We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room is fine, service and location are superb.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Park Lane Sheraton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Park Lane Sheraton Hotel to your Saves list
The Park Lane Sheraton Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piccadilly, London W1J 7BX, England (Mayfair)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #643 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Room is fine, service and location are superb.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is an older hotel, and the rooms are functional, if not the last word in luxury. The service and location - which for me are more important than a room full of gimmicks I wont use - were just superb. Some context: I was taking over a booking from a single japanese colleague who requested a smoking room. Unbeknown to me he had also moved the dates by one day. So I turned up with a wife and two kids in tow thinking the booking had been changed. It hadn't but the girl on reception didnt miss a beat. She chatted to my daughter whilst telling me a non-smoking room would be better as we had kids, did we need an extra bed and just fyi I wasnt due to arrive until tomorrow so would I be checking out early? Under the circumstance the entire process, which could have been a disaster, was excellent. Re the location, I live in Malaysia but London is my home town. Walking from the hotel to the Original Hard Rock Cafe for lunch 50 yards away, then down through Green Park to see Buckinginham Palace, then the Houses Of Parliment, The London Eye, South Bank, back across the river to Covent Garden, Regents Street, late lunch in Mayfair then a bottle of wine and nibbles from M&S on the deck chairs in Green Park in the early evening before crossing over the road - past the artists - to the hotel made for a perfect, tube free, day in London. Highly recommended. Or the Holiday Inn around the corner if you are not on a company freebie. Same great location, less cost.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkLaneHotelManager, General Manager at The Park Lane Sheraton Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear mark c,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I am delighted to read that your stay lived up to your expectations and the Front Desk assisted you with your reservation due in the following day. I have shared your comments with the team about how you enjoyed the service and we do hope to welcome you and your family back!

Warm regards,
Kieran Quinn
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    596
    566
    406
    261
See reviews for
362
731
190
493
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

There isn't anything wrong with the hotel as such. It is just that it is very old which itself isn't a problem were it not for the high price. But, this is a general problem in London. In any other city in Europe the room would be of a modern standard and half the price. An example: the air conditioning consists of a portable unit in the corner (of a small room which costs £300/400 a night). Similarly, the bathroom was antique. Maybe foreign visitors find this all very quaint but if I am going to pay a lot if money I want more than quaintness. Given its location and the fact the bed is pretty comfortable I would still recommend this hotel (what's the alternative?). The issues I am describing here could be attributed to a lot of hotels in London which have seen their best days.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkLaneHotelManager, General Manager at The Park Lane Sheraton Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear VeitchB,

Thank you for your comments about your stay. I am happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay, especially having found our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper comfortable after I am sure a busy day!

Warm regards,
Kieran Quinn
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed one night Mid-August and again four nights first week of September on SPG points on a Platinum account.
First night we were put in a small standard room with a floor-standing a/c unit taking up the little bit of floor space there was in the room.
For the four night stay the platinum status supposedly got us upgraded to an executive room on fourth floor. We were told rooms were not yet available, but one (check-in desk gave a room number) would be available in 15 minutes and they would send our luggage there. While waiting we went by the consierge, who recommended and booked a couple day tours for us. When this was done we went back to check-in, got a room key, and went to what we were told would be our room. We entered the executive room area, went to the room, tried the card key, and it wouldn’t work. Looked at the card key holder and see the room number written on it is on the first floor. Left wife there while I go back to check-in and get told we were placed in another executive room that was available while the original room wasn’t. Went back to four th get my wife. While there we see someone from housekeeping who tells us she is long finished with the room. We tell our story and ask if we can get in to see if our luggage is in the room. She cannot let us in but checks and confirms our bags are in a ready room. We go back to check-in and state our bags are in the original room, to be told they would move our bags to the new room. We go to the room. It is an oversized corner room, but not comparable with any Sheraton executive room I have been in. It looks like we were moved because someone wanted to go cheap on the platinum upgrade. The room had issues:
o End tables, dresser, and desk were old childrens furniture. We had to fight with drawers to open and close them.
o Room had central air, but just a fan on/off switch and a thermostat that did not change temperature flow.
o Towel rack is hot water pipes that give warm towels, but the hot water was not flowing. Desk said it is shut off in summer because it makes the room too hot. Odd that it was off in an “executive” room in early September, but on in a standard room mid-August.
o Toilet required multiple flushes to clear fecal matter.
o After first night, housekeeping decided we only needed one bathroom glass.
o Was way too hot sleeping under comforter, so we removed it from duvet. Asked for just a top sheet. Was told housekeeping would take care of it. We found the duvet now held a blanked instead of comforter, but that was still too warm. We removed the blanket each night.
o Woke the first morning at 5:30, disturbed by garbage trucks making pick-up directly below us. Slept thru other mornings, not sure if it was because they didn’t pick-up those mornings or we consumed sufficient alcohol each dinner.
o We did get a coffee maker – you have to know to ask.
After our first tour we are reading co brochure and learn we are eligible for senior rates – 20Pounds total that we had to work with tour co next morning to get a refund. You would think the concierge would have said something to us. At check-out we were greeted with a smile and asked how our stay was. I replied simply “ok”, the young lady did not deserve what I would have unloaded on her with an honest answer. On future London visits we will stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkLaneHotelManager, General Manager at The Park Lane Sheraton Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear RS1958,

Thank you for reviewing your stay. I am disappointed to learn that on both ocassions, your stay did not meet your expectations. Rest assured I have shared your comments about the overall room condition to the relevant managers for further action.

