We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barry House Hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Barry House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Barry House to your Saves list
Barry House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   12 Sussex Place | Hyde Park - Paddington, Westminster, London W2 2TP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #179 of 524 London B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Barry House Hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I am convinced that the Barry House Hotel has insiders writing their good reviews. I had booked a two night stay and couldn't even make it through the first night. I checked in at approximately 130am after being stranded in Wales due to flooding. By 2:30am I left the Barry House and walked two blocks and booked at the Hilton Paddington. While at the Barry House I found a cockroach within 10 minutes of being in my room (#24). Also the bedding was filthy. I couldn't bring myself to lay down. I understand this is a budget hotel however people must have very low standards to rate this hotel as high as they do. In the end, I paid both the Barry House and the Hilton for the same two nights but I learned a valuable lesson... Cleanliness is worth the extra money.

Room Tip: Choose another Hotel!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    67
    45
    29
    21
See reviews for
60
49
26
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

A very nice B&B from which it is very easy to get into the inner city.

I had a single room on the 4th floor (no elevator and very narrow steps) which was tiny but sufficient for a short stay and clean. Shower and toilet were outside which wasn't a problem at all, I never saw another guest there and everything was very clean whenever I used it.

Breakfast was fine, there was quite a choice. Even full English Breakfast was included in the price.

I can totall recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Nice and clean the rooms were small and the shower/toilet were really small. The breakfast was enough but nothing special. I would ask for a room closer to the ground, as if you have a lot of luggage it would be difficult for some people to negotiate the narrow stairs to the top floors. However, Barry House is in a great location right near Lancaster Gate. As it was the bank holiday long weekend we were able to park in the street on the Sunday and Monday free of charge.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floors have narrow stairs to them and could be difficult for some people to lift he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I stayed in a budget room at the Barry House for a week. The hotel is in a great location and the room was perfect for a single traveller. The room and the shared bathroom and shower were always clean. Breakfast was great.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Grove
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

'The Barry Hotel was exactly what we wanted for our stay in London during the Olympics. The room was clean, comfortable, and suited the needs of the two of us and our 14 year old son. The bathroom might have been on the small side, but it was private with obviously new features.

The breakfast served every day was delicious and plentiful. We enjoyed it very much, and enjoyed the camaraderie of eating with the other guests of the hotel - it was a very international experience.

Being greeted and tended to by the actual owners of the hotel was lovely; it gives it a very warm, personal feel, and they could not have been more helpful.

The location of the hotel is ideal; minutes away from Paddintgon station, but enough off the beaten path that it didn\'t feel crowded, especially with the Olympics happening.

We would stay there again, and hope to be able to some time in the near future!'

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosarito, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We had a great stay at Barry House. My husband, daughter and I stayed for three nights in mid-July. We were greeted by Bobby, who is an excellent host, not only did he make us feel very welcome, he provided very helpful information.

The hotel's location is very convenient, you are a short walk away from Hyde Park and Paddington Station.

The room was a bit hot at night, I imagine it's ideal during the winter.

Hot breakfast is served every morning.

We would definitely go back to Barry House.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights for the Paul simon concert in Hyde park.
From the moment we arrived we were looked after and made to feel welcome.
Yes the rooms were a little small but fine and very clean.
Breakfast in the morning was very nice, hot and fresh.
And we will have no hesitation in staying at Barry house hotel next time we visit London.
Many thanks, see you all on our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barry House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barry House

Address: 12 Sussex Place | Hyde Park - Paddington, Westminster, London W2 2TP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 524 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Barry House 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family friendly bed and breakfast offering warm hospitality in an 1850s Victorian Townhouse; situated near Hyde Park and Marble Arch. Just minutes away from Paddington Station. Ideally located close to many famous London sights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Barry House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barry House London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barry House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.