We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small noisy rooms” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Euston Square Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Euston Square Hotel to your Saves list
Euston Square Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   152-156 North Gower Street, London NW1 2ND, England (Camden / Primrose Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #705 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Small noisy rooms”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights wish it was only 1.
Television did not work. Bar closed. Took 45mins to check in. Room small and squalid

I stay away a lot and this hotel although cheap for London was bad. Travellodge offers better value and comfort

Really cannot see how this is a 3 star

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    150
    162
    107
    81
See reviews for
50
176
60
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The first room (on the 4th floor) we were given was tiny, with a big tear in the material of the headboard of the bed, black mould in the shower and stained carpet. On asking for a new room, the staff were fairly polite but did not act surprised and explained that the 4th floor was not recently renovated. We were shown several alternatives (most tiny and in poor condition) but settled on a room which was better but still very scruffy. The continental breakfast buffet seemed ok and of course the location is excellent but overall the hotel is borderline for a 3 star standard hotel.

Room Tip: Away from Euston Road (at the front of the hotel) and not on the 4th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stayed here while in london for 2 nights. It was clean, tidy, and great value for money.
Its right next to euston square and euston underground.
Really nice indian restaurants next to the hotel too.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I recently stayed at the Euston Square Hotel for business and was very disappointed. The condition of the room was poor, and that's being generous (the pictures I took speak for themselves). Toiletries are provided in fixed, refillable containers - great, kudos for recycling and what not. But if you are going to do this, then you have to make sure they are not mold-ridden and dirty. My shampoo, for instance, had a white 'substance' floating in it that, err, didn't look like soap. No thanks. The shower head spouts water in all directions, and because space is so tight, good luck trying to not get your hair wet. But what you can't tell from the pictures is the awful customer service. As I was there for business, it was very important for me to be able to use my laptop. Pretty standard, and this is London after all, right? Well, not only did they not have US to UK adapters at the desk (which their website clearly advertises they have), I was then unceremoniously sent to "just buy one yourself" at one of the tourist traps nearby. Just what you want to do after a long overseas flight, a half hour before stores close. And about the advertised free wi-fi, NO SIGNAL IN THE ROOM! Were it not for the fact that I can get wifi on my phone, that would have been it. But had I to send a document or something larger, I would have been out of luck, probably would have been told to go to some coffee shop, given the cavalier attitude of the man at the front desk. I do a lot of traveling for business, and only bother to review places I find extremely good. This is the first I have felt prompted to just save someone the trouble with this one. Similar value for money nearby, which I will be using from now on. Good lord.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

If you do not mind small rooms and want good travelling connections, this is the best hotel in London: cleaning is better than usual in London hotels. Unfortunately the breakfast is not great, and WiFi was not working properly during all the weekend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed at the hotel during the unfortunate circumstances of a loved one in intensive care at UCL and the staff here could not have been more compassionate. We didn't even book the room until midnight, at a really reasonable price of £69 for London, and the front desk staff were really helpful and friendly and then they allowed 4 of us to share the room whilst we took shifts of staying at the hotel. it was a very traumatic time for all of us and they made it so easy to come and go with no hassle at all. In the morning, even though we had only paid for a double room they let the four of us all have breakfast at no extra cost. Super friendly and understanding with the kind of attitude to others that money cannot buy!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

If you are looking for a stay next to UCL. ESH is the place. UCL is just across the street.
The hotel is nice enough for a sleep, n it is on top of Euston square station n five min walk to other stations of other lines (warren, Euston station).
The staff changed our smaller room to a bigger corner room after the first nite. There are free wifi - very important feature for overseas travellers. The staff are very friendly always there when we have reqests.
Breakfast is nice spread of toast egg ham cheese creal milk coffee tea. Nothing fancy but enough.
If there is one "bad" thing, it is just next to the main road, hence fairly noisey even with windows closed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Euston Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Euston Square Hotel

Address: 152-156 North Gower Street, London NW1 2ND, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden / Primrose Hill , Marylebone , Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #705 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Euston Square Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish & contemporary with a friendly, enthusiastic, can-do approach to make your stay enjoyable, productive and memorable. A hotel that resonates to your personality, lifestyle & individuality no logos, no brands, no attitude. The ideal easy-to-reach location with a unique balance of style, substance & value. In-room entertainment system with broadband Internet, email/web via TV, music library, video games, pay-movies, data port & more. CCTV monitoring & electronic swipe locks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Euston Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Euston Square
Euston Square London
Euston Square Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Euston Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.