We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, etc ...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phoenix Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Phoenix Hotel to your Saves list
Phoenix Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 - 8 Kensington Garden Square, London W2 4BH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Phoenix Hotel) (Notting Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #393 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location, etc ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great location, very short walk to tube, groceries, meals & Hyde Park. Breakfast is excellent. Wi-Fi is the best, major chains could learn a lesson !!! Rooms & hotel are very clean & neat. To the staff we say will done ...
.
.

.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
..
.
.
.
.
.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    518
    208
    45
    25
See reviews for
162
261
172
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Excellent location. 150m walk to Bayswater tube and 300m walk to Queensway. If only the night bus came by too then this would be a perfect location. Lots to shop and eat nearby, including grocery stores.

Hotel used to be a Best Western and it shows. Unfortunatley it feels like this hotel was very neglected maintenance wise for a long time, but they are renovating. The bathroom above mine sprung a leak and I woke up to a waterfall in my bathroom. The staff did a good job and found me another bathroom to get ready while they cleaned up the mess, though it was definately an awakening I didn't need. Public spaces are renovated and quite nice.

Nonetheless, the rooms are clean. Mine had new carpet. The bathroom and furniture were old and beat up, but at least functional (aside from the usual mould in the shower). Functional bath, but tiny. I couldn't dry myself unless I opened the door.

A weird layout with the bedroom being up half a floor, but I found it nice because I used the space above the dresser for the coffee maker. Wifi was a little slow, but passable. You have to login every few hours to keep it working. Some apps don't work with their Wifi.

But OH MY GOD my room was hot. Radiator was turned all the way to off, but I think the radiator pipes run under my room and the floor was always warm. The window helped, but it doesn't open far enough to do much good. Dear lord don't come here in summer (no AC).

The service was good, friendly and accomodating. Breakfast was better than expected but the room is far too busy when the hotel is full. But they don't have in room safes and they still use a key system and want you to return the key. I would like them to use a key card system for security and much more convenient, especially when the desk is busy.

Room Tip: Don't stay near the elevator. It's so noisy, I can even hear the floor passing relays in my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Very nice clean and comfortable hotel. A little fridge in the room would be nice for us Aussies who like everything cold. Staff were very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Fantastic location. Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel is located very near the Bayswater Tube Station so this makes it easy to get around London. There were three of us so our triple room was large enough for us to spread out a little. A electric kettle and coffee, tea and hot chocolate packets in the room made having an early or late cup of coffee easy. The breakfast room was large and the breakfasts (included) were very nice. The staff was pleasant and helpful at all times. The hotel is not large and never felt crowded. I would stay there again. Lots of good places to eat nearby.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix H, Guest Relations Manager at Phoenix Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of Phoenix hotel! We are pleased to know that Phoenix hotel suited your requirements and we hope to be welcoming you back to stay with us next time you visit London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jena, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My god-daughter and I had been to London two years ago and decided to travel to England once more. This time we stayed at the Phoenix Hotel (1-8 Kensington Garden SQ.).
The room we had was comfortable and very warm which was particularly good for the time of year we travelled (beginning of April). Our ensuite bathroom was clean and tidy and we were given fresh towels every day. On top of that our room service always made sure to make the beds whilst we were out and about yet, gave us a strong sense of privacy which was very respectful. My god-daughter was particularly fascinated by the subtitle function of the TV i.e. you can set the TV to show you the English subtitles to any of the programmes which is especially helpful for non-native speakers.

Breakfast was served until 10 o'clock in a spacious room that was furnished with elegant dark wooden chairs and tables. The "kitchen staff" was always close by to bring fresh coffee, tea or to simply see if everything was alright.

The location of the hotel is very central which was ideal for us as we wanted to do a lot of sightseeing and didn't want to loose too much time on travelling in and out of town as we had 2 years earlier when we stayed in Wandsworth. A definite plus were also the many, many restaurants that were close by (Tip: make sure to eat at "Bella Italia". Note: There are two or three restaurants that have the same name and that aren't too far away [3 minutes down the road]. The best one, however, is the one at which the waiters actually speak Italian!) Nevertheless, there are also Kebab stores, Chinese and Indian restaurants as well as a Pizza Hut and a few pubs.
There is a shopping centre called Whiteleys - literally two minutes down the road - that has multiple stores, a cinema as well as more restaurants on the top floor.

The most remarkable aspect about this hotel for us was the fact that its employees instantly make you feel at home. They always greeted us with a smile and took time to help us find places as well as inquire as to how we were enjoying our stay. The ladies and the gentleman we met at the reception (Kinga, Nerata, Raminta, Cornelia and Jesus) not only worked professionally, but were also very kind. Laurence who worked at the hotel's bar in the lounge area was extremely polite as was Giselle who served us breakfast during our stay. The staff reported that their team spirit and hence their positive work attitude was inspired by a supervisor who they said was very good and made them want to perform well.

All in all our experience at the hotel was more than positive which led me to want to share it with tourists travelling to London so that they may also choose the Phoenix Hotel and see for themselves how delightful this hotel and its staff are :-).

Room Tip: Besides staing in our room we also peeped into three empty rooms when room service was cleaning them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix H, Guest Relations Manager at Phoenix Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such an extensive review and for awarding Phoenix hotel your top score! We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back next time you visit London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good position in London. Clean rooms, good beds. The beds have hard matresses, which suited us perfectly. My mum and I aren't too tall (both under 165 cm), so the rooms were quite okay. If you're any taller than that, you may find the room and bathroom a tad too small. I particularly liked the fact that we could order a pot of hot water at breakfast instead of tea (thus allowing us to brew our own tea).The hotel is relatively close to Bayswater Underground Station. Several restaurants in the vicinity and a pub or two, too. We had a great time there. Thanks!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix H, Guest Relations Manager at Phoenix Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of Phoenix hotel! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to be welcoming you back to stay with us next time you visit London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geislingen, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for four nights and would come back any time.
Friendly staff, cosy hotel bar, small but clean rooms.
Ideal for sightseeing. Tube and buses round the corner.
Nice pub "Prince Alfred" nearby. It was my second stay
at the Phoenix and I'll come back again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix H, Guest Relations Manager at Phoenix Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of Phoenix hotel! We are delighted to know that you are one of our returning guests and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phoenix Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Hotel

Address: 1 - 8 Kensington Garden Square, London W2 4BH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Phoenix Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#300 Business Hotel in London
#352 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Phoenix Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phoenix is a 125 bedroom 3 star central London hotel, located 5 minutes walk from Hyde Park. Bayswater and Queensway underground stations are both within a few minutes walking distance. The hotel is centrally situated for both the business executive and the holiday-maker, with the West End and its shops and theaters within easy reach. Free Wi-Fi and continental buffet breakfast is always included when making a reservation with Phoenix Hotel. Full English breakfast is available made to order, at an additional charge of £7.50 Per person. Check-in time is from 1 pm onward. There is a complimentary luggage storage facility at the hotel. The reception desk is open 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Phoenix Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western London
London Best Western
Phoenix Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phoenix Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.