We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect base for exploring London!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London to your Saves list
Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   94 - 99 High Holborn, London WC1V 6LF, England (Holborn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #343 of 1,049 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersSilver level
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect base for exploring London!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

My mother and I arrived on Christmas morning after an overnight transatlantic flight. The staff were lovely and the room was great. The kitchenette totally sufficient for our needs and the beds were nice and comfortable.

The first room we were in, the toilet was leaking all over the floor. After a much-needed nap, we called down and let them know. They moved us right away. The next room was just fine. I'd imagine it's a challenge to keep all the appliances and such working for the whole hotel when every room has a kitchen of some kind.

Holborn is a great spot to explore London from. It's quiet at night, but close enough to the action that you can get there with a short walk. Covent Garden, Oxford and Carnaby Street and the Strand are all an easy walk away.

The only reason this isn't a five star: the WiFi. You need a separate code for each device and need a new code every day. It was a pain to have to request a new one. Our primary means of trip planning and contacting home was the internet, so having WiFi was important. I'd suggest the management figure out a way to let guests stay on the WiFi for the duration of their stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ggesitg, General Manager at Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback.
Extremely sorry for a couple of frustrations you experienced during your stay but so delighted you enjoyed your overall visit. I am sure you will love the enhancements we are in the process of making here at the Hotel and I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future when I would hope to meet with you personally.
With my best wishes,
Germana Genovese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    293
    102
    36
    34
See reviews for
182
207
50
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

This hotel is very conveniently located about 2mins walk from Holborn Tube and well located for Trafalgar Square and Covent Garden. The room is very modern and vibrant and finished to a high standard including the small but well stocked kitchenette. The room was a relatively decent size for London hotels, perfectly big enough for the two of us. The bathroom wasn't a great size but we didn't have a problem with it and again it was well presented, with a shower over the bath.
The bed was quite low but comfortable and large and the room had a light feel to it owing to the large window running the entire length of it.
I believe the hotel also had a gym and a laundry room although we did not use these facilities.
We also did not eat here as it was £24 pp for breakfast which was a continental, which we thought was excessive. Instead we went to a quiet Weatherspoons in the morning just around the corner from Holborn tube and got a full English for around £10 in total.
The hotel is in a bustling area and there are many cafes and pubs in the area if you choose not to eat at the hotel, there is also a waitrose over the road if you wish to make use of the kitchenette, as well as a pret a manger.
A really nice hotel which wasn't over-priced either.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ggesitg, General Manager at Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

I genuinely believe that great service (consistently echoed by all reviewers) makes this hotel such a great place to stay! You can always count on the best in personalized service from the friendly hotel staff, which takes great pains to make your vacation or business trip the best time of your life.

