We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Portman Hotel, London

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Portman Hotel, London to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Portman Hotel, London
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Portman Square, London W1H7BG, England (Marylebone)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #407 of 1,065 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersSilver level
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Location good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Location is very good for Oxford Street shopping (its just a block or 2 behind Selfridges). We had book 2 premium rooms (supposidly identical). 1 was a lot bigger than the other! Also one of the rooms had bathrobes and slippers and the other room we had to request them. The downstairs of the hotel is nice. We did not use the restaurant or bar and so may places to eat we did not need to spend £20 per person on breakfast.

I came away for a week end of theatre, shopping and some rest. I don't object to outside noise but I was woken up early by other guests knocking on doors and could hear the TV from next door.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluPortman, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Portman Hotel, London, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write the review regarding your recent stay with us.

Our locations is indeed great as we are close to both Oxford Street and Marble Arch. We do have different kind of rooms even in the same category and for your next time if you have any requests when it comes to the rooms, you are always welcomed to contact us in advance and we would be happy to note the requests to your booking.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel soon. Until then if there is anything else I can help you with, please do not hesitate to contact me.

With kind regards,

Laura Johansson

Guest Relations Manager
+44 (0) 207 208 6000
laura.johansson@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    320
    167
    81
    30
See reviews for
132
256
54
282
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The hotel is nice enough and the location is good, BUT, they tried to charge me £50 extra per night to put a fold up bed in the room for my son. I had booked the room as two adults and one child, but there was no mention of this extra charge until I checked in. A nominal charge of perhaps £10/night might be acceptable, but £50/night is ludicrous. I could go out and buy a bed for the cost of the not particularly comfortable fold up bed. After complaining I got a reduction from 3 nights fees to 2 nights fees, but still I consider it a mean trick to play on families staying at the hotel. I shall avoid Radisson in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluPortman, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Portman Hotel, London, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write the review regarding your recent stay with us.

I am glad to see that you were pleased with our central location, but regret to see that we were not able to meet your expectations. For the families and our little guests we do offer the possibility to stay free in the parent’s room on existing bedding for children 17 and under. In case our guests prefer the extra bed we do charge £50 per night, which is a competitive price when compared to the other Hotels in central London. The price is mentioned in our brand web site and I am sorry to hear that the charge was not clear enough when you booked the room. We will certainly follow up on this. May I kindly ask you to contact me directly, if you would wish to discuss your recent experience further?

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of hosting you soon again. Until then if there is anything I can help with, please do not hesitate to contact me.


With kind regards,

Laura Johansson

Guest Relations Manager
+44 (0) 207 208 6000
laura.johansson@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Had a three-course meal here with friends, very nice food and what really made it a great experience was the friendliness of the staff we met and the impeccable service from the waiting staff. Recommended, and a good location within a five minute walk of Marble Arch tube station.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluPortman, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Portman Hotel, London, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your uplifting review regarding your dinner.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your dinner at the Portman Corner Restaurant. The staff is indeed very friendly and attentive and we couldn’t be happier that this was overall a great experience for you. We are happy to hear that you were also pleased with our central location near the Marble Arch Tube Station.

We hope to see you back soon again.

With kind regards,

Laura Johansson

Guest Relations Manager
+44 (0) 207 208 6000
laura.johansson@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Third stay this year. Small problems rose with lighting in the room but were fixed almost immediately. Great location, mostly great service attitude and we will certainly come back. We prefer the rooms higher up!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluPortman, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Portman Hotel, London, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us.

We couldn’t be happier to hear that you had a great stay with us yet again. We are delighted that you are pleased with our staff and service. We do take great pride in our staff and I agree that friendly and helpful service truly makes a difference.

We hope to see you back soon again.

With kind regards,

Laura Johansson

Guest Relations Manager
+44 (0) 207 208 6000
laura.johansson@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orebro, Sweden
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I spent two nights in this hotel on a trip together with my son, in London to watch football. Was fortunate enough to use points from both Carlson Club and SAS Eurobonus, so cannot comment on the quality compared to price.

However, was upgraded to a business class room, which is a good-size room with a little extra amenities. Breakfast (the super-duper breakfast, or something like that), was OK, but not all that special. Very crowded on Sunday morning, much better on Monday morning.

Location is excellent, just two blocks from Oxford Street. Would absolutely stay again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluPortman, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Portman Hotel, London, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to write to us regarding your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed you stay with us and that you were pleased with the complimentary upgrade given. The Business Class rooms are indeed more spacious and the extra amenities make the room even more special. Location is indeed excellent with Oxford Street only a short stroll away.

We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you soon again.

With Kind Regards,

Laura Johansson

Guest Relations Manager
+44 (0) 207 208 6000
laura.johansson@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We had a long wait to check in, we arrived approx 1.30pm. Our room was a standard room but was very small and basic in my opinion, we enjoyed our stay here last year but we were lucky to have been given a business class room which seemed slightly bigger and better decorated.
We had a bad heat/air con unit which constantly whistled on and off all night even though I had turned the unit off, I did let the front desk know and they kindly offered us breakfast, however that didn't make up for getting no sleep ( In a premier inn the room would of been free ! ).
Good location but not sure if we will stay again as the standard of room was average and I know there are better around.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluPortman, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Portman Hotel, London, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to write the review regarding your recent stay.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us the first time, but regret to see that we were not able to meet your expectations during this stay. We do offer a range of different room types that vary in size and upon the next visit we would be happy to show you some of the other room types to find a room better suitable for your needs. We would sincerely like to apologize for the issues with the air conditioning system and the inconvenience it caused. Rest assured this will certainly be followed up by our Chief Engineer to ensure that such issues would not reoccur. May I kindly ask you to contact me directly to discuss further your recent experience with us?

I do hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again and upon the next visit we hope to meet and exceed your expectations.

With kind regards,

Laura Johansson

Guest Relations Manager
+44 (0) 207 208 6000
laura.johansson@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The hotel is perfectly situated for both shopping and adventures. We spend almost a week during Easter. The friendly hotel staff had prepaired an egg hunt and some other fun activities. Thank you so much. Rooms are a little dated but well kept.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluPortman, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Portman Hotel, London, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your uplifting review regarding your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us during the Easter and that the Egg hunt as well as the other Easter activities made your stay even more memorable. We are very proud of our indeed friendly and attentive staff as well as our central location close to the Oxford Street.

We hope to see you back soon again. Until then, if there is anything I can help you with, please do not hesitate to contact me.

With kind regards,

Laura Johansson

Guest Relations Manager
+44 (0) 207 208 6000
laura.johansson@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Portman Hotel, London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Portman Hotel, London

Address: 22 Portman Square, London W1H7BG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in London
#247 Romantic Hotel in London
#263 Luxury Hotel in London
#297 Business Hotel in London
#362 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Portman Hotel, London 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Modern Hotel situated on Portman Square, convenient to Oxford Street shopping & Hyde Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, LondonMarketing.com, Rezidor, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Portman Hotel, London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Portman Hotel, London Hotel London
Radisson London
London Radisson
Radisson Blu Portman Hotel, London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Portman Hotel, London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.