We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good value, IF you choose the pay in-advance non-refundable option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London to your Saves list
Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   94 - 99 High Holborn, London WC1V 6LF, England (Camden / Primrose Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 40%
Ranked #324 of 1,066 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A good value, IF you choose the pay in-advance non-refundable option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

Citadines is a well known brand of extended stay hotels, if your French. Their rooms come at TWO price points. If you pay in advance a none refundable rate, its affordabe. HOWEVER, if you want the right to reserve, not pay till after you've used the room, and have the option of cancelling, then its about twice as much. So while most folks here paid 150 pounds a night, I paid only 75. The cheap fair is ONLY available via THEIR OWN web site.

The location of this hotel is STELLER. Its a 2 minute walk to the Holburn station (one stop away from the 1/2 price ticket booth at Leiscter square for you theater addicts), and there's a FULL sized grocery store (Sainsbury's) right next door to the station. There are also a full selection of resturants, including two take out sushi joints, a macdonalds and a krispy kreme for homesick Americans, a bunch of sandwhich shops, pubs, pizza, and a really tasty french takeout bakery type place. About a 5 minute walk away (in either direction) are post offices, and for those who don't know, in the UK post offices generally include money exchanges that do NOT charge horrible fees. Banks won't do it for you unless you've got an account with them.

I've been here 24 hours and am writing from the hotel room. I'm in one of the studio apartments. By UK standards, the room is very roomy, its normal size for the U.S. The interior design is highly Ikea / institutional, but very functional. In fact it reminds me of a really nice dorm room WITH a tiny kitchen. The room includes a desk, a 42" flat screen TV with ALL the british cable channels, 2 chairs, a couch that converts to pull out bed (and is as comforable as those things usually are), and a table upon which has a hardwire modem on it (they provide the wire).

Two small complaints. Firstly, there's an overall shortage of electric plugs, so much so that the desk for your laptop does not have a free plug for it, forcing me to unplug a lamp. There's another single plug by the bed, so I could recharge my cell, but I've had to use the plug in the kitchen for my handheld. Secondly, the bed came with one light blanket, and I found myself calling down late at night for more. Between the call, and the delivery, was more than a 1/2 hour, I know this for sure because a full TV show passed. So, you might want to ask for the extra blankets well before you head to sleep. However, the place is very clean, and fairly functional, and I have yet to hear a peep from any the ajoining rooms.

The aforementioned kitchen is small but well appointed. It has with a micro, an eletric kettle, a toaster, a stove, 2 of every dish, cup, ect, a small sauce pan and medium size soup pan, but no fry pan; there are also some cooking tools, etc.

The bathroom is relatively roomy for a hotel, and VERY clean. I'm on the top floor, and the water pressure is a bit wonky. During my shower, I was aware of every time someone below me turned on their tap or flushed a toilet, because there were tempreture variations... not so much that it was problematic but enough so that I was aware. The water pressure however stayed constant throughout.

During the last 24hours, there have been internet issues at the hotel. I've no way of knowing if this is a contant. It's truely free, which is a nice change in a country where they advertise internet, you get there find its for a 'small' fee, and the fee works out as actually more expensive than your rate back home. Last night they had to reboot the servers, and this morning it was so slow that it took a full 3 minutes to load a basic web page. I called down, and after 2 reboots its finally come back up to speed.

On the issue of customer service, this is a French chain. No offense to the French but their concept of customer service can be something of a slap in the face to Americans, and even worse if you're Japanse. When you call the front desk, expect for it to ring for a while before someone decides that, "oh yah, I'm the only one down here and no one else seems to be answering it, so I should think about picking up since that is part of what I'm getting paid to do.. but maybe if I wait a little more someone else will do it.... oh, guess no... ok if you force me, Hello." Seriously, having spent a bunch of time traveling in France, its a lax attitude you just need to get used to. They eventually do everything you asked them to do and it fairly well, and 1/2 the time that service includes a smile, but its never done in a rush.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    264
    94
    34
    33
See reviews for
171
181
48
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

We stayed at the Citadines Holborn for 2 nights in August 2009. It is in an excellent location at the end of Oxford Street in London and very close to the tube station with easy access to public transport and within easy walking distance of Covent Garden, Oxford Street and Soho. Our apartment provided an excellent base for 2 very busy days in London and we were able to find our way easily from our arrival at Euston Station. The apartment was spotless, had all the basic self cater equipment needed for the meals purchased at Sainsburys across the road. The staff were extremely helpful and very efficient.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

We stayed there for two weeks in a "Studio for 2 Persons". Here's our experience.

First of all, you need to pay for the room in advance, at check-in, for at least a week. If you are staying shorter, you will probably be asked to pay for the entire stay. You may or may not know this fact while booking, so be prepared. You may also want to insist to actually see the room before paying a substantial sum of money in advance. Also, be prepared to find yourself locked out of your room without prior notice when the paid for period expires -- this is what happened to us... It was sorted out quickly, but a simple phone call reminding us that a payment is due would've been far more polite.

The Location.
The location is absolutely SUPERB. One can hardly imagine a better one. It's literally 30 seconds away from the Holborn Tube station (Picadilly and Central line services). There's a Sainsbury's grocery store, which is very important if self-catering is what you plan. Also, there is a Boots chemists store. Pret-a-Manger, MacDonalds, and other food shops, pubs and restaurants. There's even an O2 mobile provider store, where you can get a "pay-as-you-go" SIM card for your mobile phone right away. Most of these stores are literally one minute away from the hotel. And of course, you can start your sightseeing tour right away, with the British Museum being 15 minutes away, as well as the Oxford Street. And Covent Garden is a lovely neighbourhood to start with (although I am not quite sure if the location of this hotel technically counts as Covent Garden).