Being in Holborn makes it perfect for you to explore the many famous London attractions (and perhaps almost all London's famous shows) within a short distance. Alternatively, you can make yourself comfortable in your spacious rooms; or work out in our fitness room.
I look forward to welcoming you (and your family) back soon.
Regards
Germana Genovese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Monmouth, Maine
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We have visited London often during the past several years, as our daughter lives here, and Citadines Prestige Holburn-Covent Garden is, in our opinion, the best place to stay. It feels like you have your own flat in the perfect location in central London. We stayed in the smallest room - a bedroom, bathroom and mini-kitchenette that was perfect for us. The kitchen had a small refrigerator, stove top, toaster, pots, pans, silverware, and glasses. We ate breakfast in every day, and several times we ate lunch in also. There is a large Starbucks a few doors down, and a large Sainsbury's and a small Waitrose just down the street. The staff in the hotel were exceptional! They greeted us as we came and went, and were always professional and courteous. It was great that we could grab an umbrella in the lobby whenever we needed them. The location is superb - we walked to Covent Garden, Trafalgar Square, Big Ben and Westminster Abbey, St. Paul's Cathedral, and Oxford Circus. We took the tube only a couple of times. Amazing restaurants and shopping very close by. When we return, we will stay here because the room is so comfortable, the staff are great, and the price is right.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We decided on a week in London over Christmas. Our primary concerns were location and value for money. We chose the Citadines as you got a kitchenette in your room so we could prep our own food if we wanted to and also the location was great - walking distance to most of the places we wanted to visit.
The hotel was great at communication. We were driving down and needed to use their car park. We had plenty of help finding the car park. Check-in process was nice and quick. We did have to reject our first room as someone had dropped fish in the corridor outside the door and it smelled awful but the second room was fine, in a quieter location and they even gave us a free bottle of wine for our trouble which was pretty generous as it really wasn't a big deal.
The facilities in the room all seemed pretty new and everything worked. When we needed a couple of extra pans it was no issue for them and they were brought up within minutes.
We paid a little extra to get daily housekeeping in our room (not standard in the apartments) and it was worth it - nice to come back to a clean room.
All in all a perfectly adequate hotel when it came to the room and I think you get what you pay for.
The outstanding bit is really the breakfast! Now it could just be that it was to my taste but I loved brekkie. Lots of different types of breads and pastries. Lots of meats and cheeses. Smoked salmon rolls, fresh made waffles and boiled eggs to order. Lots of juices including squeeze your own orange juice. Unlimited hot drinks - good quality coffee. All in all a perfect breakfast to get your day started.
Location wise it was perfect. It was in a nice area - bright outside and the wonderful Rosewood opposite (visit the bar there - it is brilliant). We walked to the theatre, to Covent Garden, so Fortnum and Masons, to Selfridges, to Trafalgar Sq - everywhere seemed pretty close.
Finally the staff were great - very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room not on the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ggesitg, General Manager at Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Dear Guest

Thank you for your most generous and encouraging feedback from your recent stay with us. We were truly delighted that we succeeded in creating a positive experience . I am sorry about the issue you encountered with the first room you were assigned but I am happy to learn that this was graciously handled by my team.We sincerely appreciate your recognition and recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back soon. In the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Germana Genovese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This hotel is very comfortable, the staff is friendly, efficient, customer minded, the rooms are well-equipped and welcoming (including the small kitchen)... all in this place is made to ensure you enjoy your time from day one to the last hour of your stay (and regret leaving the place enough to book another room for your next trip). The breakfast is worth mentioning as well, including the staff serving it: truly adorable! And the fitness room makes you keep healthy as well.

Of course, the location is also very well-placed, next to the City, Bloomsbury and Covent Garden, and within easy reach from the tourist attraction of Tottenham Court Road, Oxford Street and Hyde Park (to name but a few).

I can only recommend this place where I had such a good time (I'm used to going to London for business trips many times in a year and this hotel, that I discovered completely 'by accident' while bringing my family for a leisure trip, is probably the best one I've seen until now!)

Room Tip: I don't know if there are rooms with windows on High Holborn. If this is the case, I recommend y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Really enjoyed this hotel, which had an excellent internet rate. The twin bed room accommodated 2 people; the small kitchen was much appreciated; there was complimentary coffee and tea downstairs; the staff was friendly and helpful. Tube stop is nearby as are convenient buses. I found the bathroom ample, with shelves for toiletries; closet held both hanging and stacked items. We'd requested the street side so we had sunlight (when it was out).

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the street, with sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ggesitg, General Manager at Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for choosing Citadines Prestige Holborn and for taking the time to post your review about your stay and for your recommendation.

Look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back. In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards,
Germana Genovese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

This is a fantastic hotel. From the minute you walk in to be greeted by friendly and professional staff to the minute you leave you feel that this is the only place you want to stay when visiting the capital. The location is brilliant and the rooms are ideal as they are comfortable and good value for money. I doubt if we would stay anywhere else from now on.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room.. The location is key and the room is all you need!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London

Address: 94 - 99 High Holborn, London WC1V 6LF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Holborn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in London
#235 Luxury Hotel in London
#263 Family Hotel in London
#264 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a short walk from Covent Garden and close to the financial and business district, Citadines Prestige Holborn-Covent Garden London is surrounded by traditional pubs, international restaurants, art galleries and churches. At Covent Garden, visit the converted 19th-century fruit and vegetable market, the London Transport Museum and the famous Royal Opera House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Prestige Holborn - Covent Garden Hotel London
Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London England
Citadines Holborn Covent Garden Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.