We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chesterfield Mayfair

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Chesterfield Mayfair to your Saves list
The Chesterfield Mayfair
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Charles Street | Mayfair, London W1J 5EB, England (Mayfair)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 33% OFF!
Ranked #12 of 1,054 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I stayed at the Chesterfield for 1 night with my husband. We walked in to the luxurious lobby and were immediately wowed. It was beautifully decorated with one of the biggest Christmas trees we have ever seen and the live piano playing which was filtering through from the relaxing bar made us immediately feel that we were staying somewhere very special. We had a fast, efficient check in which was necessary as we had a half hour turn around time before going to a show. We stayed in 'The Study'. The room was as luxurious as everything we had seen so far, fabulously decorated with a huge window with a view out on to a lovely London street and the walls were adorned with carved books which gave it character and interest and made it so different from staying in a basic 'modern' hotel room. The bed was amazingly comfortable and my husband who is 6'4", fit comfortably into the huge sleigh bed. We opted to have breakfast in bed which was a wonderful treat. The variety and choice was amazing and it tasted fantastic too. All staff were friendly and helpful - we had a wonderful stay and would highly recommend the Chesterfield.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback from your stay at The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

I am delighted that we made such a great impression when you arrived and our fast check-in service enabled you to go out and enjoy the pleasures of London immediately. Thank you for your comments on the luxurious surroundings in the rooms and I am glad that your husband found a good night’s sleep in the comfortable bed.

I will be sharing your kind comments with my team about their helpful and friendly service, especially the Food and Beverage Manager and the Executive Chef. I know how pleased everybody will be to hear that their efforts to deliver an exceptional experience have been appreciated.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,825
    306
    64
    23
    13
See reviews for
379
1,001
129
271
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I ended up checking into the hotel very late and was upgraded to the Dormer Suite which was fantastic; big bedroom, huge comfy bed, full wardrobe, two showers in bathroom and one deep bath, hallway connecting the bedroom to a large lounge with leather couch, table, writing desk and well stocked minibar. I had a great time staying here and my breakfast was delivered bang on time and was delicious (eggs Benedict). Very classy hotel, attentive and friendly staff, and a bargain for the area and quality of the rooms.

Room Tip: The suites are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a brilliant review following your stay at The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

I am pleased to read that your stay was fantastic and you enjoyed all the features of your room. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments onto all the staff for their friendly and helpful attentions, especially to the Food and Beverage Manager.

I look forward to welcoming you on your return visits in the future.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I frequently have to stay in London and have tried most of the 4/5* hotels and the Chesterfield is, in my opinion, the best. The staff are extremely helpful, the rooms nicely decorated, beds and (very important) the pillows are very comfortable.On the last visit I had dinner in Butlers Restaurant and the food was delicious, the chicken with pistachio crust and foie gras was absolutely superb. It is now my regular place to stay.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for the time you have taken to give us your wonderful feedback on your visit at The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

I am delighted to read that you find your stay so comfortable and the service so good. I am sure our Executive Chef will be pleased with your kind comments on the quality and standard of dining in Butlers Restaurant. It is always good to receive such positive feedback from our guests and I will be sure to pass your lovely comments on to all our staff members.

Thank you for making the Chesterfield Mayfair your hotel of choice in London.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

First stay at this hotel. My main objective when looking for a good hotel is a really good bed....and that is what I got. It was heavenly. Deep mattress, proper pillows.....slept like a log! Bathroom has everything you need. Staff are very helpful. No minibar but they have prompt room service so it doesn't matter at all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review from your stay with us.

I am delighted to hear that you found your stay so refreshing and that you had everything you needed for a good night’s sleep. Thank you for your kind comments for our helpful staff and prompt room service. If you do prefer to have a minibar in your room, please let us know your wishes when you make your next booking and we will accommodate your wishes.

