We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of London Elizabeth Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added London Elizabeth Hotel to your Saves list
London Elizabeth Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Lancaster Terrace | Hyde Park, London W2 3PF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #441 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Location, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great location for this Hotel, right in front of Hyde Park. Undeground station Lancaster Gate is a 2 minutes' walk. Paddignton is also close by, as well as a number of bus stops. Overall very convenient for visitng the city and getting around. The Hotel itself is pretty in its own traditional style, Our room was quite spacious for London's standards and the bathroom (in need of some restyling) was clean and with all the amenities. Staff were all very fiendly and helpful; I had asked for the two rooms I had booked to be on the same floor and they accomodated my request promptly. We did not have breakfast at the Hotel but I've heard that the restaurant Rose Garden offers great cakes and delicious scones for afternoon tea, so we might as well try the next time we're around :). I found teh price ok for London and for the Hotel range. Would go back when in London.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    437
    188
    68
    42
See reviews for
237
346
52
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Bay, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The room was charming. Tall ceilings and stained glass window. Although the room is small it was exactly what I expected. We could see out the window to the rose garden they have out back. Everything was clean and comfortable. The staff is friendly and the breakfast was nice every morning. I found it to be a wonderful location, steps away from the tune stop and hyde park across the street. We had a great time!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Roque, Andalucia, Spain
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Thirty seconds walk to Central Line Tube Station. Thirty seconds to Hyde Park. Staff friendly and helpful. Public areas are clean. Lots of pillows on the bed. State of decor old and run down. The bathroom was the worst area. The grouting around bath was black with many broken tiles. If you are over 5' 6" tall the shower is a major problem. Water went from scalding to freezing constantly. The lift is big enough for 2 people, just. If you have a large suitcase only one person can fit in lift with it. I don't know where they sourced their teabags but the tea was disgusting.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed here 4 nights & the experience was just average. A very noisy location with traffic noise & then there's the glaring spot lights that are on all night that they show on the facade. I would wake in the middle of the night & think it was morning. Unbelievable.

The room we had was a quaint triangular shaped room on the ground floor. Beds were older & the pillow the same. The bathroom very basic, crap hot water system. No drying line just the fittings where there should be one but lone missing.

All in all not a place I'd rush back to. Located nicely at the top of Hyde Park walking distance to marble arch.

The staff were courteous but said very little.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clackmannan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

this is a nice hotel and well run with really nice staff very helpful and courteous
he room we had was a bit disappointing with steps up to and down into the bathroom which was a bit hard for my wife but as it was very busy i never asked for a change of room
overall this hotel is very good and cant say anything other!
spotless clean and nice staff GOOD

Room Tip: try rooms to the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forfar, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked 3 rooms here for a trip with my wife, my mother in law and 4 nieces. We had a full itinerary and therefore didn't have to spend much time here, thank God.
Let's start with a couple of positives. The room and bed were clean and the breakfast was well cooked and substantial, I also like "cooked to order" as it saves the lottery that is a buffet!
That's it , for the full 5 days.
Now the negatives. The rooms have seen better days, everything is worn, tired and a little bit threadbare. We tried to gloss over it by calling it "quaint" but it "ain't "
The staff, ah the staff..........at best a couple were indifferent, the rest were unfortunately either rude , inefficient or at worst malevolent.
We had a couple of drinks in the ( tiny!!!) bar and I was perturbed that they left the bar to ring up the bill. The drinks were pricey, but that's London. I did however get suspicious when the barman told me the 3 drinks I bought were £12.75 and then returned with £4.25 change from £20. I hadn't checked my change in front of him and thought it was a mistake I should learn from. We left the bar shortly after to be chased by the same barman shouting "you must sign for your drinks" ! Considering there was only one other couple in the bar I was livid. I asked for the manager and explained what had happened. I received no apology and was told the difference in my change was a service charge which is apparently common place in the whole of the UK!! I explained it was illegal to quote one price and take a higher one and also illegal to not have a bar tariff. The mood changed.... We never used any hotel services thereafter and will never return Con artists would be my summation.

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I can't actually say what staying here was like because they had 'over running maintenance work' on our room Saturday 25th April so they upgraded us to another hotel, a 10 minute cab ride away. All good and well except we booked to stay there because we had family staying there and had booked a restaurant just around the corner. They very 'kindly' arranged and paid for a taxi to transfer us to the other hotel which didn't arrive after waiting for 25 minutes so we hailed a black cab and then only had an hour to get there and back again for the restaurant booking. We were allowed to join our family for breakfast on Sunday morning. Breakfast was pretty basic offering, couldn't help yourself to cereals, or yoghurts for example. Porridge was cold. No fresh fruit such as banana.
Staff were 'pleasant' enough and 'trying' to be helpful but just found the whole experience less than acceptable in terms of delivering anything like good customer service.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to London Elizabeth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Elizabeth Hotel

Address: 4 Lancaster Terrace | Hyde Park, London W2 3PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#393 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — London Elizabeth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
London Elizabeth hotel is a privately owned property with 49 rooms and suites ajacent to Hyde Park. With its central location you are within easy reach of major tourist attractions and shopping in Oxford Street and Knightsbridge. For the business traveller there is a direct link to the financial centre. The decor is traditional old English style with an open fire in the lobby and a cosy bar with leather furnishing. The restaurant serves breakfast,lunch, and dinner. Traditional English afternoon tea with home made scones are served daily either in the lobby or in the rose terrace garden open weather permitted. The hotel has got a private car park and offers free WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your London Elizabeth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Elizabeth Hotel England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage London Elizabeth Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.