We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Smiles, No Wifi, No future!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Eagle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Eagle Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Eagle Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26-30 Craven Road | Hyde Park, London W2 3QB, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #769 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Oxford
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“No Smiles, No Wifi, No future!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Where to start?
-Small sized room.
-Dirty and non functional bath ventilation full of grey dust! Ughhh!
-Reception staff...Please smile its not difficult!!!
-reservation staff...when you receive an e-mail about twin beds then make sure that the front desk is informed!
-Old fashioned windows with no sound proof at all, shaking with the wind. You can’t sleep!
-Did you ever think that guests should not have to move the hotel furnishing to find a plug?
- Wi-Fi... Ok there is a trying to offer 30 minute free internet per room per day!!! Most probably you people are not aware of the information age we are living at the moment. Cause 30 minutes per room per day is a joke. Did you ever think that two people or more in a room might have more than one device that need to be connected? With this system... I suppose not. Not to mention that the wifi was not working at all the first day of our arrival!
- I would rather sleep in a bed with no duvet than a bed with a duvet full of stains that i don't want to imagine where they were coming from. Please throw those things away or wash them properly. This yellow thing on the bed is disgusting.
-Make sure that people are not running on the hotel corridors. Beds are shaking! Seriously!
-Breakfast...sorry no comments as we did not try it, an illy cafe round the corner offers much better coffee quality in much better price for sure.
Ok the good things now…
The house keeping entered the room on a daily basis. We do not know if this was scheduled or because we have the “please make up my room” sign hanging on the door handle every morning. The towels were replaced daily, the hair shampoo and the body lotion too. All in all the room was well cleaned except this ugly, stained and dirty yellow bed cover.
To concluded I believe that there are better hotels out there at this cost. This is London we are talking about.

Room Tip: book another hotel....this is London we are talking about
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    138
    194
    129
    123
See reviews for
149
165
39
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Although well located close to Paddington Station and Lancaster Gate/Hyde Park, it leaves a lot to be desired regarding the rooms. We had booked a triple room. Placed on the 5th floor through a maize of passageways and doors. The room was very sparse, one small wardrobe for three ladies clothes for a 2 night stay - 6 hangers. There were no pictures on the walls although the room was certainly large enough to accommodate them. The bathroom was again basic with a "hand" basin, not big enough to wash in, a toilet seat that closed before it could be sat on and a shower that was more in line with the bathroom floor and door than over the bath! The extractor fan in the bathroom was broken, lights out all over the bedroom. The wall panel socket gives short sharp shocks when the switches were touched, to switch the lights on! and the wall socket was completely loose and off the wall. The window would not stay open, this was needed as it was so very hot. For the price I would have and indeed have had a better class of bedroom just as centrally located. Oh and beware of the price of their breakfasts because they are not included in the overall hotel cost. All in all I agree with Eric W - a woman's touch would certainly benefit this hotel otherwise avoid!

Room Tip: Avoid room 511
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

This hotel is all you need for a basic night away. My partner and I booked through latebooking.com as they had a special offer on the double rooms. On arrival we were 'greeted' by a man who I wasn't even sure if he spoke English as he hardly said two words to us! We arrived early so we expected the room to not be ready. However we waited about 10 minutes in the lobby and then he gave us the key to our room. Not bad! However he didn't tell us where it was or how to get there. We had to ask..
Room was very basic, with minimal decoration. We were given a triple bedroom which meant the room was bigger, however the layout was poorly thought through so when you sat at the dressing table, the mirror was mounted on the wall too far away to look in! Not very helpful.
We found the room to be quite chilly, but we managed to turn the radiator up! Our room was quite noisy as we had a busy road right outside our window but luckily only staying for one night!
We wanted a drink in the evening but there was no one around, we asked the reception staff who made us a drink then closed the bar! So not a fantastic atmosphere there..
We were able to keep our bags there whilst we went shopping on the second day which was helpful. Checking out was weird as again there was another man who I didn't know if he spoke English as he just took the key from me, muttered a few words then started serving another customer. I was stood wondering if I had completely checked out or not? Just left the building in the end as he was trying to explain something to the customer in a rude manner.
Although we paid the discounted price for the hotel, I was definitely expecting something a little nicer/better! Probably won't visit again, bit of a shame as it seemed very clean.
Good location, 5 mins walk from Lancaster gate station and on the central line. It could be a great hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

We had the double story room for 5 people. There was a double bed at the upper level along with a single bed and 2 single beds on the lower level. The room had enough space under the stairs for 6 luggages including 3 big suitcases. Fresh towels were given during the 2 nights we were there, and a nice balcony for smokers.. It was clean, a little narrow and quiet.. Amazing location..! Food and shops were near and there was even a halal cafe serving good English food near to the Paddington
station. For the price, it was worth every penny.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Our room was basic and simple, but served the purpose. This place could use a woman's touch; its very sterile. The front desk attendant, Nash, went out of his way to help us out, so that bumped things up a notch. The Location right next to Paddington made it a fantastic place to stay (Heathrow Express to/from the airport, tube station) and easy to get anywhere we wanted in a hurry. Price was decent enough for London.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights at Christmas time. The hotel looks very nice but the staff is anything but friendly. The room was clean but very small, the shower is really tiny and being only 5ft 2 in that is saying something. I couldnt wash my hair without hitting the sides of the shower. Paying 10 gbp for 24 hours of internet is ridiculous. The hotel is within walking distance of several good restarants and train stations. I would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

When I arrived the hotel looked nice but the reception was not welcoming. When I went to my room I found it clean but very small. I couldn't control the room temperature. It was either roasting or freezing. The single glazed window allowed lots of road noise in which never ceased. On checking out I have to say the chap in reception had a much better attitude than the first guy. The hotel has so much potential.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Eagle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Eagle Hotel

Address: 26-30 Craven Road | Hyde Park, London W2 3QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #769 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Eagle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotel.de, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal Eagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Eagle London
Hotel Royal Eagle
Royal Eagle Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Eagle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.