We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for its location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Eagle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Eagle Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Eagle Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26-30 Craven Road | Hyde Park, London W2 3QB, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #768 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great value for its location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The location is great being close to the Paddington Station, where the Heathrow Airport Express train shuttle. My departing flight was midnight and I checked out of my hotel in the morning, was considering the "Left Baggage' facility at the station when I chanced upon this hotel. With a family with several large and small baggages, it is cheaper to book a room than depositing it at the Train Station's "Left Baggage' at GBP8.50 per item. The room is small but adequate and clean. Would consider this hotel on my next return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    138
    194
    130
    123
See reviews for
150
165
39
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucuresti
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The hotel is located really near to the Paddington station and close to Hyde Park.
The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful, no complaints here.
The room I stayed in was a triple room - fairly big, but the heating wasn`t turned on - I had to use two blankets during the night (no A/C available either).
The room was equipped with complimentary choice of tea, which was a good given the temperature in there:)
The breakfast - continental, they say - was probably the poorest buffet I have ever seen. Only a few pastries, some fruits, butter and jam. No ham, no cheese, no eggs...
The coffee was instant coffee.

I would recommend this hotel only for its location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I stayed one night in a twin room and the single bed was really small even if I'm not tall.
I was in the basement and it was really cold : The windows were not isolated.
The overall aspect of the room was clean but minimalist.
The breakfast is poor.
I would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't take the basement rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We were 4 couples who stayed for 3 nights (4 days). Each couple had separate rooms. 3 rooms out of 4 were too small, not even space to open your suitcase on the floor. And the bathroom was very small too. The windows were poorly isolated and wind blew right into the room from the outside (5 Celsius/41 Fahrenheit outside). 1 room had no hairdryer and in another room the hairdryer was broken. The electronic locker to one of the rooms was broken so the couple who lived there had to run down to the front desk and ask someone to unlock the door every time they wanted to enter their room. The rooms were clean and fresh looking and the hotel had a good location close to the train and tube station. Comfortable beds. Expensive WiFi. The breakfast offered a poor selection of food (no yoghurt, no eggs, no bacon etc).

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed one night in a single room. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was indeed small (see other reviews), moderately recently refurbished I would guess, and with good shower fittings. I found it to be clean and in good order. Being by the busy road I expected it to be noisier, but it was just fine. Breakfast was a self serve continental style, and was unremarkable. If there was a proper restauant, I didn't find it. The breakfast staff were not too interested in the clients, but then again, they were just there to check your ticket - the rest you could do for yourself. I paid about £84 for B&B midweek.

The place is within easy walking distance of Paddington Station, and underground and there are plenty of restarants locally. There are also dozens of hotels within half a mile to choose from.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Been to this hotel a couple of times, also a few times i tried to book it has been booked out - always a good sign.

This is a nice clean hotel with good staff & internet worked fine without crashing. Rooms are clean and the space is good for the amount you pay. It is also close to the train and tube stations. Lots of restaurants around too.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ovıacık
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Hotel in ideal location and cheap. That is all the hotel has going for it.

Rooms are tiny and very shabby. Bed linen looks about 10 years old, holes in walls and doors. Staff rude and ignorant. Not interested in trying to resolve any issues.

Terrible stay and would not return.

Would advise anyone to avoid!

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Eagle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Eagle Hotel

Address: 26-30 Craven Road | Hyde Park, London W2 3QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #768 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Eagle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotel.de, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal Eagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Eagle London
Hotel Royal Eagle
Royal Eagle Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Eagle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.