We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit -still quite happy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Dolphin Hotel to your Saves list
Dolphin Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   32 - 34 Norfolk Square | Paddington, London W2 1RS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #689 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Toulouse, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Second visit -still quite happy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This was our second visit in four years. The breakfast has improved since last time, the service is still very good and friendly, the rooms are relatively clean and tidy.

The only downside is the noise : this time we were plagued by groups of international students/schoolkids upstairs which made so much noise we couldn't sleep - we complained a number of times - so when you book check to make sure there are no groups present during your visit.

Globally very good and particularly well situated.

Room Tip: Take a room on the second or third floors otherwise you'll be disturbed by the Underground train...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolphin_Management, Manager at Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Google Translation
Gentili Signori,

Siamo grati, per il Vs. commento e speriamo di rivederci presto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    113
    98
    48
    78
See reviews for
112
86
38
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hotel was helpful on arrival, we were able to leave our bags safely with reception (as we arrived early in the morning and check in was not till 2pm) so that allowed us to explore the city knowing we didn't have to worry about our luggage. But when we finally checked in the room was very disappointing - small and decor very dated and dreary. There were too many chairs to move around with bags and we put a coffee table in the hallway to free up some space. The painted mustard wallpaper was peeling and dirty marks on the walls were depressing. The beds were comfortable enough and freshly made up so it was clean but the room and bathroom had a dated old and dreary feel to them. All it would take is a fresh coat of paint and some more modern furniture, maybe a picture on the wall, a clock and new curtains to give the room a bit of life and freshness. The location is excellent and very easy to get anywhere to and from here via the tube or bus with stops less than a block away. Breakfast was fine and enjoyable. The breakfast room was a squeeze but still adequate for the price of the accommodation. A little spruce up with fresh light colours and some fresh furnishings is what this place really needs to take it from backpacker hostel standards to a decent budget hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolphin_Management, Manager at Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Google Translation
Gentili Signori,

Siamo grati, per il Vs. commento e speriamo di rivederci presto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Upon check in I was told that I had to pay a £10 deposit to have the TV remote, which didn't work anyway. The bed was comfortable, but that was the only good thing. The shower dribbled hot water so I couldn't shower before work. The taps didn't work either so couldn't even brush my teeth!

Really disappointed at how a Hotel (the Dolphin shouldn't be classed as a hotel!) can take you money and provide a below averege experience for their guests. If the price was more £20 a room I'd understand.

Avoid as a hostel is better value

Room Tip: "Add a tip to help traveller pick a good room" Yeah, stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolphin_Management, Manager at Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Google Translation
Gentili Signori,

Siamo grati, per il Vs. commento e speriamo di rivederci presto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed here as I needed a room for the night for a friends party. As a budget hotel and a place to bunk down it was fine. I was on the top floor in a basic room and although the decor wasn't great it was clean and the bathroom was modern. Shower didn't work well though. Overall happy with what I got!

Room Tip: Top floor was a long way up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Three of us stayed here for one night as we were flying from Heathrow next day. I was horrified to find there was no lift but that was my fault for not noticing this at the time of booking. The breakfast room is positively tiny which must be a nuisance for those in a hurry. The only reason I would not stay at this hotel again is the lack of a lift.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henfield, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend for one night last month, we weren't expecting much as it was just an overnighter in cheap accommodation for London. The location was perfect, almost on the doorstep of the underground with, shops, pubs and restaurants all around.
The room we requested was a double room which turned out to be single beds pushed together. We specifically requested a non-smoking room and to our surprise and distaste our bathroom smelt like a stale ashtray. Going to the toilet made me gag so I knew using the shower would be a no go. If we had stayed for more than one night I would have asked for a room change but as we didnt arrive till 8pm it seemed silly to change rooms. So we turned off the radiator which was boiling hot, opened the window and went for a walk until we were ready for bed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, Minas Gerais, Brazil
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

It's a simple, but clean hotel close to Paddington Station, area which has, in my opinion, the best transport network within the city, as you can go practically anywhere by catching one single underground train (no connections needed) or one single bus.
In the area there are also lots of shopping facilities.
The price is very good for what it offers, as breakfast is above average, and location is ideal for people who want to travel to some nearby towns.
It seems to have the best price range in the area, and although the rooms are a bit small, they are quite comfortable.
The italian manager and the greek caretaker are very friendly. So are the other members of the staff.

Room Tip: If you are alone and have heavy luggage, the room in the back to the right facing reception is ideal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dolphin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Hotel

Address: 32 - 34 Norfolk Square | Paddington, London W2 1RS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #689 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dolphin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolphin Hotel occupies an attractive Victorian building, first built in the 1850's and is situated in a tree lined square around 100 yards away from Paddington main line and underground stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Dolphin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western London
Dolphin Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.