroom was a bit of a squeeze, but immaculately clean and in perfect condition, and the separate shower wasn't as small as in other places I stayed.
Shops are close by, as are ample restaurants. The tube is a short walk and you can even walk to Paddington in 10-mins. A bit of noise from the road in the evening, but that's because Bayswater is a lively area.
I'd certainly recommend it and would return the next time I'm in London.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    99
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
34
52
54
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Although it's definitely not fancy, it's comfortable. Of the various hotels I stay at throughout the year, this is my favorite. With kitchen facilities and no room service, it feels more like a flat than a hotel, which is fine by me.

The stairs are a bit of a problem. I'm fit, so it doesn't bother me much. For anyone who isn't a bit athletic, though, it would be best to ask for a room on a lower floor, preferably facing the garden.

Boris Bike rentals are just around the corner.

Great value, terrific location, very friendly staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the garden, on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

My family of four stayed in the Regent Circle flat over Christmas and New Years. Located with in walking distance of 3 tube station, major bus routes, Portobello Road, Kensington Gardens & Hyde Park. Next to a coffee shop and across the street from a grocery store. Plenty of restaurants within a block. Flat was well equipped and had both a dishwasher and clothes washer and dryer, soap included! Great option for independent travelers! Look forward to staying here again. Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I had a short stay at the Vancouver Studios, 30, Prince's Square, Bayswater, London. It was a very nice room with kitchenette and attached shower/toilet area. The whole place was spotlessly clean and there was ample tea, coffee, chocolate & biscuits. There was even a fresh flower on the table. I was very impressed both by the room/studio and by the friendliness of the those at the reception desk. I arrived a little early, but I was told I could go straight to my room. I would certainly go here again and it is ideally placed to visit central London and is reasonably priced.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed here with our 4 children aged 5 to 15 during a 5 week holiday in England & France. The 3 bedroom apartment was spacious by city standards and was, clean, well equipped and well maintained. Our apartment opened onto a charming courtyard. Conveniently located, this small hotel has a lovely atmosphere, charming decor and friendly, helpful staff. It really was a home away from home and would suit individuals, couples and families travelling for business or leisure.

Room Tip: I can highly recommend the 3 bedroom garden apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We booked this hotel on HRS.com just shortly before we traveled to London and got it for a very fair price, especially as London is a very expensive city.

Firstly, the location of the hotel is quite good, it's in a quite area near to Hyde Park and is not far away from a tube station. The welcoming was friendly, but to our surprise the room was in the basement, where it said: "No entrance!", which was obviously kind of shocking for us in the very first moment. But, it turned out to be a very nice, big room that even had a small kitchen. Everything was clean and prepared, so we didn't have to complain.

The only thing that didn't really work out was the breakfast that we ordered for the next morning. It didn't appear, although we had already paid for it. After some discussion at the reception and a short phone call we solved the problem and got our money for the breakfast back.

All in all, the hotel is really fine for a short trip to London! If you get a room with discount on HRS.com or another booking website, please be aware that you also might get the room in the basement or you have to call the hotel before booking a room.

Room Tip: Booking on a booking website with discount might lead to a room in the basement, which is maybe not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed in London, at the Vancouver Studios, for eight nights over Thanksgiving week, 2012. The hotel was a great value. Location was near three Tube stops (Bayswater, Queensway and 15-min walk to Paddington) and we also enjoyed browsing around Whiteleys at day's end, a 3-story mall just down the street. My daughter and I had two twin beds, just up one flight of stairs. The room was small, but the tiny kitchen was the best feature. I had fresh coffee (New Orleans style) each morning, juice and milk always in the frig, and we made lunch for a couple of day trips, plus dinner in room a couple of nights. The savings on meals out was great, as was the convenience. Small but very good shower stall and bathroom. Neighborhood always felt safe.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vancouver Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vancouver Studios

Address: 30 Prince's Square | Bayswater, London W2 4NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#171 Family Hotel in London
#204 Romantic Hotel in London
#211 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vancouver Studios 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Vancouver Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vancouver Studios London, England
Vancouver Studios Hotel London

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vancouver Studios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.