We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Montcalm London

Save Saved
You added The Montcalm London to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Montcalm London
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34-40 Great Cumberland Place | Top of Park Lane, Marble Arch, London W1H 7TW, England (Marylebone)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 1,075 hotels in London
Giza, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Exceptional Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I only stayed one night at The Montcalm, but it was everything one would want. Reception was efficient, knowledgable and very warm. First time I have ever been escorted to the elevator by the receptionist! I was upgraded to a 2 room suite, it was very well appointed with complimentary fruit bowl, water, internet access, newspaper, robes, slippers and wonderful Hermes amenities. Breakfast was also complimentary and more than ample with great coffee!! Just around the corner from Marble Arch tube and Oxford Street shops a two minute walk, great location with many restaurants in the vicinity. A lovely stay!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm London, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your comments and feel very proud that the team at The Montcalm were able to meet you expectations and that you loved the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back at the Montcalm.
Thanks
Kind Regards

Sabine Altschaeffl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    688
    211
    55
    28
    10
See reviews for
139
413
68
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Brilliant stay at this hotel Staff couldn't do enough for us. My friends birthday and they upgraded us to a suite and also sent a bottle of wine. Beautiful room. Very clean and a fab vibe around the hotel. Excellent location.

Spa was also fantastic. We had a facial and it was well worth it. We will be back Loved it

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm London, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your comments and feel very proud that the team at The Montcalm were able to meet you expectations and that you loved the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back at the Montcalm.
Thanks
Kind Regards

Sabine Altschaeffl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed in this hotel over the weekend for one nigh. It was my mother's birthday.
The receptionist was very friendly, helpful and kind enough to take us to our room and explains every tiny thing in it. Then when we come to our room in the afternoon, we found a small cake, fruits basket and small piece of chocolate in our room. It was a nice hospitality as a 5 star hotel. They upgrade our room to exuisitive room which was large with a setting area. the toilet was large and the shampoo, shower gel and lotion were amazing (Elemis). the room and toilet were very clean and newly furnished. The location was just in the heart of oxford street and 3 minutes to Edgware road and marble arch underground station.

Room Tip: rooms away from the elevators and in higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm London, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your comments and feel very proud that the team at The Montcalm made your birthday special.
We look forward to welcoming you back at the Montcalm.
Thanks
Kind Regards

Sabine Altschaeffl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed with my family for almost a week at The Montcalm. We had some issues, all of them minor, related to service (not having shower gel, towels, the room ready on time, and the likes), as said, none of them quite serious. I made a comment to one staff member and surprisingly, the House Manager, Mr Anuk Bakshi, contacted me immediately, asking for the details. To me, this immediate action shows that The Montcalm staff is really looking to understand how to satisfy customer needs.

Now, what we liked: the location (it is perfectly located to visit London and also in a very nice neighborhood), the kindness of all the staff, the breakfast, the cleanliness of the rooms and bathrooms.

All in all, I would stay another time at this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms looking at the street (it is very quiet) are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm London, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Guest.

Thank you for your comments on trip adviser,
We at The Montcalm take our guest feedback as paramount to our success and work on them as far as possible. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay with us. I can assure you that all points have been shared with respective departments to ensure that such incidents do not happen in the future.
I am very happy to hear that Ankur acted on the situation and re-in stored your faith into the Montcalm Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Sabine Altschaeffl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

i stayed in this hotel with my wife last week and i was surprised how helpful was the staff, we felt like celebreties and we booked just standart room. hotel is very clean and well decorated,maybe just gym is a bit small, but thats not a problem. location is perfect just minute walk from oxford street, next time will stay here again. thank you for very nice stay.

Room Tip: facing main entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm London, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your comments and feel very proud that the team at The Montcalm were able to meet you expectations and that you loved the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back at the Montcalm.
Thanks
Kind Regards

Sabine Altschaeffl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The eoro trip couldnt had been better if Montcalm was not there..from ambiencetobasic necessities,from comforts to luxurious treatmentand from fodd to drings,it was a one stop shoppforour entire family..the rooms are spaciouswith all the comfort one can imagine,the room service facility is perfect,it serves as a home for all the tourists..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm London, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your comments and feel very proud that the team at The Montcalm were able to meet you expectations and that you loved the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back at the Montcalm.
Thanks
Kind Regards

Sabine Altschaeffl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I usually stay at the Montcalm at "The Brewery". I am a regular guest there and always receive an upgrade if available. The bathroom in a superior room was quite small! Fixtures were not fully screwed on tightly. Also the water in the shower on my 2nd day didn't get warm until after 5-10 minutes! This was a big issue for me as I don't like to take a cold shower, and especially when I am paying over 200 pounds per night for a room!! However, the staff was friendly and the service was good. Location is perfect! Right around the corner of Oxford street! I hope that next time I can re-visit the Montcalm at the brewery again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm London, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Serge,

Thank you for your comment on Trip Adviser.
Please accept my apologize again for not having water in the morning due to our boiler failing.

We have now put procedures in place so that such problems do not happen again.

If you decided to give us another chance please do not hesitate to contact me direct.

Kind regards
Sabine Altschaeffl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Montcalm London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montcalm London

Address: 34-40 Great Cumberland Place | Top of Park Lane, Marble Arch, London W1H 7TW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in London
#30 Business Hotel in London
#30 Luxury Hotel in London
#35 Romantic Hotel in London
#47 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Montcalm London 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Montcalm London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Montcalm London Hotel London
Montcalm Nikko Hotel London
London Montcalm Nikko Hotel
The Montcalm London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Montcalm London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.