We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Team PG” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Kingsway Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kingsway Park Hotel to your Saves list
Kingsway Park Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   139 Sussex Gardens, London W2 2RX, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #807 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Team PG”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

The only good thing about this place was that it was close to paddington station. The room was terrible. Stayed 4 nights and sheets were never changed once. The blankets had BED BUGS and the mattress was two singles put together. The bathroom was like a portable toilet like being on an plane. Had to put towels near the door to stop it from flooding the room. The kitchen staff were rude and unfriendly siting down at the next table eating there breakfast. The people at the desk were also unfriendly, each time we left the hotel we had to leave the door card at the desk ( what's that about? ) hence why we locked up everything in our suitcases when we left the room. Would not recommend this place to my worst enemy. KEEP AWAY

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    46
    33
    36
    48
See reviews for
56
41
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

I booked this hotel as I thought it was in a good location which it was.
When we arrived there we were greeted by "Mr.Kin the manger" which over our visit he repeated millions of times...he told us he was upgrading our room as it was my birthday and that we were actually staying at THe Admiral. Why?! I never booked that hotel but fine...room upgrade was three beds squeezed into a double bed sized room. No walking space..anyway...
We went out to visit london and left our key at reception. When we came back about 6.30pm that evening we were talking to a staff member outside who asked us where we were going that night and that he could get us in some clubs...we thought he was being friendly. We collected our room key from Mr kin and got ready...at around 7.30PM We got a knock at the door and before we even had time to answer the manager Mr Kin and the guy we were talking to outside just walked into our room using a spare key!! I was only in a towel and my friends were getting ready...I felt embarrassed and couldn't believe they just walked in. They gave us chocolates and shampoo...and told us they apologised and that they didn't realise we were in there....even though we picked up our key and had just been talking to them. They then said they could give me birthday drinks if we came downstairs later...hmmm...THE ROOM WAS CRAMPED, OUTDATED, BATHROOM TINY AND WHAT'S MORE THE STAFF WERE SMOKING IN THE BAR/BREAKFAST ROOM AND WERE GENERALLY CREEPY AND WEIRD. We didn't even have a lock on our door so we slept with a table in front of it incase they decided to walk in again!! We would have left if we thought we would have got our money back. Awful stay. Only good thing is the location...oh and something dodgy is going on as they only wanted us to pay in cash.......strange.....hated it.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Friendly staff senior front of house managers Mr Kin and Mr So

Staff really try hard to help the visitor have a nice stay in London and even Oxford St is just a 20 minute walk away.

This is a little time piece of history and while some visitors may struggle with the steep stairways on the upper floors, compared with others in this part of London, the Kingsway Park has struggled hard to provide a good experience.

Room Tip: Avoid top floors as the stairs are very very steep
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeist, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

On arrival (early) we were told that our room was not ready which we had expected. We left our bags in reception. Since this is the only place where bags can be left reception is usually overcrowded with bags and there is little space for people. When we returned at about 17:00 we were told that they had no room available as they had no water caused by accident during work on the underground station. They obviously knew this when we first arrived but failed to tell us. They took us to another more expensive hotel (Westpoint) a few hundred yards away at their expense. The second night the water problem had been fixed and we had a room in the hotel we had booked, The room we had on the 2nd floor was much better than that in the Westpoint. The worst one could complain about is that the shower is very, very small. Breakfast was adequate and in my opinion again better then that at the Westpoint unless you really like croissants.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, england
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We arrived to find our room which was on the 4th floor (attic) only had a double bed and a single bed, my husband was offered a single room in the basement. The staff tried hard and finally arranged for him to sleep in the next room to the rest of us but this was still not acceptable but we had no choice! The room was very hot even in October but we couldn't switch the ceiling fan on as it was thick with dust. We all moved to another room the following night which was better but still not great, the bathrooms in both rooms are far too small without room to even turn around. The Hotel is in need of a massive makeover in all areas with the banisters wobbling when touched. We don't know how this hotel passed any fire or safety assessments. The lady who worked in the breakfast room was very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Don't accept a room on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Staff is very friendly, but the organization of the reception seems rather chaotic. Rooms are small but clean and the equipments work. Beds and breakfasts are good. An ideal place to explore London, with some good restaurants around the corner. Not recommended for disabled people, as the the stairs are narrow, and go up to the 4th floor (British counting).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

A brilliant hotel for bus pass holders as it is next to a bus stop. Excellent location,for London attractions, whether walking or using a bus or tube.. Very clean room and bedding ,very comfortable beds, polite helpful staff ,Kim the manager without being asked changed our room from a higher floor to the ground floor when he saw we were older ladies , The hotel has no lift so we did not have to drag cases up stairs. The electrics could do with updating, the bathroom although tiny was adaquent for us, but would be difficult for the overweight or disabled.The breakfast was good.But the dining rom was small, so be early before 8 if you dont want to queue.One worry, cases left for collection are piled in reception there is no secure room for them, Would reccomend this hotel. to anyone for a short trip to see the sights of London,as it was excellent value for money.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kingsway Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsway Park Hotel

Address: 139 Sussex Gardens, London W2 2RX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #807 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingsway Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kingsway Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsway Park London
Hotel Kingsway Park
Kingsway Park Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingsway Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.