We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned but charming!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of London Elizabeth Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added London Elizabeth Hotel to your Saves list
London Elizabeth Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Lancaster Terrace | Hyde Park, London W2 3PF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #443 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Old fashioned but charming!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

This hotel is in a great spot - you can walk to Oxford Street and to Knightsbridge in less than half an hour. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the rooms are very clean; yes the place is old-fashioned, but that only adds to the charm. Food is reasonably priced and of a good standard.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    436
    188
    68
    42
See reviews for
236
346
52
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The best of this hotel is obviously the location, just in front of Hyde Park. Less than 1 minute walk to the closest metro station and bus stop.

The room was ok size, but old decorated apart from the very damaged furniture.
The worst of all are the mattresses of the bed. The twin bed room had the smallest and most uncomfortable beds I have ever slept in. I understand the hotel is old, the carpets are damaged, the floors can make noise, etc. but I do not understand why they cannot renew the decoration a bit and more important: PLEASE CHANGE THE MATTRESSES ASAP!

Small toilet, tiny shower with no pressure in the water (you better do not wash your hair unless you have more than 1 hour to spend in the shower), very difficult to close the windows and the shower doors because they were stuck.

The staff was just ok they were not very professional, the night reception man told us we had breakfast included, but the morning after we were denied the access to the restaurant and the morning receptionist said that the breakfast was not included. Never mind, it would have been nice to have breakfast included when you are paying 100 pounds per night.

Not to forget the noisy toilet. We phoned the reception 5 minutes after the check in because when we got in the room the toilet was already making weird noises, even worse after flushing it. The boy in the reception came and said the maintenance guy of the hotel would have a look at it, something that never happened, we had to report the problem again the day after. I think they already know that the room (in this case number 446) has this problem and they just never solve it. Our room was also very close to the lift and you can only sleep from 2am to 6am. You can try to sleep in those uncomfortable beds and with ear plugs not to hear the toilet noises.

Apart from the old decoration, I find very weird to find a bible and the yellow pages in the room night table. the lights on each bed did not work at all.

The stairs up to the 3rd and 4th floor are very twisted, I was worried the first time because I thought I was having hallucinations, they are extremely twisted, you feel like they are going to break. The elevator is tiny and it takes a long time to move.

Ok plasma tv and amenities. they sell plug adaptors in the reception for 4 pounds.

Super weird to have a whole under the door to the corridor where you could put your whole feet out. They should also change those doors in case that there are more rooms with the same problem.

I would not recommend this hotel and I will not come back.

Room Tip: Do not get room 446
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodz, Poland
Top Contributor
594 reviews 594 reviews
239 hotel reviews
Reviews in 223 cities Reviews in 223 cities
363 helpful votes 363 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

From outside the hotel looks very dignified. It is located in an excellent area and seems very promising for a memorable stay. However, inside it looks much less attractive. The furniture, the carpets and wallpaper are tired. Especially rooms need a refurbishing and just simple renovation not loosing their authenticity. Some elements are run down or they do not work properly. My bathroom was not heated and it was quite cold in the morning.
The continental breakfast is served in the lovely room / also needs renovation / with sweet tableware and was good enough for me. The staff is friendly and helpful, advising about transport connection and places for sightseeing.
Considering the mentioned drawbacks, the hotel rate seems too pricey.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester NY
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

This is my hotel of choice in London. It is close to the tube, the train, Hyde Park, and bus routes. The rooms are comfortable and the staff is friendly and very helpful. There are many choices of healthy food at breakfast. My only regret is that the rose terrace was being worked on. It is such a pretty place to sit and sip a glass of wine.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fin
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for 4 nights in first October weekend.
First location:
Location is perfect if you flying to London via Heathrow. From hotel is 10 min. walk to Paddington railway station, from station you can take a train to airport (Express 'faster' or Connect 'slower but cheaper'). So from hotel to airport security check well under 1 hour!
Also to explore the city is best way to use London underground. Lancaster Gate tube station is just a cross the street, the station have ticket sale booth, by Oyster Card you will love it.
Hotel:
Hotel is old, but in a good way and we absolutely loved it, i would not change anything in there, maybe shower need some upgrade, but it was not bad at all. Building is filled with history, narrow stairways, small elevator, elegant entrance and very cozy lobby. Hotel have restaurant called *Rose Garden' and nice lobby bar and garden terrace.
Breakfast was good, but i recommend to upgrade it to full English breacfast for 6£.
Room was good size, bed ok even for me (I’m 1,90m tall) TV was working, you can open window in a room. I loved windows there, they are old and you need to pull them up to open, absolutely great i have not experience that before! Room had a cabinet for cloths and a small safe box.
Hotel had free Wi-Fi connection for guests, it was not fastest, and in the morning speed was ok.
Staff:
All the staff was very friendly and helpful, even at night time when we return to hotel and ring the doorbell, young man wasn’t cranky at all.
Staff also takes care of our baggage. Cause we arrived 9 pm and left 4 am, you just leave your bags at reception and get them back exchange to recite.
They have a free city maps at reception and you can ask for directions from staff.

BEST STAY IN LONDON SOFAR!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

It is difficult to match this location. Less than 100 yards to an Underground stop and the entrance to Hyde Park.

They gave us an upgrade which was great but later in the stay it appeared that we were the lucky few. In a small, old hotel I'm sure it's hard to keep the variety of rooms scheduled. I think I overheard some unlucky/unhappy guests that did not receive the room they felt entitled to.

The breakfast was fine. I loved their yogurt!

The room was awesome at one time but is now showing a little wear and tear. However, I would rather see them put off any renovation than see them try to do it on the cheap and wreck the authenticity.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to London Elizabeth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Elizabeth Hotel

Address: 4 Lancaster Terrace | Hyde Park, London W2 3PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#393 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — London Elizabeth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
London Elizabeth hotel is a privately owned property with 49 rooms and suites ajacent to Hyde Park. With its central location you are within easy reach of major tourist attractions and shopping in Oxford Street and Knightsbridge. For the business traveller there is a direct link to the financial centre. The decor is traditional old English style with an open fire in the lobby and a cosy bar with leather furnishing. The restaurant serves breakfast,lunch, and dinner. Traditional English afternoon tea with home made scones are served daily either in the lobby or in the rose terrace garden open weather permitted. The hotel has got a private car park and offers free WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your London Elizabeth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Elizabeth Hotel England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage London Elizabeth Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.