We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base for exploring city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel The Caesar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel The Caesar to your Saves list
Hotel The Caesar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 - 33 Queens Gardens | Hyde Park, Bayswater, London W2 3BE, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #311 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Fort Wayne IN
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good base for exploring city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We chose The Caesar because of it's solid past reviews and because it was within walking distance of Paddington Station and just two blocks from Hyde Park. The price too was attractive for London. While the walk was a bit longer than maps made it appear it was very doable; and without luggage to drag it was a very easy stroll to the Tube at Paddington which was a great base for all our explorations around the city. The hotel sits on a corner and was in a nicely quiet neighborhood with a lovely leafy avenue out front. Slightly disappointing however was the fact that during our stay the hotel was wrapped in scaffolding and tarp - but although workers were out during the day their work was not disturbing.
The hotel lobby is modern and comfortable. The air conditioning in the room was highly welcome as it was terribly hot during our stay. Staff was accommodating, friendly and efficient.
As others say rooms small but entirely functional, clean and comfortable. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaesarGM, General Manager at Hotel The Caesar, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for taking time to leave your feedback and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us in Sunny and Hot London, yes it does happen sometimes!

I hope that we can welcome you back again in the future.

Lee Melville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    513
    202
    78
    60
See reviews for
155
407
153
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon, India
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I have travelled to many places but I have never seen such tiny rooms as this hotel. At the rate of 106 GBP per night the amount charged is exhorbitant. The small room makes a person feel claustrophobic. The only upside is the location and excellent service provided by the staff.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the main road if you dont want to feel claustrophobic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaesarGM, General Manager at Hotel The Caesar, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for your review, I am sorry that you only felt 1 out 5 circles was appropriate even though your scored us highly on service. We do have many room type options and not one room is the same due to the age of our building. The rates we offer are very competitive for the area.

I hope that we can welcome you back again in the future where I am sure we can offer a room of a size more agreeable to you.

Lee Melville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I am not going to repeat what everyone else has said about the hotel rooms being small. Yes they are, but you have everything you need (except facial tissues - which may have just been an oversight). The only complaint I would have is that at breakfast I didn't realise (or wasn't offered) an al a carte menu as well as a buffet option until I had sat down and paid for the buffet. That said I have already booked another two stays at this hotel as it is close to Paddington for the Airport Express but also close to other tube and bus lines. As a single female I felt very comfortable and would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaesarGM, General Manager at Hotel The Caesar, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for your welcomed feedback and I am pleased to hear that you have already booked future return stays.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you are now clear on our Breakfast options.

Lee Melville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timra, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Great hotel, Excellent Service.
Stayed for 4 nights from Sweden. A incident happend that needed a ambulance . The staff was very quickly to proceed with action and contacted what was needed. They also checked several times that everything was OK troughout the day.
Awesome service, Helpfull staff and they always asked if you needed something special.
The restuarant was very good and the breakfast to.
Small room but very nice and comfortable. There was construction work when we stayed there but we never got disturbed.
the staff itself made the stay very excellent and will come back for sure whenever visiting London again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaesarGM, General Manager at Hotel The Caesar, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
It is always very pleasing to read comments such as yours. These are always passed onto the whole team and makes there efforts rewarding.

I do hope that we can welcome you back again in the future, it would be our pleasure.

Lee Melville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This hotel was chosen by our Australian travel agent based on location and value. He got it right! We arrived at 6am after a long flight from Singapore. The best we expected was that they'd store our luggage early and free us up to spend the day out until our room was free. However they went out of their way to find us a room immediately (showed us a couple of options and let us choose the one we preferred) and booked us straight in. Staff appeared to be mostly of Spanish origin however their English is very good and their attitude is outstanding! The location is great with proximity to shops, tube and Hyde park. Breakfast was excellent with variety and obvious freshness and quality of ingredients. We plan to return to London at some time and will certainly stay at this hotel on that next trip.

Room Tip: We stayed downstairs not far from dining room, was sufficiently quiet but suspect upstairs rooms wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaesarGM, General Manager at Hotel The Caesar, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
It is very rewarding to receive great feedback such as yours, thank you for taking the time to leave your views.

The team here are our greatest asset and we strive to achieve the best possible levels of service. We try to welcome our guests as if you were our friends into our homes.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope we can welcome you again in the future.

Lee Melville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Great central location, morning runs in Hyde Park were great.
Close to the underground and also the main bus lines.
Our room was small and clean, and was a good place to catch some sleep.

When we visit again, if the price is right we will stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaesarGM, General Manager at Hotel The Caesar, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments and we are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us.

We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Lee Melville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I found the Ceaser hotel when looking for for places near Paddington Station as I knew I would be late arriving from overseas and wanted to be close. The room and hotel are nicely decorated and clean. The hotel seems to cater to Spanish travelers as most of the staff spoke Spanish and were often heard doing so.
The room was small even buy European standards. For instance we had 2 suitcases and I had to put one on the desk in the room and the other under the bed in order to navigate around the room. The bed was a little stiff for my tastes as well. The bathroom had a nice bag of amenities. Unfortunately it was a short stay and the first nigt was interupted by an unwelcome false fire alarm at 1 am.
Overall it was a decent hotel with nothing really wrong with it but I would be unlikely to book here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaesarGM, General Manager at Hotel The Caesar, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for your review, we value all feedback.

I am pleased that you were generally happy with your stay. I apologise that you were disturbed in the night by the fire alarm. This was caused by guest actions in a bedroom. Although annoying, the alarm is essential and a legal aspect of our operation. Safety of our guests and personal is paramount and must come before any inconvenience no matter how annoying. Alarms of this nature are quite rare.

I do hope that you will consider us again in the future, it would be our pleasure to welcome you.

Lee Melville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel The Caesar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Caesar

Address: 26 - 33 Queens Gardens | Hyde Park, Bayswater, London W2 3BE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#204 Family Hotel in London
#220 Luxury Hotel in London
#223 Business Hotel in London
#292 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel The Caesar 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caesar is one of the best lodging options in London. Located in a typical and recently remodelled Victorian building, its peaceful setting in a residential area and proximity to Paddington station and Hyde Park make it the perfect hotel for both leisure and business stays. It also has a charming restaurant and a bar where you can discover a bit about Spanish cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, LondonMarketing.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel The Caesar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Caesar Hotel London
Caesar Hotel London
Caesar London
Hotel The Caesar London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel The Caesar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.