We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny clean room in a great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Eagle Hotel

Save Saved
You added Royal Eagle Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Royal Eagle Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26-30 Craven Road | Hyde Park, London W2 3QB, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #746 of 1,073 hotels in London
Texas City, Texas
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Tiny clean room in a great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

After reading the previous reviews, I knew we would be getting a tiny room. Yes, the room lived up to it's reputation. The great location made up for the size. We requested a ground floor room which was helpful for accessibility issues. They also put us in a rear facing room that faced a alley so it was very quiet. Bathroom ammenities were modest but TV was lacking. (2 working stations with snow and one channel was in German) Beds were comfy and clean.
Would recommend for those looking to hang their hat for a night or 2 but not for anyone looking to spend much time in the room.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    190
    205
    135
    118
See reviews for
126
143
36
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sippy Downs, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The room was very small and as we were on our way home after a 5 week trip through UK and Ireland 2 of us had loads of luggage - 2 suitcases, 2 shoulder bags, camera, backpack and other things one tends to pick up whilst travelling - its fair to say that these rooms are not big enough. I will state though that they were very clean and the bathroom looked quite modern with a lovely hot shower and plenty of water pressure. We did have the window open during the night as the rooms tended to get rather hot. But it was close to Paddington Station and easy access to most things and you don't tend to spend a lot of time in the room. My husband did cut his toe on the tv wires stapled to the wall when he tried to get round the end of the bed. The space between end of bed and wall is not big. At least the lift was working.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a triple share. The room isnt made to lax around in but you're in London so why would you. Its clean comfy and warrm, best of all it is so handy to the tube and buses. The only negative is breakfast is limited. In choice no yougart and you have to pay for wifi.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

From what I saw, the hotel looked very very tired. Stayed in room B09 for 1 night for £120 without breakfast. It was right next to a service elevator in a dingy corner of the basement. Staff outside were very noisy in the morning. The room itself was bland, very tired and noisy. The internet ( an extra £10 for 24hrs ) was so slow that it was totally unusable. Other hotels that I've stayed in in the same area have been significantly better for less.

On the plus side, the check in staff were friendly, agreed with little fuss to a refund for the internet and the hotel itself is very conveniently located.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights to visit all the highlights of London. The room was clean, but a little hot and not to big, and the beds were very good. After turning the heating almost off we had a good room tempature! We loved the tea- and coffee facilities and the hairdryer! My daughter loved the bath - after a long day walking through London a good way to relax. It was very pleasant that we could check in on arrival at noon - very friendly staff at the reception! Just a short walk from Paddington Station, so a perfect place to check out everything of London. For us the breakfast was good and also here very friendly staff.
The renovation didn't cause use any problems.

Room Tip: Bring your earplugs with you because of the passing traffic at night. Noisy problem will then be sol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, England
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Staying in London or a few days in order to go to the theatre and visit museums can be prohibitively expensive so it is good to find a basic hotel which is clean, comfortable and reasonably priced. My wife and I have stayed in the Royal Eagle Hotel in Craven Road near Paddington Station a couple of times and were pleased to return. Our room, at £98 a night (room only), was a little on the small side and the view out of the window was a blank wall and air conditioning pipes. But we weren't visiting London to spend time in a hotel room. The bed was comfortable, the en suite facilities were adequate, and there were coffee and tea making facilities and a television so we could ask no more. The hotel staff are attentive and helpful without being intrusive. I can recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to visit London for a few days.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We came for one night for our first anniversary. Really nice lobby and reception, decent rooms, although a little hot! We booked a twin by accident but the staff were more than happy to help and switched rooms for us. We ended up in a 5 bed mezzanine room with floor to ceiling windows which was lovely. Located near to paddington tube station was handy to get around for us as have not had much experience in London or the underground!

The only negative was it was noisy at night with the traffic passing and was too hot. But very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Eagle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Eagle Hotel

Address: 26-30 Craven Road | Hyde Park, London W2 3QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #746 of 1,073 hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Eagle Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Royal Eagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Eagle London
Hotel Royal Eagle
Royal Eagle Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Eagle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.