We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay in a good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure London Bloomsbury

Save Saved
You added Mercure London Bloomsbury to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mercure London Bloomsbury
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   130 - 134 Southampton Row, London WC1B 5AF, England (Formerly Waverley House Hotel) (Camden / Primrose Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #247 of 1,075 hotels in London
nottingham
1 review
“A good place to stay in a good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for one night for business. A pleasant if somewhat small room, comfy beds, good air conditioning and an excellent bathroom. Breakfast was good but a expensive. Also would have appreciated more tea/coffee sachets in the room. VAT invoice provided with no problem. Would return, but would not bother with the breakfast at the price.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experiences at our hotel. We are glad to hear that you have been satisfied with the overall experience and hope to welcome you back for your next business trip to London.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    311
    450
    120
    33
    17
See reviews for
144
289
122
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dereham
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Wonderful food, the creme brulee was the best we've tasted outside France. The staff were excellent and allowed us to take as much time as we wanted which was just what we wanted on this occasion. I would certainly recommend the Mercure Bloomsbury as a good place to take Afternoon Tea in central London.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
we were delighted to read you review about your recent afternoon tea experience in our Brasserie. It was a pleasure to welcome you to the hotel and we hope to see you again for the next afternoon tea booking.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex uk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Requested a quiet room on arrival and our room was changed on check in to one on a higher floor facing the alley rather than the main road. However this standard double room and bed was too small for us. Upgraded to larger room at a cost of £30. Disappointed was not contacted after emailing the previous day to check we were in a quiet room and had a king size bed. However did appreciate the bottle of fizz and card as celebrating my husbands birthday. Breakfast was good although service was a little slow at first.

Room Tip: Higher and facing alley are quiestest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences about your recent stay with us. We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us and appreciate your feedback. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back in the future.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

stayed for one night at the Bloomsbury staff are very helpful and polite,our room was very clean the same as the rest of the hotel.We had a evening meal the food was very good so was the breakfast ,we were able to leave our cases until our train was due so we were able to enjoy our last day.can't wait to stay again.Its in a good location for shopping.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you have been satisfied with every aspect of you stay and are already looking forward to welcome you back soon.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Although the rooms are very small, they were quite clean and well maintained. The beds were plush.
The location is great and it's only a walk or a quick bus ride away from most tourist attractions.
The staff were helpful and also kept our luggage after we had checked out, till the evening; and the deposit and collection were a breeze.
No reason not to repeat!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you could take advantage of central London location and that you found our staff very helpful. We are looking forward to welcoming you again some time in the future.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, AU
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

It seems impossible to get a decent room at a decent rate in London. Scour the internet and you might get lucky. We got a room here for GBP130 per night including WiFi but excluding breakfast. Room was fine but a bit small with no real view. Adjacent doors were very loud as they banged close - perhaps they can adjust the door closers.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Mercure London Bloomsbury, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Mercure London Bloomsbury and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

My husband and I spent one night here, as part of a celebration for my 40th birthday. The staff were friendly and attentive at all times. The room was bigger than expected, clean and comfortable and a wonderful location in Bloomsbury, topped it all off. On arrival in our room, I was presented with a complimentary bottle of champagne for my birthday, such a lovely, unexpected touch which helped to make my stay here a very memorable one. We will definitely stay here again on our next weekend break in London!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
It was a real pleasure reading your lovely review about your birthday celebration stay in our hotel. We are delighted to hear that we made you London break a memorable one and are already looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure London Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Bloomsbury

Address: 130 - 134 Southampton Row, London WC1B 5AF, England (Formerly Waverley House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden / Primrose Hill , Covent Garden , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#149 Family Hotel in London
#175 Luxury Hotel in London
#175 Business Hotel in London
#277 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Bloomsbury 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 4 star boutique style hotel with complimentary WiFi, air conditioning & rainfall showers. Within walking distance of many of London's top attractions British Museum, Covent Garden, Oxford Street & Theatres. In close proximity to Russell Square tube station. Euston mainline station and Kings Cross St Pancras for Eurostar are nearby. Enjoy a bite to eat or a relaxing drink in our recently refurbished restaurant and bar, followed by a stroll in London's fashionable Bloomsbury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Mercure London Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel London
Waverley House Hotel London
Mercure London Bloomsbury England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure London Bloomsbury, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.