We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worse hotel experience thus far” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Kensington Park Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kensington Park Apartments to your Saves list
Kensington Park Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   58 Kensington Court | Kensington, London W8 5DG, England (Kensington and Hyde Park)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,022 of 1,066 Hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Worse hotel experience thus far”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

We arrived early to ensure that we would get a full day of activities. Hotel management was lazy and struggled with the simplest paperwork, and it took almost an hour to check-in.

Once inside the room, we almost turned back immediately, smell of mould, dampness and questionable overall cleanliness. As we were only meant to stay for a day or two, we said 'what the heck, let's give it ago, we won't be here much anyway". Boy did we regret this decision!

Arriving back to the room late at night, we hear a dripping noise from the ceiling, water dripping down our bed. The entire ceiling was wet and at 4am we had to evacuate to a nearby hotel.

The worse bit came later, an unapologetic hotel manager ordered a plumber to take care of this and offered us a new room. We decided it was not worth the effort, as we, despite being out looking for a new hotel room 4 in the morning, actually managed to find a reasonably priced and infinitely more accommodating alternative.

Still, three days after we discovered that despite promising not to charge us for the room, he had done just that, citing that he thought that we had stayed there anyway (note that this is with water pouring down a bed).

I would not wish my worse enemy this experience, and hence my WARNING!

Room Tip: Don't book, and if you do, beware of basement
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    1
    1
    2
    32
See reviews for
12
3
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dubai
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

-The cleanliness of this hotel was absolutely disgusting, the carpet smelt awful, stains and dust everywhere, I even found feces on the toilet seat. The hallways were dirty, baggage and random junk all over the place. Even the reception desk was cluttered and dusty.
- The furniture had not been changed for a very long time, the tv was black and white.
- I'm not sure what it was but it looked like wiring or something was coming out of one of the electrical sockets - extremely dangerous
- The price was way way WAY too high for the quality of the stay. As I had booked online and had not seen the place before hand I could not get a refund upon entering and discovering this disaster of a hotel.
-On top of all of this, the service was horrendous. Extremely rude man at the front desk, very unhelpful, sarcastic and unpleasant.

The only good thing about this hotel was the location and THATS IT. I was dreading going back after my days out and honestly, it put a downer on my whole time in London.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

I stayed in the front basement flat. Public areas were cluttered, dirty and had not been decorated (or cleaned) in decades. Room itself was disgusting - very grubby everywhere, rodent traps in the room, television & bathroom light did not work. Curtains would not fully close. The bed sheets & mattress were OK, but everything else was squalid. I stuck it out as I paid in advance, but I would actually not let my dog stay here. I have stayed in some cheap hotels, so I know what to expect for my money, but at £150 a night this was a joke, even for Kensington. Since leaving I have had 2 long showers, but i still feel grubby

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

We pre-booked this hotel via lastminute (unfortunately I didn't read the other tripadvisor reviews first), pre-paying 4 nights.

On arrival at the address of the ‘hotel’ - actually an apartment block with a single piece of paper stuck to the front door stating “For arrivals, please ring mobile xxx or bell 7’. After several attempts to call the contact, a man picked up, and after we gave our name and asked him to come to the door, he said ‘how much did you pay?’ and then 'we have no room for you’ and hung up on us.

We turned to lastminute to resolve the issue, who were helpful but had to rely on him booking us into a nearby hotel - which he half-did. He 'booked' us into another hotel around the corner (which was relayed to us via lastminute - we never spoke to this man again), but when we walked there and tried to check in, we were made to pay in full, again! He promised those hotel operators payment, but never showed up to pay them.

Fortunately, we used American Express to dispute the charges and are not out of pocket (except for the phone calls and the wasted time), but this operator is clearly dishonest and a dangerous person to trust with your holiday!

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodz, Poland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

This so called 'hotel' is simply atrocious. We booked 5 nights, and were asked to pay up front, before seeing the room. The first room we were given was dark, dusty, the bathroom was literally too small to enter, and the window was half open, not working. The room being on the ground floor and facing some dodgy backyard, it was too creepy to stay in. We asked for a different one... Well, just take a look at the pictures. Awful. Not just dusty, simply filthy. Pubic hair and used tissues. Stained bedsheets, blanket, walls, carpet, night table, well, basically everything. Ants, dirty dishes, mould, cobwebs, and, my 'favourite', actual piles of dust or whatever, half inch tall, on light switches.
Still in shock and nowhere to go, we stayed for the night. Weren't able to sleep becouse of the smell and loud heating. Which I guess was a good thing, as even the receptionist himself struggled with locking the door.
About 7.30 a.m. we were packed and ready to leave, but the receptionist was not available. Calls went to voicemail, and we went to a different hotel, a proper one this time.
We came back after 1 & half hour, and politely asked if we can check out. The receptionist, so cordial the day before, turned mental. Called us names: theives, stupid, dirty, poor, liers, and so on, made some xenophobic remarks. Right in the middle of this outburst he decided to go and get some coffe... and disappeard for over half hour. After a long quarrel he agreed to give us back the money for 2 nights.
All in all, that adventure cost us 400 pounds.
Don't make the same mistake.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

I stayed here with my wife for a week, between the 26th March and 2nd April.
The apartments are poorly serviced, and are filthy in fact. After complaint, the proprietor was gracious enough to move us to a better room in the basement. The location is fantastic though, and the old gentleman was all right. Nonetheless, would not stay in that place again, frankly speaking.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North-west England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2009

Stayed here this week, hoping that some of the older reviews here had led to some improvements....

Firstly, there was no-one there to check-in. I had to ring a mobile number and tell the man that I was waiting to check in, and then wait for him to turn up. One of the first things he said was to explain that the room was quite small, but I could upgrade if I wanted to, which didn't bode well. However, having paid over £100 a night for the room, I was not going to pay more.

Room itself was OK, but smelled a bit musty. However, it wasn't clean - the carpet was stained and needed a good wash, and there were two mouse traps in the room, which again didn't fill me with confidence. Shower was good and hot, though, but the shower head only shot water straight out rather than down at all and wasn't adjustable. The toiletries were good (Gilchrist & Soames), but there wasn't enough toilet paper to last the week. Some of the plates had been put away dirty, and the sponge and drying up towel were dirty.

I stay in London a lot, and you can get MUCH better for the same price or less - I'll not be back.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kensington Park Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Park Apartments

Address: 58 Kensington Court | Kensington, London W8 5DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#364 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kensington Park Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Kensington Park Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Park Apartments London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kensington Park Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.