We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attractive location but rather old fashioned inside” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Park Lane Sheraton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Park Lane Sheraton Hotel to your Saves list
The Park Lane Sheraton Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piccadilly, London W1J 7BX, England (Mayfair)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #639 of 1,050 Hotels in London
Croydon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
644 reviews 644 reviews
228 hotel reviews
Reviews in 140 cities Reviews in 140 cities
1,067 helpful votes 1,067 helpful votes
“Attractive location but rather old fashioned inside”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I got a room via Lastminute-com for £100 at very short notice. Value-wise, this was very good for the location on Piccadilly - roughly half way between Hyde Park corner and Green Park Tube station. When learning it was a Sheraton hotel, I expected top of the range quality too.

Sadly, it was not. Probably for the price I paid, I got a lower quality room (143) but it was distinctly old fashioned. Very small and with a bathroom whose bath was awkward to get into and a washbasin with old taps (hot one barely working). Bed was comfortable.

Reception is tucked away at the back of the building (if you enter from Piccadilly) or accessible from another entrance down a scruffy back street. Neither very inviting, though the staff on check in and out were efficient and friendly.

I did not have breakfast (£18 for a continental one) and instead walked to Green Park tube where a branch of Pret a Manger served muffins, juices, coffee etc.

In short, this hotel has excellent location credentials but does not inside live upto the Sheraton brand image.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    603
    569
    406
    262
See reviews for
364
738
189
496
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I arrived at the hotel after a long day of travel and was thrilled to find out that I would be given a free upgrade to a studio suite as there were no longer any regular rooms available (booked with SPG points). The room was large, comfortable and more than satisfactory. The staff was very helpful with bringing a fan to the room as it was somewhat hot, even with the windows open. The location near Green Park Underground was excellent for our return journey to Heathrow. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Studio Suite 428 is right next to the elevator and the windows are facing Brick Lane which was a lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkLaneHotelManager, General Manager at The Park Lane Sheraton Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear precious6871, thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.
Warm regards
Kieran Quinn
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Molton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This hotel is in a great central location. Our room on third floor was lovely and quiet. Comfortable beds -marble bathroom with very good walk in shower. As some reviews mention it is old however as its listed some of the decor is hard to change. Breakfast was good - although the buffet option is expensive for what it is - choose from other options and they're fine. Staff friendly and helpful. Concierge made booking at Oxo building restaurant for us and we got a great table. I thought it had some faded charm. My only real criticism is they need to improve standard of housekeeping in lounge area. Not nice to find used napkins from afternoon tea - and cake debris on floor - later in evening!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkLaneHotelManager, General Manager at The Park Lane Sheraton Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Dejunkdiva, thank you for sharing your positive review following your stay, we're glad you enjoyed it. Thank you also for mentioning the cleanliness in the Palm Court Lounge - we will monitor this.
Warm regards
Kieran Quinn
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest City, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel in July and were traveling with six people-my husband and I and four teenage boys. We chose it for the location and my husband will usually stay at a Sheraton when ever he travels.
I have no negative comments aside from a little wear in the rooms-however I felt it added to the charm of our location.
We had adjoining rooms-one suite and one standard. Of course this also made the stay much more enjoyable due to the additional room in the suite.
The staff was helpful and professional. We spoke to several of the concierge and each one was knowledgeable and helpful. They directed us to a perfect place nearby for breakfast which we ate at almost every morning.
Hopefully one day we will return to London and we will definitely be staying at The Park Lane.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkLaneHotelManager, General Manager at The Park Lane Sheraton Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Cathi F, thank you so much for taking the time to share your review following your recent stay, we're glad you enjoyed your family trip to London and that our staff made the difference.
Warm regards
Kieran Quinn
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This hotel is the worst five star i have ever stayed. That is why my title of my review is three star at five star location. The room i stayed on the first floor was very poor and old old fashion looks like unclean at all times even daily room service done the job properly
Over all except the location which is very close to all activities better not to choose if you are not desperate

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Having read the reviews I was dreading staying in this hotel but I think a more balanced view might help.

I booked this hotel through an online booking site and did so because it was cheaper than the Premier Inn at County Hall. So first point - this place represents great value for money.

The location is amazing.

The service at check in was great and given the current temperature in London I was given a bottle of ice cold water whilst checking in.

The room is undoubtedly in need of updating but was very clean. The bed was the size of a house and was very comfy. The room was a very good size indeed. Yes, the view is rubbish but I went there to sleep for 8 hours and had no interest in the view. The room had an air con unit in it to take account of the hot weather and was very cool. My major disappointment was that there were no tea making facilities - for someone who loves a cuppa in bed this is bad news.

Overall the hotel represents good value for money in a prime London location. Yes, I've stayed in far superior hotels but I've paid a lot more to stay in them.

Go into this thinking 4 star, comfy bed, great location and you will be fine.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkLaneHotelManager, General Manager at The Park Lane Sheraton Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear MJABATH, thank you for your recent review following your stay here, we're glad to hear that your stay was comfortable and good value for money. We hope we will see you again soon!
Warm regards
Kieran Quinn
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I have stayed at numerous hotels in London in the past and this hotel tops the worst staffing in the area. Concierge and front desk staff are inexperienced and not helpful. Concierge recommended a city tour bus that never showed up. This issue was exacerbated by night manager's reluctance in assisting to resolve the problem. I will never stay at this hotel again and would strongly advise anyone else to stay here. The hotel interior also does not mitigate the inexperienced staffing issue. As a member of SPG, I am highly disappointed with its management.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkLaneHotelManager, General Manager at The Park Lane Sheraton Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear J L,

Thank you for taking time to leave your feedback. It was unfortunate that the scheduled bus tour was cancelled without notice, and it is disappomting to hear that we did not meet your expectations in trying to rectify the issue.

Your comments are important to us and we have shared your feedback with the relevant management teams.

Warm regards,

Kieran Quinn
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Park Lane Sheraton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Lane Sheraton Hotel

Address: Piccadilly, London W1J 7BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#353 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Park Lane Sheraton Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Park Lane Hotel is centrally located near Buckingham Palace and stroll over to the boutiques of Bond Street, Knightsbridge, and London's West End theatres. As evening falls enjoy a conversation over a world famous English afternoon tea at the Palm Court, or share the tastes of Italy at the Citrus Restaurant. From 1st September 2014, The Park Lane Hotel will be undergoing a transformation. We are very excited to be making a major investment in the hotel which will result in completely renovated guest rooms and public areas. During this period, the hotel will remain open and will continue to offer all of its current services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, HotelTravel.com, Starwood EMEA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Park Lane Sheraton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Lane Sheraton
Park Lane Hotel London
Sheraton Hotel London
London Sheraton
Sheraton London
The Park Lane Sheraton Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Park Lane Sheraton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.