We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable price for London” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phoenix Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Phoenix Hotel to your Saves list
Phoenix Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 - 8 Kensington Garden Square, London W2 4BH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Phoenix Hotel) (Notting Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #390 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Reasonable price for London”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

My only complaint is how tiny the room is, so don't stay here if you're single and claustrophobic. Other than that, it's clean, comfortable, quiet and close to shops, restaurants, bars and tube station.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda S, Assistant Manager at Phoenix Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Phoenix hotel. We are hoping to welcome you back next time you visit London!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    518
    208
    45
    25
See reviews for
162
261
172
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stay at the Pheonix regularly and find it very friendly,convenient, and comfortable and would recommend the hotel to all.The staff are very helpful and efficient. The location could not be better so close to everyhing.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda S, Assistant Manager at Phoenix Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for the kind review and for recommending Phoenix hotel. It's always a pleasure to welcome you back to stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Located in one the most beautiful areas of London. Quiet, nice, good service. Some rooms are quite small but friendly. Good choice for bussiness or leisure. Quality/money equilibrated. Breakfast variety and quality as spected.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda S, Assistant Manager at Phoenix Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and for awarding Phoenix hotel your top score! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back next time you visit London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I spent almost 200USD/per night here.
Overall, I'd say there is a 35~50% chance I might be coming back staying here.(if there were a better bargain)

The hotel itself is "okay" but the location is great! It's near 3 tube staitons which are Royal Oak, Bayswater and Queensway, so you can almost get to anywhere you wanna be without changing lines.
And there are many restaurents near by the hotel open until late night, so even if you spent all day visiting and shopping, you can still find somthing to eat.(P.S the famous roasted duck restaurent in London, Four Seasons Restaurent is just around the corner.

Here are some downsides,
1、the hallway is so narrow, if you were a big guy with luggages, there might be some troubles getting to the room.
2、a little bid old(some pictures here are true about the old walls and doors)
3、bathroom is also very small....

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda S, Assistant Manager at Phoenix Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We greatly appreciate all feedback and are always striving to improve the facilities and the services we provide. We certainly hope to welcome you back to Phoenix hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar, Florida
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Once again I had an excellent stay in the London.

The multi-lingual staff at the front desk is always so welcoming and cannot do enough to assist you in whatever way they can.

The hotel has undergone a major refurbishment and looks a million dollars. Wooden floors in the lobby adds a very rich texture to a very historic building.

Once again location cannot be beaten. 2 underground stations located nearby and if you are travelling from London Heathrow's airport the Paddington express takes you within a mile of the hotel.

You are totally spoiled for restaurant in this area and of course the parks are nearby for that early or late morning stroll.

As always you have free wifi throughout the hotel and a complimentary breakfast to get the day started.

Room Tip: It is always best to get a room to the back of the hotel, since it much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda S, Assistant Manager at Phoenix Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for the excellent review. We are delighted that you have chosen to return to Phoenix hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

I stayed in this hotel last march for over a weekend and my whole stay was just perfect from location to room facilities. The hotel is really close to 2 main underground stations, right in between Notting Hill and Bayswater, so whole surroundings are just beautiful.

They were doing some refurbishments though, but the place still had that charming victorian atmosphere which I found just romantic...

Staff is just superb!since the first moment I arrived they received me with a huge smile and they made me feel all my needs were covered. I feel really thankful to the front desk for all of their kind gestures and they're the main reason I'm wtiting this right now.

I had the nicest individual room I've ever stayed in!an ensuite split level room with stairs to my bed, vintage wall paper and a candelier lamp! It was just like a dream I will come back as soon as I can :)

Breakfast and wifi!

Thank you Phoenix

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda S, Assistant Manager at Phoenix Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for the positive review and for awarding Phoenix hotel your top score! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We will hopefully have the pleasure to welcome you back to stay with us soon and to show you the newly decorated public areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We really enjoyed our recent extended 4 night weekend stay. The hotel is clean, comfortable and staff are friendly and always willing to help. Getting to the sights of London was very easy including shopping in Oxford Streets, theatres in Leicester Square, restaurants in Covent Garden and walking in Hyde Park! Well located and excellent value for money!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda S, Assistant Manager at Phoenix Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for the positive review and for awarding Phoenix hotel your top score! We will hopefully have the pleasure to welcome you back to stay with us soon and to show you the newly decorated public areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Phoenix Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Hotel

Address: 1 - 8 Kensington Garden Square, London W2 4BH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Phoenix Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#301 Business Hotel in London
#350 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Phoenix Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phoenix is a 125 bedroom 3 star central London hotel, located 5 minutes walk from Hyde Park. Bayswater and Queensway underground stations are both within a few minutes walking distance. The hotel is centrally situated for both the business executive and the holiday-maker, with the West End and its shops and theaters within easy reach. Free Wi-Fi and continental buffet breakfast is always included when making a reservation with Phoenix Hotel. Full English breakfast is available made to order, at an additional charge of £7.50 Per person. Check-in time is from 1 pm onward. There is a complimentary luggage storage facility at the hotel. The reception desk is open 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Phoenix Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western London
London Best Western
Phoenix Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phoenix Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.