We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply incredible staff make this a five star experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chesterfield Mayfair

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Chesterfield Mayfair to your Saves list
The Chesterfield Mayfair
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Charles Street | Mayfair, London W1J 5EB, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4 nights for 3
Ranked #8 of 1,065 Hotels in London
melbourne
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Simply incredible staff make this a five star experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I have just departed from the Chesterfield after an unintentionally long stay. After arriving in London from Australia, I had the misfortune to fall seriously ill and spent over a week in hospital. After calling the police to find me when I did not return to the hotel, the manager arranged for some of my belongings to be brought to me in hospital, along with a very thoughtful gift bag with fresh fruit and candy and a card signed by many of the staff. He also arranged for my room to be booked through for the ten days I had to stay in London after being discharged, before I was ruled fit to fly. All of this was handled with no drama or fuss and it was such a relief, in my sadly weakened state, to know all of this was taken care of. When I returned to the hotel, I was basically bedridden for the first week, and the lovely housekeeping staff just cleaned around me, often as I slept. I would wake to find fresh water by my bedside, and clean towels. The room service staff brought me meals and politely ignored my pajamas and shawls and the lovely Lourdes brightened my mornings with her good cheer. When I was finally able to get up and about, the concierge and doormen, and the desk staff (especially Sabine and Sarah) were so sweet and helpful. Really, if you are going to have a life and death experience far away from home, then this hotel is the perfect place to recuperate.

Bouquets of thanks and gratitude all around.

Room Tip: I booked an executive king and the weekend rate (228 including breakfast, taxes and other weekend fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write of your experience at The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

When you stay with us at The Chesterfield Mayfair we welcome you into our family. I am pleased to hear that everything in our power was done to ensure that your stay here was as comfortable and stress-free as possible.

I am incredibly proud that my housekeeping team were able to provide you with all your essential needs with minimal disturbance and that room service were attentive and respectful. I will be sure that all the team, especially Sabine, Sarah and Lurdes, are congratulated for all their good work on your behalf.

I am delighted to hear that you have made a good recovery and all the team here send you their best wishes.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,488
    259
    53
    23
    12
See reviews for
280
831
112
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed for one night on business. Lovely hotel. Great bed but room mostly taken up by bed. Nice bar and excellent room service breakfast. Expensive for room but great location and I would stay again if I could get room for reasonable price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

I am pleased that you enjoyed the fantastic location in the heart of Mayfair and found the beds comfortable and the room service excellent. For your next stay you may wish to subscribe to our newsletter or contact our reservations team directly to keep informed of special offers. We also have different room categories and if you would like a room with more space we will be able to arrange this for you.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

I had never had a high tea in London before and wasn't sure what to expect. The Chesterfield Hotel made my birthday very very special and i would highly reccommend! Nothing was too much of a problem for the staff. Even dietry requirements were catered for without question eg gluten free. We had a fantastic waiter who had good knowledge on the cakes and teas. It was a lovely touch to be given a cake with a candle and for all to sing happy birthday. Also to take cakes home in a lovely box with a flower.
The whole experience was faultless, huge thanks to all staff x

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your time at The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

I am delighted that you chose us for your first experience of the tradition of Afternoon Tea and that you had a brilliant time. Our Executive Chef has ensured that all the sandwiches and cakes are of the same high standard whether you choose vegan, vegetarian or gluten-free and our Restaurant team excel at describing the different teas and traditions that go with it. I will be sure that all the staff will be pleased to hear that you had a brilliant birthday treat and I am pleased you enjoyed your gift to take home with you.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to The Chesterfield Mayfair.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We have had lunch at this hotel before,and it was excellent. So we decided to stay, and it didnt dissapoint, the staff are all very friendly,and nothing was too much. The room was great, and had everything you would need for your stay. I would recomend the afternoon tea, but book before you go, as it gets busy. We had bar snacks in the evening, which is a relaxed atmosphere, breakfast was 1st class, we couldnt fault this hotel, and we will be returning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write of your return visit to The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

I am delighted that we were able to tempt you back to enjoy the accommodation here at The Chesterfield Mayfair and that we were able to exceed your expectations. Thank you for sharing your advice to book early for Afternoon Tea; we are becoming a popular location for friends and family to enjoy a sweet treat and people are now booking well in advance. We take great pride in providing a warm and friendly atmosphere throughout the hotel and my team will be pleased to hear that they have succeeded when I share your review with them all.

I am pleased to know that I will be welcoming you once more to The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We have just spent the weekend at this hotel and can only echo previous comments in that we found our stay excellent. If you can get the weekend break deal it is even better value. This included afternoon tea and a bottle of bubbly and breakfast (I must say I would not pay £22 for breakfast which is the normal rate!!). As others have said, the staff are friendly without being overbearing and the bar is a lovely place to return to after a hard day sightseeing or for a nightcap after the theatre. Will definitely come back for another theatre break. Location is good too - 5 mins walk from Green Park tube.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 7th floor and was exceptionally quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting such a positive review of your time at The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

I am delighted that your stay with us lived up to the high expectations set by previous reviewers on Tripadvisor. Thank you for the advice to check our website for special offers on weekend breaks, London is such a vibrant city there is always plenty to see and do here. We have a great location as you have said but we also benefit from being situated back from the main streets so you do get a good night’s sleep as well. Thank you for highlighting what wonderful service my team provide, we all take great pride in ensuring our guests have a brilliant stay and I will make sure your kind comments are passed on to them.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Chesterfield Mayfair in the future.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

A thoroughly pleasant experience. A friendly welcome on arrival from all staff members. Room was perfect - attention to detail not usually found in hotels (such as scissors, sellotape..!). Only negative was extractor noise outside the window - meaning not possible to open the window at night. Cosy bar - lovely reading room - good quality food. All in all a really good option for staying in a small quality hotel in London..

Room Tip: If opening the window is important ask for a room not backing onto the the fan!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to highlight your experiences at The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

I am pleased that you received a warm Chesterfield welcome from our team and enjoyed all those little touches that make you feel relaxed and at home. Thank you for the feedback on the room you stayed in, when you wish to make your next booking, please do contact our reservations team directly and we will ensure that your next stay matches your requirements perfectly.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Best value for money I have ever experienced.
Service genuinely warm, friendly and efficient. Staff not looking for tips.

Great location, great restaurants, great choices on the menus, atmospheric bar, clean comfortable rooms.

I had nothing to complain about at any time; but plenty to be thankful for. Nothing was too much trouble for both management and staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give feedback on your visit to The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

I am delighted that you have had such a positive experience with your stay. We take great pride in the service we offer to our guests and our attention to detail and to read this review shows that our mission is succeeding. Your brilliant comments about my team will be shared with everyone and shows that we are achieving the high standards we set ourselves.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Chesterfield Mayfair in the future.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chesterfield Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chesterfield Mayfair

Address: 35 Charles Street | Mayfair, London W1J 5EB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in London
#7 Luxury Hotel in London
#7 Romantic Hotel in London
#40 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chesterfield Mayfair 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded "Best in Class" 2010 in the AA Inspectors’ Choice Awards, The Chesterfield Mayfair continues to be celebrated for its style, comfort, and exalted levels of personal service and is Mayfair’s only hotel to receive this prestigious award in 2010. Discreetly tucked away near Berkeley Square and a mere stone's throw from Green Park Tube station, the quiet, calm and efficient service blended with supreme comfort characterize this deluxe four-star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Splendia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your The Chesterfield Mayfair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel London
Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel
Chesterfield Mayfair London
The Chesterfield Mayfair London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chesterfield Mayfair, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.