We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Chesterfield Mayfair

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Chesterfield Mayfair to your Saves list
The Chesterfield Mayfair
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Charles Street | Mayfair, London W1J 5EB, England (Mayfair)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4 nights for 3
Ranked #9 of 1,050 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
cumbria
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Return trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Having visited this hotel 2 years ago and found it to be a pleasant stay we desided to return for a three day break. Unfortunatly this time we were disappointed on arrival. The first three rooms we were given were not clean and looked tired. We were prepared to leave but the reception staff insisted we spoke to the manager. We were then offered a forth room which was very clean and spacious. The manager was very sympathetic and professional. The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We had breakfast served in our room and the lady who brought this was so very nice. Once we got over the initial problem upon arrival we had a very comfortable stay. We had a lovely complimentery afternoon tea. The bar area is very relaxing and serves very tasty Tapas. Staff at this hotel are outstanding.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,709
    286
    61
    23
    13
See reviews for
338
946
121
259
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pelham, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Terrific location...walking distance to many attractions, including shopping. Nice rooms but European size so slightly small. Breakfast was consistently good, and the bar is a friendly and lively place. Bar food is also a plus. Also walkable to several good restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Selva Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

This was a very helpful and Accomodating hotel. Clean and friendly. Staff went out of their way to be helpful.
Bartender brought out a cupcake to celebrate our friend's birthday. Manager of restaurant got me a recipe of something I had for dinner. I would highly recommend anyone who wants to stay in a safe and warm place.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This delightful corner of British England has not changed in the thirty years that we have stayed here when in London. If anything, it has just got better and better. Yes, the rooms can be small (this is Mayfair after all, central London!) and the genuine British décor (Colefax and Fowler anyone) might not be for everyone, but this is the real deal: concierges who wear their Cross Keys proudly, dining staff who remember your tea preference, the chef who specially orders kippers for that particular guest. British propriety but not snobbery, friendly but not overeffusive; the right balance for your comfort and enjoyment always. And the location is excellent for all shopping and sightseeing. We will be back!

Room Tip: rooms on top floors at back overlooking the mews are quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

What a fantastic afternoon tea we had here. Lovely setting, great pianist playing varied songs and excellent food.
Would recommend this to everyone who loves a traditional, tea, and the Willy Wonka Theme is fun too... Especially the gobstoppers and golden tickets!!

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

During our recent trip we spent 4 nights at the Chesterfield. First visit to London, stayed here based on the fact that friends had already booked here. I can now see why all the reviews I had read were so positive. Everything about Chesterfield is superb, from the location, the old world charm, but most of all the marvellous staff who could not do enough for us, but also by just being genuinely friendly and polite. Really felt like we were at home and loved the bar which was very cosy after a busy day sighseeing. Special thanks to Michael who was so friendly & helpful, and for making our stay memorable.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver R, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post this wonderful review.

It is fantastic to learn that you chose to stay at The Chesterfield on your first trip to London based on friends recommendation and had a fantastic stay with us. Our Mayfair location is ideal and I am glad it was convenient for getting around the London sights. I am thrilled that you found the staff to be kind and helpful and I am sure that they will be grateful for your thoughtful words. I will be sure to pass on your kind words with all of my team here, especially Michael.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

Kind regards,

Oliver

Oliver Raggett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Everything about this hotel was perfect, the staff were wonderful, the breakfast was first class and for the first time ever in a hotel we didn't have to ask for anything to be replenished as the staff were there before we actually ran out of anything. The afternoon tea was amazing and again everything was topped up without having to ask . Also had delicious meal in restaurant, they went to great lengths to do me something I liked as being vegetarian and bit fussy there wasn't anything I fancied on menu but they were only too happy make sure I had something I enjoyed. Looking forward to staying again

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver R, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your fantastic review of your experience at The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

I am delighted that you chose to join us at The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel and that you had a terrific stay with us. My Restaurant Manager will be thrilled to hear that you found the afternoon tea to be amazing and that we ensured as a vegetarian we were able to prepare you something special. Thank you for your kind words regarding the excellent service that you experienced during your stay and how you never had to ask for anything, I will be sure to pass on your kind words to all of my team here.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

Kind regards,

Oliver

Oliver Raggett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Chesterfield Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chesterfield Mayfair

Address: 35 Charles Street | Mayfair, London W1J 5EB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in London
#8 Family Hotel in London
#9 Luxury Hotel in London
#38 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chesterfield Mayfair 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded "Best in Class" 2010 in the AA Inspectors’ Choice Awards, The Chesterfield Mayfair continues to be celebrated for its style, comfort, and exalted levels of personal service and is Mayfair’s only hotel to receive this prestigious award in 2010. Discreetly tucked away near Berkeley Square and a mere stone's throw from Green Park Tube station, the quiet, calm and efficient service blended with supreme comfort characterize this deluxe four-star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, LondonMarketing.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Chesterfield Mayfair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel London
Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel
Chesterfield Mayfair London
The Chesterfield Mayfair London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chesterfield Mayfair, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.