We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A reasonably priced gem in one of the worlds most expensive square miles” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Mayfair Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Washington Mayfair Hotel to your Saves list
Washington Mayfair Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5-7 Curzon Street | Mayfair, London W1J 5HE, England (Mayfair)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #471 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Gibraltar
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A reasonably priced gem in one of the worlds most expensive square miles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Hotel is located at 100m from Piccadilly, some 10 min walk from Piccadilly Circus. Has a coffee shop opposite as well asa supermarket and convenient store. Great take away on the corner too if you want to avoid extortionate hotel prices. Location is great, rooms are spacious for London standards and look like they have just been refurbished. Convenient for the Jubilee line as Green Park station is just down the road, I was working in canary wharf and much preferred to stay in town than in the docklands a short journey in the morning but a great evening in the centre of London.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    227
    129
    52
    44
See reviews for
63
189
42
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hartley Wintney, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Arrived early morning not expecting to be able to check in but the room was ready. Upgraded from a classic room to a Superior, great start. Room beautifully decorated, comfortable, clean and quiet. Requested an ironing board and it arrived immediately. Ordered a bottle of wine and again, it arrived within minutes. Breakfast was delicious, couldn't have asked for more. Only gripe would be trying to get the TV put on in the bar - was a right fuss and if that was a 'large' glass of wine; wouldn't want to see a small one! Apart from that it was marvellous plus we were able to leave our bags in the safe room, after we had checked out, which meant we didn't have to drag them around.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel many times and this became my preferred hotel in central London. It's at a walking distance from Green Park tube station but in a very quiet and peaceful area if you want comfortable sleep for the night. Rooms are all shapes and sizes but provide ample space. The breakfast is good but the menu doesn't ever change. The biggest plus point for me has been that in past one year, early check-in has never been a problem. You arrive at 8am in the morning and they will give you a room, which is a blessing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We booked a Superbreak Theatre and Hotel package and were allocated to the Washington on a special deal, normally this Hotel would be out of our price range. We found that this Hotel was very understated in appearance but as we looked round and we found that all the facilities were actually wonderful, blankets instead of duvets - tasteful; underfloor heating; very modern decor, breakfast wonderful etc etc. We both enjoyed our stay at The Washington; which is situated just off Piccadilly
and in the lovely area of Mayfair. Definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

This is a most impressive hotel and my room was superb. The good folk on concierge are really helpful and overall the hotel was very pleasant and has that luxurious but homeless feeling. The is free Wifi in the hotel and it worked.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, Somerset
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Had three nights here on business.

First impressions were not great. No Staff at the door, Foyer is a bit drab , a line of fake leather sofa's look naff. Gives the impression of a hotel that has seen better days.
On arrival at reception the girl's English was not great and she could not understand some of my questions. One of which was about a Spa treatment booked in advance for my wife, she had never heard of any such spa! The duty manager had to come out and confirm the booking. Not an impressive start.

The rooms though seem to have had a recent refurbishment and were quite comfortable. However on day two there was no hot water in the morning, and the TV never worked properly throughout the stay. No great loss as there were few channels on it.
The underfloor heating in the bathroom is lovely, and the shower nice and powerful (when there is hot water!), the bed is comfortable save for the Hollow Fibre type pillows which were obviously cheap.

Breakfast is OK. A buffet affair with all the requirements for a Full English Breakfast. Though if it is not included in your room rate it will cost you £20 on the day! There are some restaurants opposite that do a nice breakfast for half that amount. The coffee for some reason is awful! Cafe Nero opposite!

There was no hairdryer in the room which ruffled the wife a bit, they did bring one on request.

The hotel bar is poor. No atmosphere, small, very expensive £5.50 for a small bottle of lager. Most disappointingly there were no Ales (Draught or bottled) in fact there were no British Beers at all. There are a number of nice pubs in the nearby Shephards Market though.

We had a group meal the first night in the hotel restaurant 'Madison's' - again poor. We appeared to be the only people using the restaurant, though one couple were eating in the bar area at very low tables from armchairs! Again there are a number of nice restaurants nearby in Shephards Market.

The location is great, Oxford street etc very close by

This could be a nice hotel but still needs a lot done, namely staff training (English would be a start), and overhaul of the Foyer and Bar areas. At in excess of £200 a night it is expensive for what it is.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

When I planned a 5 day London trip in September, I was looking for a place in a good location close to major transportation and not too far from the classic London sights. This hotel was a great pick!

First of all, it was really easy getting to from the airport. We took the tube, right inside Heathrow - the Picadilly line, and got off at Green Park station. From there, it was a 2 block walk to the hotel.
We never needed to change trains to go to the hotel.
However, if you plan to go to the airport with the subway, which we recommend as this way you don't get stuck in traffic, take the same train, but get off at Acton Town station and walk over to the other side of the platform to take the train that goes to Heathrow (at Acton town, Picadilly line splits into two, one goes North to Uxbridge, the other to the airport)

The hotel is pleasant. The staff was very, very corteous, the gentlemen at the concierge desk were always ready to help explaining the London sites, booking dinner reservations, etc.
We managed to burn our voltage converter in the first try, but they lent us one for the duration of our stay.

We found that the rooms were a good size, considering we were right in the heart of London, and comfortable. They were also nicely decorated as well. We enjoyed the sweet treat in our room upon our arrival, a nice touch.
We had 2 beds, and that's good if you are traveling with a friend, as it is more common to find rooms in the city, at least in that part of London, with one bed (double, queen or king)

The location is perfect when you don't have a lot of time in the city, but you want to see the major sites. Being so close to them cuts down on traveling time and when we wanted to go to places such as the Tower of London, The British Museum, we were close to the underground (subway) and the places were a couple of subway rides away.

When we arrived, we dropped our stuff in the room and went for a walk. We went back the two blocks towards the Green Park station, right by the grounds of Buckingham palace. We walked there and to the Westminster Abbey, Parliament buildings and Big Ben, which are all close to each other. And to us, this was the best feature of the hotel. The reason why we chose it and would recommend it to others.

We had a continental breakfast included in the rate. It was good for a continental breakfast. Restaurant is bright and spacious.

Recommended for couples, business people, solo or friends. Family, if yours is small....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Washington Mayfair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Mayfair Hotel

Address: 5-7 Curzon Street | Mayfair, London W1J 5HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#291 Luxury Hotel in London
#298 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Washington Mayfair Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The central Mayfair location speaks for itself with Piccadilly minutes from the front door, Hyde Park and St James Parks less than 10 minutes away and the Bond Street shops and theatres of the West End within walking distance. Constructed in 1913,The Washington Mayfair's decor has echos of its Art Deco heritage while the upgraded rooms offer new air conditioning, sleek new bathrooms with power showers and well equipped accommodation. Rooms are of a good size, especially for central London and decorated in warm and welcoming earth tones. Free WiFi, fluffy bathrobes, deluxe toiletries, hairdryers, laptop safe, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities are provided as standard. In house valet service or iron & ironing board available on request. 24 Hour Room Service and a relaxed and welcoming Bar Lounge and Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, LondonMarketing.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Washington Mayfair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Mayfair London
Hotel Washington Mayfair
Washington Mayfair Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Mayfair Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.