I look forward to welcoming you to The Chesterfield Mayfair on your future visit.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

this hotel was 100% everything i was looking for in a hotel in london. every member of the staff was exceptional. we worked the concierges hard and they never disappointed. check in was quick, a room was ready even though we were early, the bed was super comfy, and the room was beautiful. our view stunk, but who cares? hotel is located less than 5 minutes from the green park tube station, a great central line that we could go everywhere from. we walked to hyde park(where there was a winter carnival going on at the time), buckingham palace(but it is a long walk), and even to piccadilli. the hotel accommodated out gluten free requests without fail. the high tea was fantastic! i can not think of one thing they could have done to improve. i highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: remember that european hotel rooms and beds tend to be smaller than what we're used to in the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay with us.

I am pleased that we were able to exceed your expectations and accommodate your specific requirements. Our Executive Chef will be delighted that you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea and I will pass on your kind comments to all our staff, especially the concierge desk.

Thank you for recommending The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel, I hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notingham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We had a fantastic stay at the Chesterfield last year but I decided to check-out alternative hotels and offers before booking what seems to have become an annual “Mayfair Ladies” event. “Us” four ladies are of a certain mature age which we completely refuse to disclose and are all current, or ex-businesswomen – including two restaurateurs. Our expectations are high but not unrealistic. The Chesterfield offers were too good to resist, so, we booked their Mayfair weekend package. This included afternoon tea for two, a bottle of premium champagne per room and a 6pm checkout. Often a return visit to a hotel doesn’t match expectations and there are certainly areas in the hotel that would benefit from a little decorative “touch-up”. However, I am delighted to say that the standard of guest service cannot be faulted. We had a very embarrassing mix-up with room allocations on the first night for our two guests from Mallorca. Lorna, the very lovely Irish Duty Manager sorted everything out to our complete satisfaction - not an easy task! She completely won us over and we have already given her our “Mayfair Ladies” booking for next year. Also, there are huge improvements in the bar area. Paul, the bar manager just excels at what he does. We were very, very impressed by the standard of service and attention he gave us and everyone else and look forward to meeting with him again next year. In summary, the Chesterfield appeal to a wide range of clientele - there was a wedding, a baby shower, a hen party and us…! Certainly, us ladies feel it is a very safe and comfortable place for independent female travellers – irrespective of age. Without doubt, there are “posher” hotels in the area but no matter what you pay you will really be hard pressed to find one that offers the amazing guest service and individual attention that you will find at the Chesterfield.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room facing the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your brilliant review from your recent stay with us.

I am thrilled to read that your stay was a wonderful experience and I am pleased that our high level of service created such a favourable impression. We take great pride in providing our visitors with exceptional service and understand that every detail is important to ensure all our guests have a brilliant stay.

It is always good to receive such positive feedback from our guests and I will be sure to pass your lovely comments on to all our staff members, especially Paul and Laura.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel again for your next stay with us.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The Chesterfield is tucked away in a quiet Mayfair street, but still within easy reach of the West End.
It offers a excellent friendly service with a touch of luxury. It has everything you could want for a business or leisure break in London. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review from your stay with us.

We take great pride in our great team and friendly service. It is always good to receive such positive feedback from our guests and I will be sure to pass your lovely comments on to all our staff members.

I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#8 of 1,054 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 1,240 reviews
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,054 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 1,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#4 of 1,054 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 1,059 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,054 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 836 reviews
South Kensington
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#3 of 1,054 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chesterfield Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chesterfield Mayfair

Address: 35 Charles Street | Mayfair, London W1J 5EB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in London
#10 Green Hotel in London
#12 Luxury Hotel in London
#13 Romantic Hotel in London
#37 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chesterfield Mayfair 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enviably located in exclusive Mayfair, near to designer shopping and many of the city's most iconic attractions, the Regency style hotel feels comparable to a traditional private club. Quiet, calm and efficient service blends with supreme comfort and luxury. Guest rooms and deluxe suites combine superb facilities with relaxing surroundings. The Library, Butlers Restaurant, Conservatory and intimate bar cater for every culinary whim or inclination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Splendia so you can book your The Chesterfield Mayfair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel London
Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel
Chesterfield Mayfair London
The Chesterfield Mayfair London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chesterfield Mayfair, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.