We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely Christmas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chesterfield Mayfair

Save Saved
You added The Chesterfield Mayfair to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chesterfield Mayfair
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Charles Street | Mayfair, London W1J 5EB, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 1,073 hotels in London
Droitwich, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A lovely Christmas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed for Christmas Eve and Christmas Day and returned on Boxing Day, we were looked after and made to feel very welcome, the food was amazing and High Tea was lovely. We had a lovely time and a beautiful London location, really glad we stayed and loved every minute of it, thanks for making it a lovely Christmas!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a lovely review from your stay with us over the Christmas holiday.

We pride ourselves on our great team and friendly service. Our Executive Chef will be delighted to hear your kind remarks on the quality and selection of food at Butlers restaurant. Christmas is such a special occasion, I am glad you enjoyed every minute of your stay. It is always good to receive such positive feedback from our guests and I will be sure to pass your lovely comments on to all our staff members.

I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,777 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,439
    250
    53
    23
    12
See reviews for
272
804
109
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We chose this for location - easy walking distance to shopping streets (Regent St/Bond St/Piccadilly) and good choice of restaurants etc. On arrival, we were warmly welcomed by the friendly staff and shown to our room which, although not huge, was beautifully decorated and comfortable. In fact, it soon became clear that the hotel mantra is to make guests as comfortable as possible and coffee/tea making facilities, bathrobes/slippers etc all provided plus various internet facilities in-room and (hurrah) free Wi Fi. Even an ironing board and iron were placed in the wardrobe. A lot of thought had gone into every detail which all made for a relaxing stay. My only gripe with the room was a hum from extractor fans outside and from the aircon - both were 'just enough' white noise to be OK.

There is a comfortable bar with a club like feel to it and a pianist in the early evening. We didn't try the restaurant as we had a function to attend but breakfast the next day provided everything from Eggs Benedict, pancakes and other dishes to suit all tastes - more importantly the service was attentive and quick, a rarity in major UK city hotels I've found.

All in all, what had been booked as a quick stopover turned out to be a very relaxing and enjoyable trip. Credit is due to the staff, all of whom were efficient, friendly and helpful.

I will definitely be returning and give full marks to this hotel in its class.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your brilliant review from your recent stay with us.

I am thrilled to read that your stay was a wonderful experience and I am pleased that our high level of service created such a favourable impression and made for a relaxing stay for you. We take great pride in providing our visitors with exceptional service and understand that every detail is important even for guests planning a short stopover.

It is always good to receive such positive feedback from our guests and I will be sure to pass your lovely comments on to all our staff members, I look forward to welcoming you back to The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel again for your next stay with us.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Keeping in mind that one should never expect large rooms in an old London hotel, the Chesterfield is excellently located, comfortable, characterful, and has helpful, efficient staff. Very handy for the art galleries around Green Park, the boutiques of Bond Street, and within walking distance of several London tourist draws and theatreland.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a brilliant review following your stay at The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

I am delighted that you appreciated the central location of the hotel, I am sure other travellers will benefit from your descriptions of the amenities on our doorstep. We pride ourselves on our great team and friendly service. It is always good to receive such positive feedback from our guests and I will be sure to pass your lovely comments on to all our staff members.

I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Wonderfully located old hotel in charles street.
Excellent service with staff going out of their way to help you.
Rooms are very small however, and poorly soundproofed towards the corridor.
So you can hear what people are doind or talking about in their rooms walking down or when trying to sleep you can also hear what people say in the corridor - not ideal.
Bathrooms are also really small with one fixed showerhead which is not suited for anyone over 6 feet of height.
Otherwise the rooms are nice, the beds comfortable, and the restaurant and common areas just charming.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room away from street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay with us.

I will be sharing your kind comments with my team about their helpful and friendly service, I know how pleased everybody will be to hear that their efforts to deliver an exceptional experience have been appreciated.

Thank you for your comments about the rooms you were staying in. We do have different categories of rooms; if you have a specific request please enquire with our reservations team when making your next reservation to ensure a more comfortable stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

It´s a very nice Hotel will lovely service! I only stayed for one night because it was a business trip. The Hotel is located near shopingcenters and it feels like it is close to everything. The breakfast was also excellent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a lovely review from your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that you found the service and location to be exactly suited to your business needs. Our Executive Chef will be pleased to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast. I hope to welcome you back to our hotel for a longer stay on your next visit to London.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I stayed at the Chesterfield for 1 night with my husband. We walked in to the luxurious lobby and were immediately wowed. It was beautifully decorated with one of the biggest Christmas trees we have ever seen and the live piano playing which was filtering through from the relaxing bar made us immediately feel that we were staying somewhere very special. We had a fast, efficient check in which was necessary as we had a half hour turn around time before going to a show. We stayed in 'The Study'. The room was as luxurious as everything we had seen so far, fabulously decorated with a huge window with a view out on to a lovely London street and the walls were adorned with carved books which gave it character and interest and made it so different from staying in a basic 'modern' hotel room. The bed was amazingly comfortable and my husband who is 6'4", fit comfortably into the huge sleigh bed. We opted to have breakfast in bed which was a wonderful treat. The variety and choice was amazing and it tasted fantastic too. All staff were friendly and helpful - we had a wonderful stay and would highly recommend the Chesterfield.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback from your stay at The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

I am delighted that we made such a great impression when you arrived and our fast check-in service enabled you to go out and enjoy the pleasures of London immediately. Thank you for your comments on the luxurious surroundings in the rooms and I am glad that your husband found a good night’s sleep in the comfortable bed.

I will be sharing your kind comments with my team about their helpful and friendly service, especially the Food and Beverage Manager and the Executive Chef. I know how pleased everybody will be to hear that their efforts to deliver an exceptional experience have been appreciated.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I ended up checking into the hotel very late and was upgraded to the Dormer Suite which was fantastic; big bedroom, huge comfy bed, full wardrobe, two showers in bathroom and one deep bath, hallway connecting the bedroom to a large lounge with leather couch, table, writing desk and well stocked minibar. I had a great time staying here and my breakfast was delivered bang on time and was delicious (eggs Benedict). Very classy hotel, attentive and friendly staff, and a bargain for the area and quality of the rooms.

Room Tip: The suites are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a brilliant review following your stay at The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

I am pleased to read that your stay was fantastic and you enjoyed all the features of your room. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments onto all the staff for their friendly and helpful attentions, especially to the Food and Beverage Manager.

I look forward to welcoming you on your return visits in the future.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chesterfield Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chesterfield Mayfair

Address: 35 Charles Street | Mayfair, London W1J 5EB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in London
#7 Romantic Hotel in London
#8 Luxury Hotel in London
#50 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chesterfield Mayfair 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded "Best in Class" 2010 in the AA Inspectors’ Choice Awards, The Chesterfield Mayfair continues to be celebrated for its style, comfort, and exalted levels of personal service and is Mayfair’s only hotel to receive this prestigious award in 2010. Discreetly tucked away near Berkeley Square and a mere stone's throw from Green Park Tube station, the quiet, calm and efficient service blended with supreme comfort characterize this deluxe four-star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Occupancy Marketing, Agoda, Travelocity, Splendia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your The Chesterfield Mayfair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel London
Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel
Chesterfield Mayfair London
The Chesterfield Mayfair London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chesterfield Mayfair, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.