We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This the best small hotel in London” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chesterfield Mayfair

Save Saved
You added The Chesterfield Mayfair to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chesterfield Mayfair
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Charles Street | Mayfair, London W1J 5EB, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 1,073 hotels in London
Camborne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“This the best small hotel in London”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

It used to be a gentleman,s club and has still character off it but the rooms are fabulous have stayed 6times and in different room each time but all as good the weekend special are good you get free afternoon tea and Champagne in your room when you arrive it is close to green park and to new bond street not cheap to stay but for a special occasion they will pull out all the stops I celebrated my 65th birthday and my pearl wedding there last nov and they made us feel like stars

Room Tip: It is expensive to stay here but well worth the money sleep quality sometime the beds are a little t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the Mayfair Weekend package with all the benefits it includes. Thank you for choosing our hotel to help celebrate your birthday and anniversary, our team always enjoys making these occasions truly special.

Thank you for returning to The Chesterfield Mayfair and I look forward to greeting you on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,773 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,436
    249
    53
    23
    12
See reviews for
272
802
108
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cheltenham
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

my wife and I stayed for a long weekend at this brilliantly positioned hotel, just off Piccadilly and virtually on Berkeley Square. the weather was foul, but there's always so much to do in London that this didn't take the edge off it. Returning to the hotel after battling the snow was a treat. A very comfortable welcoming place with genuinely friendly, knowledgeable and helpful staff. For that part of London, the set lunch is a bargain at £19. for two courses or £21 for three courses. In comparison, the full English breakfast at £22 might be thought by some to be expensive.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

I am delighted that you found the welcome in our hotel to be warm and inviting after spending time outside in the snow and thank you for highlighting the great area we are located in. We pride ourselves on our service and attention to detail and my team will be pleased when I share your kind comments with them.

I look forward to welcoming you to The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My partner and I spent five nights at the Chesterfield over Christmas and had a wonderful time. We always go away for Christmas and usually stay in Country House Hotels but decided on having a break in London this time round. We could find no fault with any aspect of the Chesterfield because of the attention given to even the smallest detail by the wonderful staff.
All the food was superb but we were very impressed to see the Christmas day turkeys actually being carved in the restaurant - perfect. We will definitely go back and would highly recommend a stay at this hotel to anyone - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great feedback from your stay at The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel over the Christmas period.

Our Executive Chef and Restaurant Manager will be pleased to hear your great comments regarding the delicious food you enjoyed during your stay and that you were impressed by the carving of the turkey at the table. I am delighted that your Christmas in London was so enjoyable and I will be sure to pass on your kind words to all the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay at The Chesterfield Mayfair.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

You Can't find a better hotel in this area of London without paying a small fortune. I highly recommend this hotel. It was Clean, safe, quiet, in a great location, with a friendly and attentive staff - all you can ask for in a hotel. I will definitely stay here again. Loved the old world interior design and decorations. It gave the hotel a lot of charm. I did not get a chance to try the restaurant or bar but it looked nice and did have a lot of people in it. The red carnation was a nice touch.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on your stay at The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

I am delighted that you find us a great balance of character, location and service. It is always great to receive such positive feedback from our guests and I will be sure to pass your lovely comments on to all our staff members.

I look forward to welcoming you in the future and hope that on your next visit you are able to sample the delights of afternoon tea or dinner at Butlers.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My Husband and I have stayed here twice,and on each occasion we found from the time you get out of the taxi the service is impeccible,nothing to too much trouble for the staff,and they are all so nice,The hotel is beatifully decorated and very scupmtuous,The breakfast cooked to order is delicious,and there is so much to choose from.We highly recommend the aftenoon tea in the Conservatory,it is very special.Cannot wait to visit this wonderful hotel again,it a real pleasure to be there.

Room Tip: We like a room near the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your most recent stay at The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoy everything from the moment you step into the foyer. Our Executive Chef and Restaurant Manager will be pleased to hear your great comments regarding the delicious food you enjoyed during your stay and I will be sure to pass on your kind words to all the team.

I look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to The Chesterfield Mayfair.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Another wonderful stay at this lovely hotel in the heart of Mayfair. The service and attention to detail are second to none. Enjoyed every aspect of the hotel from the tastefully decorated bedroom with partial view of Green Park to the great breakfast and afternoon tea. Looking forward to return visit next month.

Room Tip: Reservations very helpful, will suggest appropriate rrom
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great feedback from your recent stay at The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

I am pleased that your experience here has been of a consistently high standard and that we will see you return soon. It is always good to receive such positive feedback from our guests and I will be sure to pass your lovely comments on to all our staff members, especially the reservations team who are always eager to help.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Chesterfield Mayfair next month.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The lobby with it's beautiful holiday decorations and wonderful hot chocolate was the beginning of a lovely week at the Chesterfield. We enjoyed afternoon tea in the atrium, very pleasant service in the dining room and excellent room service. The rooms are small but well appointed and very clean. The location was perfect for walks to Piccadilly, Bond Street, Hyde Park and Harrods. We hope to return one day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely feedback from your stay at The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel over the Christmas period.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel to be the perfect location for exploring London. Thank you for your kind comments on the afternoon tea and level of service experienced while you were here, I will ensure that your compliments are passed on to all the team, especially the room attendants.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back to The Chesterfield Mayfair in the future.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chesterfield Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chesterfield Mayfair

Address: 35 Charles Street | Mayfair, London W1J 5EB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in London
#7 Romantic Hotel in London
#9 Luxury Hotel in London
#50 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chesterfield Mayfair 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded "Best in Class" 2010 in the AA Inspectors’ Choice Awards, The Chesterfield Mayfair continues to be celebrated for its style, comfort, and exalted levels of personal service and is Mayfair’s only hotel to receive this prestigious award in 2010. Discreetly tucked away near Berkeley Square and a mere stone's throw from Green Park Tube station, the quiet, calm and efficient service blended with supreme comfort characterize this deluxe four-star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Occupancy Marketing, Agoda, Travelocity, Splendia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your The Chesterfield Mayfair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel London
Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel
Chesterfield Mayfair London
The Chesterfield Mayfair London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chesterfield Mayfair, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;