We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Guilford House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Guilford House Hotel to your Saves list
Guilford House Hotel
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   6 Guilford Street | Russell Square, London WC1N 1DR, England (Bloomsbury)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #427 of 524 London B&B and Inns
Paris, France
2 reviews
“cheap hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I was in this hotel for business in the city. The location is quite good (a few walks from chancery lane)
the rooms are clean and ok. The bathroom is not really nice, we have the impresion of being in a plastic cabin but again it is clean.
it is a good value for money for a last minute plan but you can find better

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    3
    24
    22
    59
See reviews for
17
21
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

was really not looking forward to staying here and now i no why how they get away with health and safety i havent a clue our bedroom was down in the basement with bars on the windows and friends were up on the 3rd floor with no means of a fire escape wouldnt stay here again if u paid me

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

After reading the reviews I was worried about what we might get but really it wasn't that bad. Yes it could do with a clean up and updating a bit, but it's only a 2* and you get what you pay for, if you want 5* then you need to pay 5* prices. All the other reviewa have said the bathrooms are bad, they are small but if you are only planning on using it for what it is intended and not wanting to throw a party in there then there is no problem, the water from the shower was powerful and lovely and hot! Breakfast was the other thing that mose people how have left a review complained about, We had yogurts, fruit, toast, cereal and crossaints more than enough to fill up the hungry tummies in our family and certainly no complaints. If you want somewhere cheap just to spend the night then it's absolutly fine!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I had to book into this hotel at late notice as another hotel had double booked me. I had 2 very heavy bags and was put in a 3rd floor attic room, with no offer of help up the narrow and precipitous staircase. The rates were reasonable for London, however I wouldn't have said the accommodation was worth HALF of what I was charged. My main problem was that on arriving I was charged one price for the room, and on leaving I was informed that they had undercharged me and was required to pay a further £10. I found this sloppy and poor customer service, and I felt cheated. The TV was good, however the bathroom was like one found in a small caravan and the walls were paper thin, the banging and clanking from other guests was quite annoying. I didn't go for the breakfast as it looked to be in a poky little basement room. I went across the street to Costa instead and sat in the sun! Much more pleasant.

Room Tip: There are no lifts, request a low floor if you too have heavy bags/limited mobility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Reading all the negative reviews about Guilford Hotel, my expectations were very low. The Guilford hotel is about 10 min walk from King's Cross/St.Pancras International (the Eurostar station), which was one of main reasons for me for choosing this place. The rooms are indeed small, and the bathrooms are tiny, but if you only need a place to sleep it's o.k. For me it was important to have a desk to work on and complimentary wifi, both of which were in place.The breakfast is very basic (instant coffee, white bread etc). For the rates it charges, the hotel could do a bit better, but the main problem with this hotel probably is that nobody really cares.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in the basement and have a look at different rooms if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here in september and would rather sleep rough we arrived and were shown to our room which was in a hotel 2 doors down ( the grenville) the place stunk of bleach mould and other things ie sewage our room although a twin had 6 beds why who knnows we didn't stay in long the next day breakfast a slice of toast and dried up cereal and sour milk contenenatal we walked out and found a cafe i forgot to mentuon the bathroom haha if you call it that a small room with a shower hose above the toilet ....stay here if your desperate

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Guilford House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guilford House Hotel

Address: 6 Guilford Street | Russell Square, London WC1N 1DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #427 of 524 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Guilford House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Guilford House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guilford Hotel London
Guilford House Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guilford House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.