We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, outstanding staff, beautiful room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel The Caesar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel The Caesar to your Saves list
Hotel The Caesar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 - 33 Queens Gardens | Hyde Park, Bayswater, London W2 3BE, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #350 of 1,063 Hotels in London
California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great location, outstanding staff, beautiful room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I read many reviews on the hotel (some good, some not), so I wasn't sure what I would find. Well we got there and found that Expedia messed up our reservation (long story- no fault of the hotel's at all). We needed to wait in the lobby until my assistant straightened things out with Expedia from our office in California, so we wouldn't be billed twice (another long story). Suffice to say, the staff were cordial and polite in dealing with everything- assured us that they would provide us with a room, regardless of whether or not we got the Expedia booking sorted- or if we booked with them directly. No pressure- they even talked to Expedia by phone to try to help straighten out Expedia's mistake. They felt sorry for us having to wait so long and gave us an upgraded room, which was just heavenly. The hotel is very tastefully decorated and our room was very quiet. We came from Heathrow and I usually just take the Tube, but decided to take the Heathrow Express train to Paddington, and I'm glad we did. We had lots of bags since we were in England for a trade show, so I decided to "splurge" for a cab from Paddington which, even during rush hour was only 6 pounds. Love the location and the neighborhood. Great architecture. Will definitely re-book this hotel again (and I don't say that often), even if I get a smaller room. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaesarGM, General Manager at Hotel The Caesar, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you so much for your review, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found the services of our staff helpful and sorted out any problems that you encounted with your booking.

At The Caesar we strive to acheive the best possible levels of customer care and service so it is always rewarding to hear this kind of good feedback.

We hope that we can welcome you in the future.

Lee Melville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    451
    181
    76
    57
See reviews for
129
349
135
180
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is located near Bayswater main shop road. Very quite location. Staff very friendly and ready to go that extra mile for you. Comfortable beds, breakfast will satisfy all wishes. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaesarGM, General Manager at Hotel The Caesar, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for your review and excellent score, we do value your feedback and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Lee Melville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

A very well situated hotel. Close to the underground stations and convenience stores and restaurants. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The hotel is clean with a modern feel. We had breakfast once in the hotel and it was very good. I would recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: We had an Executive Double room which was spacious for London.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaesarGM, General Manager at Hotel The Caesar, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for taking time to leabe a review on your stay, all feedback is greatly valued by us.

It is great to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will return in the future.

Lee Melville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Overall, it was a fine place to stay. I was here on business and my goal was to get in and out each day. The distance to Paddington is certainly an advantage - unless it is raining and dark - and then it felt rather far away.

The rooms are interesting. I was in one of the 2 level rooms and I can tell you that whoever does the marketing for this hotel should get a raise. The pictures make this room look substantially larger than they are. On the positive side, they are appealing to look at and certainly clean. The staff was friendly - no complaints at all there.

So overall: The room was clean, decent size, not the size of the pictures on the website - still a good size. Decorations were nice. Location was okay. Staff was fine. In essence: Average.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaesarGM, General Manager at Hotel The Caesar, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for your review of which we value your feedback.

I am a little confused at the use of the word "average" as you seem happy with all our standards apart from the photos on our website, this surley makes us more than average?

That aside, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope that we can welcome you again.

Lee Melville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahti, Finland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the Caesar for the third time. Our stay was excellent once again. The hotel has improved its services and now offers wifi for free - perfect. Now we don't need to worry if we have to get some work done during our trips to London.

Before travelling, we sent them an email that we'd like to have the same room as before if possible and gave the room number. Actually, we accidentally gave the wrong room number, but apparently they had checked our records because we got a room right next to our old room - maybe the old room wasn't available. Anyway, good service, and the room we got this time was as good as the old one, so no complaints there.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room at the end of a corridor (or at least not close to the lifts) and facing Qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaesarGM, General Manager at Hotel The Caesar, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
It is so pleasing to read reviews like this from repeat guests and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us once more.

I believe that our staff are our greatest assett and I pleased that they went out of there way to try and provide your room request.

We look forward to your stay with us again in the future.

Lee Melville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma, Italia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Thanks to Tripadvisor, I have chosen this nice and comfortable hotel close to the railways station of Paddington. Affordable fees and good reviews.
Surprise surprise: a very nice place, very kind people at the reception, clean and warm room.
No kettle unfortunately, even if you have istant coffe, sugar and cup.
Early morning wake up and check out. The system was down so, no payment receipt. But they have sent it by e-mail after few hours.
Some small défaillances explain why fees are so low for a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaesarGM, General Manager at Hotel The Caesar, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for your review.

I am pleased that on the whole you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry that you had no Kettle, this is a complete oversight on our part, as all rooms have Kettles.

I hope that should you stay in London in the future, we can welcome you back to The Caesar Hotel.

Lee Melville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Just stayed here for our honeymoon. The hotel is in a great neighborhood and just a few blocks from the Tube. The rooms are a little small but that was to be expected in Europe. Even being small, it was nice and very clean. We had free wifi in the entire hotel which was great. We also had a great breakfast in the hotel restaurant every day. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaesarGM, General Manager at Hotel The Caesar, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Firstly congratulations on your Marriage!

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Caesar Hotel and leave your review.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope we can welcome you again in the future.

Lee Melville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel The Caesar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Caesar

Address: 26 - 33 Queens Gardens | Hyde Park, Bayswater, London W2 3BE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#227 Luxury Hotel in London
#231 Family Hotel in London
#291 Business Hotel in London
#333 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel The Caesar 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caesar is one of the best lodging options in London. Located in a typical and recently remodelled Victorian building, its peaceful setting in a residential area and proximity to Paddington station and Hyde Park make it the perfect hotel for both leisure and business stays. It also has a charming restaurant and a bar where you can discover a bit about Spanish cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Despegar.com, LondonMarketing.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel The Caesar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Caesar Hotel London
Caesar Hotel London
Caesar London
Hotel The Caesar London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel The Caesar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.