We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as bad!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grapevine Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Grapevine Hotel to your Saves list
The Grapevine Hotel
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   117 Warwick Way | Victoria, Westminster, London SW1V 4HT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #408 of 535 London B&B and Inns
Liverpool
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not as bad!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

I stayed for 3 nights in February 2010 and it was a wonderful experience.
I was limited on budget so I booked this place, I did read a lot of reviews and I was very scared.
When I got here my whole perception changed. Staff is very nice and helpful. Rooms are very small but with that money (£20 Per Night) it is worth it. I had lcd tv in the room, tea maker etc etc. All amenities were there and they were clean as well. I recommend it for everyone who is looking for cheap place to stay. Good value for money!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    57
    59
    54
    160
See reviews for
72
80
50
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rastatt
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

I stayed there for 3 nights and my first thought was "for so little money, I can't expect a good accomodation in the middle of London". But I was so wrong.
I was very surpriced how nice the rooms were. Sure, you can't compare it with hotel standard as it is just B&B. So everything is basic and space is rare in London City. That is why rooms are small. But they are clean, I had my own shower and toilet (on demand), hair dryer, daily fresh toiletries, a mirror and flat screen TV. Breakfast was good and sufficient. And most important: People were very, very friendly and very helpfull.
As I said you can't compare it with hotel standard, but for so little money, it is the best accommodation you'll ever find in London City if you decide for B&B.
If I ever come back to London, I'll stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katowice
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2009

Very nice staff, low price, rooms were OK. No problems.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

I stayed in this hotel on my way back to Canada as it is located near the Victoria train & coach station with 2 star. The room I had was a approx. 50 ft2 single room, the washroom is the same size as the plane that you can't turn around. On top of that is the service that I did request to have breakfast at 7.20 am, just 10 min. earlier before the opening time of 7.30 am as I had to catch earlier flight. I have been told it is OK by the reception. But as a matter of fact, I had been kicked out from the breakfast room by a woman with East European accent. It was already 7.25 min. Conclusion, never trust the so called 2**. And if you like to enjoy communist cold service, extremely small room without any desk, chair, dirty carpet, it will be the right choice for you.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

Location-wise, the Grapevine Hotel is really not that close to Victoria Station. I would have to say it is a good 15-20 min walk, though dragging heavy luggage across Buckingham Palace Rd and Eccleston Bridge makes it feel like an eternity.
Check in is at 1pm and was a breeze. The proprietor whose name I can't remember, was a kind man who was so pleasant that I can almost forgive them for their falsely advertised "short distance" walk from Victoria Station.

I booked a single room with an ensuite. My room was on the second floor and upon seeing the narrow, spiralling stairs I started to feel sorry for those above me. How many floors were there? There is no elevator, so one must carry their luggage up these steep stairs. Me, being a solo female and not of a very large stature was left to my own devices in carrying one large piece of luggage, backpack and bag up the scariest 10 min of my life.

My room had 3 twin beds which was a pleasant surprise. And that was about it.
The carpet is completely worn out and I feared taking my shoes off. The window had no screen and was open at all times. I tried closing it but it would not budge, so for the next 2 days I prayed that no misguided birds or insects would be flying my way.
The bathroom, oh my where do I start? There is a serious mould problem in the ceiling, walls, shower curtain everywhere!

To be fair, I was aware that it is rated a 2-star hotel and not surprised at the standards. London is such a terrific city that I hardly spent any time in the room at all. The Grapevine is ok for a short stay. But that's about it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

unfriendly staff, worse service.

  • Liked — nothing at all
  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

the room was so small the bed hardly fit in it and we had to open our suitcase on the bed. we banged our heads off everything in the bathroom (if you could call it that) and it was so dirty. not exactly the romantic weekend we had hoped for. we weren't expecting luxury, just a basic room with some floor space but it was far below basic. i have never had a lot of money and have always stayed in budget hotels which are acceptable but this was beyond a joke. i wouldn't even recommend it to a homeless person, they would be better off staying in their cardboard box.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grapevine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grapevine Hotel

Address: 117 Warwick Way | Victoria, Westminster, London SW1V 4HT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #408 of 535 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grapevine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family owned boutique bed and breakfast hotel located in the heart of London within walking distance of major sightseeing attractions including Buckingham Palace, the Houses of Parliament, Big Ben, Westminster Abbey, the London Eye, Tate Britain and Harrods to name a few. We are located within 3 minute walking distance from the Victoria Coach Station and within 5 minute walking distance from the Victoria Train/Underground/Bus.We have undergone major refurbishment and modernisation, completed in June 2012. With imaginative planning we have updated all our rooms to provide private shower and WC facilities (either en-suite or exclusive suite) and offer a great choice of standard, superior and deluxe rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Grapevine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grapevine Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grapevine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.