The Room.
Our room - "Studio for 2 persons" was surprisingly spacious (see pictures). There was nothing extravagant about furniture -- but aside from a slight hygiene problem here and there, it was pretty comfortable, if slightly worn out. The pull-out sofa bed was surprisingly comfortable to sleep in.
The kitchenette was decently equipped, as far as electric appliances are concerned. There was a fridge, a timer-operated electric stove, a toaster, a microwave, an electric kettle, and a dish washer. Some pots and and pans, some cutlery, and several plates, glasses and cups. To our surprise, all the glasses were wine glasses! Cutlery was a bit lacking (only four forks), and we could certainly use more plates. In other words, you could hardy fill the dish-washer with the supplied dishes. The bathroom was ok, but nothing special (there was a hairdryer though). The room had a free wired Internet connection. It tended to get flaky in the evening, but overall you might expect a 400 kbps connection speed upstream and downstream. The TV was flat screen with a decent choice of free channels. If you need to print something, there is a computer and a printer in the lobby at guest's disposal, free of charge. Which is a good thing.

Housekeeping and cleanliness.
Now this is where the hotel left a lot to be desired. First of all, maid service was only once a week. More specifically, it was exactly on the 7th day of our stay. So if you are staying less than a week, I'm not sure you will have any housekeeping at all! When you run out of toilet paper, you need to go to the reception and ask for another roll, which is not exactly how things should be done, in our opinion. The main room surfaces and furniture were almost decently clean. However, the not immediately visible corners and edges were quite dirty, with layers of dust. For example, check out the picture of the hairdryer in the bathroom -- it's almost disgustingly dirty; the clearly visible white spot on in is actually a clean area that I easily made with some soap and cotton, which means that no one has ever really bothered to clean it! And I believe the curtains had not been washed for years.

Finally, we haven't had too much contact with the reception staff. They were friendly and polite, but I had a feeling that some of them might need some more training. We did have one complaint -- the microwave was not fully functional (the rotating dish was not rotating), and to our surprise, the next day there was a brand new microwave in the kitchenette! A big plus in our books.

All things considered, we did had a fairly comfortable and enjoyable stay in this hotel. The overall rating should perhaps really be "average" instead of "very good", but the location is so great that we are willing to forgive some shortcomings. The room hygiene was indeed a bit of a sore point, however it was far from unbearable. The rates tend to be quite steep, so I am note sure if this is a perfect value for money, but I guess the hotel is capitalizing its location. If you plan a longer stay in London, and the location is important to you, as well as the self-catering option, you might want to consider this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

The location is superb, you can walk to all the central and west London attractions. The staff is very friendly. The rooms are moderately decorated. The kitchens are fully equipped and practical. A good supermarket is 1 minute walk away. The only problem is the sofa bed. The folding mattress of the bed is rather uncomfortable. Nevertheless Citadines can still be recommended as a very convenient apart hotel in London

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

It was nice to have a secure place to stay, shower and, even though we didn't really use it to its full potential, the kitchen was a nice touch. We weren't there long enough to enjoy it, but you could save a lot cooking there if you were in town a while. Came with hairdryer, plenty of closet space, but we never really folded up the couch bed, it was just too much trouble really. Right next to the Underground and a nice day can be had walking to Covent Garden, Leicester Square and Piccadilly from there without needing to use the U. It's nice to just take in the city. We felt we might have been overcharged, but aren't certain - we could have just misunderstood (be sure you're certain how much you're being charged). :)

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New york
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

Stayed for one week, great location. Just a few minutes walk to British Museum, Covent Gardens, theatres, etc. Underground station is across the street, makes traveling around very easy. Staff was very pleasant and helpful. Lobby much more modern and inviting than the rooms are however. Room was very dated, needs new carpeting badly. Setup of room was awkward, doors always banging into each other. You are on your own for towels and supplies.
Location is excellent but I did expect more at this price range.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

I stayed here in June 2009 for six nights. Apparently six nights does not include cleaning or change of towels, or sheets. I could live with the room not being cleaned, and the sheets not being changed, but two not very large towels for 1 adult and 1 teenager was a bit much. Also, two very small toilet rolls (not replaced) so you will have to buy extra if you use it for tissues removing makeup etc.
However, the location is excellent, across the road from Holborn tube, Superdrug, Sainsburys. Within walking distance of Covent Garden, Chancery Lane, British Museum.
The staff was not particularly friendly, only one of them was in any way polite. But if you know where you are and dont need to speak to them you should be okay. Free internet in room (if you have your own laptop). There is a supposed business centre, which is a laptop and photocopier/fax off reception (daughter needed access to Bebo). Carpets through all areas were disgusting and shabby, but room was clean with tv and cd player. Kitchen was stocked with microwave, diswasher, toaster, iron, ironing board etc. Would have preferred towels and toilet rolls lol! Would I stay there again, yes for a shorter time!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London

Address: 94 - 99 High Holborn, London WC1V 6LF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden / Primrose Hill , Covent Garden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in London
#217 Luxury Hotel in London
#243 Family Hotel in London
#271 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a short walk from Covent Garden and close to the financial and business district, Citadines Prestige Holborn-Covent Garden London is surrounded by traditional pubs, international restaurants, art galleries and churches. At Covent Garden, visit the converted 19th-century fruit and vegetable market, the London Transport Museum and the famous Royal Opera House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Prestige Holborn - Covent Garden Hotel London
Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London England
Citadines Holborn Covent Garden Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.