We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Festive cream tea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chesterfield Mayfair

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Chesterfield Mayfair to your Saves list
The Chesterfield Mayfair
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Charles Street | Mayfair, London W1J 5EB, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4 nights for 3
Ranked #11 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Essex london
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Festive cream tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Lovely Christmas atmosphere on arrival staff very polite creamtea very nice good selection of sandwiches freshly baked scones tasty cupcake chocolate log festive tart small taster of mulled wine a nice treat

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,528
    270
    55
    23
    12
See reviews for
287
853
113
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ripon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed here with family for a couple of days of festive christmas shopping. The rooms are small but beautifully furnished. The staff were all exceptionally friendly and helpful. The concierge booked a couple of restaurants for us and gave some great tips on local hang outs. The hotel is located on a quiet street, but within easy access of shopping and the tube.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver R, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post this fantastic review.

It gives me great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that we were the perfect location for a Christmas shopping trip to London. All of our rooms are unique and decorated by our president and founder Mrs Beatrice Tollman and I am thrilled that you found the decor to be beautiful. Thank you for your kind words regarding our helpful staff, especially the concierge team who ensured you made the most out of your London trip. I will be sure to thank them on your behalf.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

Kind regards,

Oliver

Oliver Raggett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

A beautiful hotel in Mayfair, Great service. Good freshly cooked breakfast, friendly staff, busy atmospheric bar. Good attention to detail, including bed turn down & fresh towels. Really good find & reasonably priced for Mayfair so close to Christmas! Would recommend & return. Thank you to all the staff for a lovely if not short stay! Vey quiet given its location. Room was quite compact but had everything we needed.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver R, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your fantastic review of your experience at The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

It gives me great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your recent pre Christmas stay with us and that you loved the festive atmosphere throughout the hotel. Breakfast in Butlers Restaurant is a great way to start your day and I am glad that you found the food to be delicious. We take great pride in our attention to detail here at The Chesterfield and I am thrilled that you appreciated our added touches throughout your stay. Thank you for your kind words regarding the great service that you experienced.

I hope to welcome you to The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Oliver

Oliver Raggett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My favourite part of this hotel was the bar, loved it, friendly, humming, comfy and not over priced. Bed in room was very comfortable and the basics work, good shower, well placed mirror, warm floor etc. Very clean, staff were friendly and helpful. I will go back

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver R, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your stay at The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

I am glad that you loved our Terrace Bar and found it cosy and the perfect spot to relax with a drink. My Executive Housekeeper will be delighted to hear that you found the room to be well appointed and the beds to be comfortable. Thank you for your kind words regarding the helpful and friendly staff; I will be sure to pass on your kind words.

Thank you once again for your review and we hope to welcome you back to The Chesterfield
Mayfair Hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
393 reviews 393 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
707 helpful votes 707 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Not impressed for the price. The location is just ok, a bit removed from where I tend to spend time when in London. But that I knew before booking. I did expect more of the hotel itself, though. I found the room shabby and small. The window had a crack, there was a crazy mirrored wall, and the decor was very tired. We had no cold water initially and the sink did not drain. This wax fixed, but no compensation - even a small cookie or something - was offered. The restaurant was eye-poppingly expensive so we didn't try it. There was an issue flushing the toilet. I've experienced the same problem at another hotel in London owned by the same chain and was told that this is a common issue with older buildings (not an excuse if you are charging 5-star prices). Disappointing

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a fantastic hotel, the room was nice and big. Fresh flowers were in the room. Location was about 15 to 20 minutes from most things, the staff were very helpful also. Breakfast was included in the rat as well, breakfast was really good too. We had room service at least twice as well. fish n Chips were very good. Most nights we got a small gift in the room. We also did high tea. That wad nice. Scones and desserts very tasty. Some of the rooms are older but very nice.

It is a family owned hotel. At tea, we saw the owner if the small chain having tea and conducting business.

I also loved the pictures of all of the dogs around the hotel.

I can't wait to go back and visit.

Room Tip: Try and get a bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver R, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your terrific review of The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

It gives me great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and found our location to be ideal, with the main London sights within walking distance of the hotel. I am glad that you had the opportunity to enjoy room service and found the food to be delicious, especially our home made scones. The Chesterfield Mayfair is a family owned hotel and I am thrilled that you felt at home in our boutique hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Mayfair area is lovely neighborhood centrally located in London and The Chesterfield fits right in. Our room was spacious, handsomely decorated with two full bathrooms, we were generously upgraded to a suite! The staff was inviting, helpful and extremely accommodating some of the best customer service I've ever experienced. Check in/out was a breeze. I highly recommend The Chesterfield and hope to be returning soon.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver R, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your brilliant review of The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

It gives me great pleasure to learn that had a pleasant stay with us and that you found our central Mayfair location to be ideal. My Executive Housekeeper will be delighted to hear that you found the room to be well decorated and that you appreciated the larger room. Thank you for your kind words regarding the helpful and friendly staff that you experienced; I will be sure to pass on your comments to all of the team here.

I look forward to you joining us again at The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel in the near future.


Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chesterfield Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chesterfield Mayfair

Address: 35 Charles Street | Mayfair, London W1J 5EB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in London
#6 Romantic Hotel in London
#11 Luxury Hotel in London
#54 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chesterfield Mayfair 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded "Best in Class" 2010 in the AA Inspectors’ Choice Awards, The Chesterfield Mayfair continues to be celebrated for its style, comfort, and exalted levels of personal service and is Mayfair’s only hotel to receive this prestigious award in 2010. Discreetly tucked away near Berkeley Square and a mere stone's throw from Green Park Tube station, the quiet, calm and efficient service blended with supreme comfort characterize this deluxe four-star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, LondonMarketing.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Chesterfield Mayfair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel London
Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel
Chesterfield Mayfair London
The Chesterfield Mayfair London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chesterfield Mayfair, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.