Warm regards,
Kieran Quinn
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I spent two nights at this Sheraton with my son on our summer vacation. One night was free on my Sheraton Points. The hotel is nicely located by Hyde Park. It is in Mayfair and the neighborhood is great. The rooms are very small and although very clean, the rooms need upgrading from the 80's style. I would consider staying here again if I had a deal or could use my points and I did love the location, but would prefer a hotel with larger rooms and better amenities.

Note, I did love the lounge. It is large and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkLaneHotelManager, General Manager at The Park Lane Sheraton Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Daisyss,

Thank you for reviewing your stay. I am happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with your son and found the location to be convenient for your needs.

I do hope to welcome you back in the future!

Warm regards,
Kieran Quinn
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Have been staying here forever and it has become synonymous with any trip to London.
It has a beyond great location N,S,E or W of it and is surrounded by parks so fantastic to walk to wherever via a park.
It is an old property and has those lovely creaking yet well padded carpet floors but the advantage is the size of the rooms/ suites that have not become 'new-world' - bathrooms are lovely old-world too although the amenities could definitely improve.
They have the very well equipped Shepherd's Market just behind and loads of cafe's around - the Ritz, Fortnum and Mason and Patisserie Valerie are right there.
Many lovelier places sprout up all the time but for my family and me this is almost home!

Room Tip: We always insisit on a Green park or Hyde park view room/ suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkLaneHotelManager, General Manager at The Park Lane Sheraton Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Candy_Khullar,

Thank you for reviewing your stay. I am delighted to read that you and your family stay with us on many ocassions and you find the rooms to be quaint and charming.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back hopefully soon!

Warm regards,
Kieran Quinn
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

No idea where they got their 5 stars from - could be the entrance as the lounge area is very impressive. Bedroom was tired, bathroom was worn, no tea/coffee facilities - unless requested - they did arrive but not a biscuit in sight. Only one robe and no slippers in the wardrobe - just poor service really

Room Tip: go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkLaneHotelManager, General Manager at The Park Lane Sheraton Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear feeanddee,

Thank you for reviewing your stay. I was disappointed to learn that your stay did not meet your expectations; especially in regards to your room allocation.

On a more positive note, I was happy to learn that you enjoyed our public areas, especially the Palm Court bar which is our art deco lounge.

Warm regards,
Kieran Quinn
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We booked via lastminute and, having seen previous reviews, were a little worried. BUT I think a lot of reviewers have overlooked the fact that this is not a purpose built shiny new resort hotel, but a beautiful original building with many classical features located in the densely populated heart of Mayfair. This means that not every room will have a view and I guess if you wanted a view over Green Park, it would come at a premium. The Palm Court is simply beautiful; high ceilings and wide corridors are also features of the building. The hotel staff were extremely accommodating. We had requested a twin room but found it to be a double. Within 10 minutes of raising this, housekeeping staff appeared and cheerfully split the bed and remade it into two singles. We requested a complimentary tea/coffee tray (as advertised in the room) way after midnight and it was delivered promptly. The room itself was large and comfortable, and admittedly a little tired, but clean and comfortable - we really couldn't complain. A great base for a weekend shopping and close to the nightlife.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkLaneHotelManager, General Manager at The Park Lane Sheraton Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear JanisLo,

Thank you for reviewing your stay. I am delighted to have read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and found the team to be attentive and professional throughout your stay. I do hope to have the chance to welcome you back!

Warm regards,
Kieran Quinn
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Park Lane Sheraton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Lane Sheraton Hotel

Address: Piccadilly, London W1J 7BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#353 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Park Lane Sheraton Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Park Lane Hotel is centrally located near Buckingham Palace and stroll over to the boutiques of Bond Street, Knightsbridge, and London's West End theatres. As evening falls enjoy a conversation over a world famous English afternoon tea at the Palm Court, or share the tastes of Italy at the Citrus Restaurant. From 1st September 2014, The Park Lane Hotel will be undergoing a transformation. We are very excited to be making a major investment in the hotel which will result in completely renovated guest rooms and public areas. During this period, the hotel will remain open and will continue to offer all of its current services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Park Lane Sheraton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Lane Sheraton
Park Lane Hotel London
Sheraton Hotel London
London Sheraton
Sheraton London
The Park Lane Sheraton Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Park Lane Sheraton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.