Nice hotel but….overpriced for the quality
We went to Montcalm for the location and it of course fulfils its duties on this. As other reviews mention, it’s a nice hotel, and overall you won’t be disappointed.
However, we noticed some down sides which are surprising for this hotel category.
We came with backpacks and in jeans instead of suitcases and business suits, simply bec it’s easier and more comfortable for us to travel with, and I’m fully convinced this is why we ended up (first) in a room with only a window of 50x50 cm at 2m high and no bath (shower), next to the lifts.
I had a strong feeling the way you look was crucial in this hotel, which shouldn’t be in any hotel, and staff should be in general trained not to trust to base their judgement on this. CEOs don’t always travel with private jets and drivers.
We hesitated bec we don’t like to create fuss but after all, a 5 star should provide service. We came at reception and we were given another room after some time, but it’s an uncomfortable feeling to kind of being forced to request what you expect from a 5 star.
Tip of any traveller is to avoid any room ending with nb 23.
To make an honest review, I need to say that we were checking in early, but our “early” was 13:30.
Again it was a bit of disappointment as it’s very small. To risk a daring comparison, we stay at a famous UK budget chain hotel from time to time for their location and rooms have always been far larger. I don’t know what you do with a big suitcase (not mentioning two) in this room. Basically, you have the space of the bathroom and then comes the room: bedside table, stuck to it is the bed, stuck to it another bedside table and finally stuck to it the desk itself stuck to the window. When I say stuck, to be precise, it’s no space between them.
Decoration is fine and you’ve got all you need to shower, sleep, watch TV.
The specificity of the bathroom was that it has no shared wall with the bedroom but a shared window. This might look trendy and design but in the end we would have preferred a wall also for privacy even if we’re a couple. Of course, you can tear down a curtain (electric button in the bathroom) to get the privacy but it’s really not the same as a wall especially for noise (when one showers immediate need to raise TV volume and you can figure out yourself what other noise may need to be covered) and if you’re not a couple.
To be noticed, we just received 1 set of goodies (bath robes, shampoos etc) while we were in a double.
I think staff will provide anything you may need, I don’t see major problems. The only thing is an uncomfortable feeling as they never smile. Writing this review, I try to find back if anybody smiled to me and I think the only person is the door man. I don’t know how to explain but the remaining impression is that staff is not so happy to work there. This was confirmed during the breakfast where again I felt uncomfortable when I saw stff ignoring each other: of course they’re under pressure to work but…still. I’m utterly sensitive to atmospheres and I worked with hotels so this is maybe why I got this impression.
I was a bit surprised there of the small breakfast room available (maybe it was the low cost room: ah!) and although choice is largely sufficient, you’ve got the impression there is little because it’s just a table with food display. I ordered a hot chocolate bec I always test hotels on this: special coffees are made through machines so it’s easy to get a good one whatever option you take, but a good hot chocolate is more difficult to trick on. Again I was utterly disappointed: I think I don’t remember tasting one like this except in my student days when we bought low-cost/retailer brand instant cocoa powder. This might sound hard but it’s sadly true and I almost couldn’t believe it. I was also surprised that the breakfast room is just in front of the entrance. It was winter so you could feel a bit the draught of the entrance hall. Not dramatic as all the rest of things but… again…for a 5-star hotel…
So in conclusion, of course I don’t think you’ll get a dreadful experience here but I’m pretty sure that for the same price you will get more space, smile, comfort, experience than at Montcalm. We had for ex a better experience at a 4-start 50m away from the Montcalm. Unless it would be the only option, I don’t think we’ll go back there or advise s.o. to go there.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
Thank you for leaving your feedback on Trip Adviser.
I can assure you we do not make a difference in how people are dressed or in what kind of luggage our guests are arriving and I apologize of you felt that we treated we in any way different.
Looking at your reservation I can clearly see that you booked a standard room - after the check in on the 5th floor and your complaint we moved you straight away to a different room.
In regards to your comments for breakfast - we offer Continental Breakfast which is displayed on the table as well you have the choice from the a la carte menu which is displayed on all the tables during the breakfast.
Overall I am sorry that you could not enjoy the service we offer, like other guests in the hotel.
However feel free to contact me if you wish to give us another chance and to stay at the hotel.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.