We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this hotel if you can” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Euston Square Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Euston Square Hotel to your Saves list
Euston Square Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   152-156 North Gower Street, London NW1 2ND, England (Camden / Primrose Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #705 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Avoid this hotel if you can”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

One of the poorest hotels I have stayed in. The staff were friendly and helpful in the face of adversity.
No Internet although advertised and I was constantly fobbed off when enquiring it it would be up and running over my 3 day stay.
Rooms very small and basic for the price paid.
Always someone at reception complaining or reporting a room fault.
A hotel to be avoided.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    150
    162
    107
    81
See reviews for
50
176
60
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed one night at this hotel for an event in London. We were taking the train to Liverpool the next morning so this hotel was was right next to the Tube stop and only one block from the Euston train station. They also have a nice breakfast for guests at the hotel (full English breakfast). The convenience of the location made it nice for this trip but the room was TINY even by European standards. We only stayed the one night but I don't know if I could have stayed for long. I gave it a 3 rating only for the location and breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Although the location of this hotel is excellent, this is where it ends! The rooms are tiny and run down, the showers dribble water and there were times when hot water wasn't available. The wifi didn't work for the whole of our stay. Breakfast is minimal and not worth paying for and the service was very poor. One of the worst hotels I have stayed in and I am not particularly fussy!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Rooms tiny. No curtains on the windows. Hotel foyer filthy. Paper thin walls. TV worked only sometime. I would never stay here again. The only decent thing is its location. So over priced for what you get. NEVER AGAIN

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peebles, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Okay so you are planning a trip to London. The Capital of the UK. An experience that you wont want to forget so please take my advice and stay anywhere other than this hotel.
First of all it really shouldn't be called a hotel. Hovel would be more appropriate. My room was a bit like a cave although I have been in bigger caves. If you like fresh air or enough room to stretch then forget it. The rooms are musky and have a weird haze which smells a bit like sweaty tights.
The beds are small and mine was a little damp. The television didn't work very well and was on a bracket above the bed at the headboard end. This meant to watch it I had to sit on the end of the bed and look up. The bathroom was like a portaloo fitted in as an after thought. Cheap and very nasty shampoo - Thank god I carry my own as the mere thought of applying my hair with the green slime the hotel provided actually gave me the dry boak.
Wifi has not reached this part of London - to be honest I don't think the hotel actually has the facility but just says it has to keep up with the Jones's. The staff are all from distant lands and communication with them just left me exhausted.
Customer Care is of no interest to any of them so don't expect any. The noise from Euston Road outside is incredible. My father has been deaf for most of his life but even he found it too noisy. The double glazing has no effect on shutting out the din from the street or the drafts which is quite remarkable but totally in-keeping with the rest of the inadequate parts of this place. The air conditioner sounded like concord taking off and seemed to produce a small tornado with the haze that lingers in the rooms. The bar / breakfast room had an odour that I couldn't describe in words and the food was poor to say the least.
London is a great city. It has many great attractions and beautiful places to stay but this is not one of them. This Hotel must be owned by the devil. When you are totally worn out from complaining to no avail and decide to just go to bed and hope for a better day - The real horror sets in as you discover that the days just roll into each other through the impossibility of actually getting to sleep. Euston Road is arguably the busiest road in England and it feels like the traffic is actually in your bedroom. Don't stay here unless you happen to like being cold and cramped and the feeling of utter depression.
If London is fully booked and the only room available happens to be here - Go Home!!

Room Tip: Your own bedroom at home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I know hotel rooms in London are small and pricey, but £99 for a hotel room that can only fit a double bed (pushed up against 2 walls), small wardrobe, small dressing table and tiny bathroom is way too much. As other reviews have mentioned, the location is very convenient but that means it's on a main road and noisy all through the night. After reading other reviews I had even taken earplugs with me but they didn't drown the sound of traffic and people wandering up and down the corridors. The bathroom was modern but the shower was so powerful it hurt when the water hit you and the shower head couldn't be moved meaning you got soaked with freezing cold water when you turned it on. There are also no shelves in the bathroom so you have to put everything on the floor. The corridors are tatty and give an impression of a hostel. There are far better, and cheaper, hotels in London.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Small hotel in an excellent location close to 3 tube stations and lines. This hotel was clean the bathrooms spotless.Beds quite small for doubles but okay for couple of nights. Flat screen TV ok and hairdryer kettle worked ok. Price quite high compared to nearby Ibis offerig lower priced deals. Hotel states breakfast included in price, but you have to pay further £6.50 pp for a cooked breakfast - otherwise its a very scant affair of bit of toast/pastries and some fruit/yoghurt. Tea and coffee help yourself, the coffee not great bit weak and the juices not great either. Not chilled and very cheap juice used. I'd skip the brekkie altogether and treat yourself to a decent coffee elsewhere. Probably use Ibis next time purely down to better prices but for a budget/basic city hotel this one is OK but dont expect luxury. Nice touch was bathroom had some quite nice toiletries and loo roll was plentiful and soft!! Staff were friendly and helpful too.

Room Tip: ground floor disabled access rooms may have a bigger space and also can be interconnected
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Euston Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Euston Square Hotel

Address: 152-156 North Gower Street, London NW1 2ND, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden / Primrose Hill , Marylebone , Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #705 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Euston Square Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish & contemporary with a friendly, enthusiastic, can-do approach to make your stay enjoyable, productive and memorable. A hotel that resonates to your personality, lifestyle & individuality no logos, no brands, no attitude. The ideal easy-to-reach location with a unique balance of style, substance & value. In-room entertainment system with broadband Internet, email/web via TV, music library, video games, pay-movies, data port & more. CCTV monitoring & electronic swipe locks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Euston Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Euston Square
Euston Square London
Euston Square Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Euston Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.