We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure London Bloomsbury

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure London Bloomsbury to your Saves list
Mercure London Bloomsbury
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   130 - 134 Southampton Row, London WC1B 5AF, England (Formerly Waverley House Hotel) (Camden / Primrose Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #318 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Hartlepool
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed at the Mercure hotel for a 2 night visit to London via Superbreak. We stay in this area when we visit London but decided to give this hotel a go. Check-in was quick and easy and staff very pleasant. We were on the 5th floor which is easily reached via lift. Room was at the rear of the hotel and quiet. It was very clean and had everything needed for our stay including the usual tea and coffee facilities, hairdryer, iron and ironing board. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was included and my partner said the cooked items were very good and I enjoyed the cereals and fresh fruits. The hotel is in a prime location for sightseeing and theatres and the local tube stations are nearby.

The only thing negative was that the room was very small, however, I would stay here again but would probably have to enquire about the rooms first.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
we appreciate that you took the time to review your recent stay with us. We are glad that you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed the services provided by us and could take good use of our central location. We are looking forward to welcome you back to the hotel for your next visit in London.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    536
    140
    40
    27
See reviews for
178
358
141
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed here for a minimoon (mini honeymoon) and it was absolutely perfect. The hotel was easy to find, 100 metres away from the train station and very central.

Upon arrival we found the hotel looked stunning. It was very clean and well presented. The staff were excellent, so professional and attentive. Anything you needed they dealt with immediately. They even sent up a complimentary bottle of champagne, nibbles and card as a congratulations to us just getting married.

Our room wasn't quite ready on arrival but they held our bags so we could go off and explore until it was ready. When it was ready we were very happy with the room. It was a nice size, had everything we needed and we were surprised to find a bath in the bathroom as we were only expecting a shower. Everything in the hotel was of high quality and very clean!

The bed was very comfortable and we slept very well. It was very quiet and we didn't even know that there were other guests on our floor until we bumped into them in the lift. The room had air conditioning which was very easy to use, a TV, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, fresh towels every day and complimentary toiletries.

There was a tea/coffee station in our room which was fantastic. It was regularly topped up and consisted of Nescafe coffee, Twinings tea and Cadbury's hot chocolate, as well as white and brown sugar and cartons of milk and cream. Very impressed.

We requested a quiet room and we certainly got it. We were right on the top floor and it was perfect. There was a lift available as well which made it even better as there was no climb to the top floor after a long day.

Breakfast was lovely. They provided a continental and cooked breakfast in buffet style as well as a separate menu. They had a very nice selection and there was definitely something for everyone.

We were very happy with our stay and will definitely go back again.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room ask for one on the top floor (there is a lift).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review about your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that our staff made your minimoon extra special and you felt so comfortable in your room. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed all services provided by the hotel and are already looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We made the most out of a groupon deal at the Mercure Bloomsbury. Staff were very professional and attentive and the food was fresh and tasty. The restaurant is located on a very busy road but in central London, this has to be expected. Overall a perfect place to treat yourself and watch world go by.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to our Brasserie for Afternoon Tea. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the offer and had a comfortable visit. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This hotel is exceptional. The management and staff are so pleasant and helpful, nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are spotless. Breakfast - great choice. Location - so close to Russell Square tube station. If you are coming in from Heathrow airport, the Piccadilly Line is perfect. You are in walking distance to Coventry Gardens, The London Eye, Oxford Street. I would strongly recommend this hotel for your stay should it be business or pleasure. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
It was a real pleasure reading your loveley review about your recent stay in London. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and were satisfied with all services offered by the hotel and our staff. We are already looking forward to welcome you back in the future.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Good food, nice room, pleasant staff, very helpful when asked for information. Asked for direction, given a map and pointed in the right directions. Room was nice but I think a little expensive. Area was nice and safe to walk round. Not to far from Covent garden.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent experiences with us. We are delighted to hear that you had a comfortable stay and were satisfied with the services provided by the hotel and out staff. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed here for two nights 23rd/24th of August.On arrival where greeted by Gilbert the Consiguar
who was very friendly,smiley and help full,check in was speedy,and done by a polite couteous manor.Although the bedrooms where small they where adequate the bathrooms modern very clean,very deep bath with shower over,the beds where the most comfortable Hotel beds I,have slept in.The staff at breakfast where very good and although not the largest selection was good value,from fresh fruit ,cereals yogurts and everything for a full English,only let down by no toaster,you order toast,tea coffee when you are shown to youre table, I like toast to be a bit well done ,this when came was warm bread.It is a very good spot ,central for the touristy things to do,not from Soho,Covent Garden and the West End,Russel Square tube is just round the corner, Euston Station about 10 mins walk.Would go back again to do the sights,one day ,not just to go to Wembley.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent visit to London. We are glad to hear that you found our location convinient for the purpose of your stay and that you enjoyed the breakfast and our friendly staff. We are already looking forward to welcome you for your next visit to London.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We won our trip to London in a competition and decided to upgrade the hotel offered to the mercure Bloomsbury. We were so glad we did. It is perfectly located, within walking distance of British museum, Covent garden and river Thames. The staff were so friendly and helpful, especially Gilbert, and couldn't do enough for us. Our room was small, but very comfortable and was at the back of the hotel, so very quiet. Breakfast was excellent though we didn't eat in the evening as it seemed quite expensive. We would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
We appreciate that you took the time to review your recent stay with us. It is great that you could take advantage of our central location and were satisfied with the services provided. We are looking forward to welcome you back.
Your Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure London Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Bloomsbury

Address: 130 - 134 Southampton Row, London WC1B 5AF, England (Formerly Waverley House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden / Primrose Hill , Covent Garden , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#206 Business Hotel in London
#214 Luxury Hotel in London
#233 Family Hotel in London
#289 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 4 star boutique style hotel with complimentary WiFi, air conditioning & rainfall showers. Within walking distance of many of London's top attractions British Museum, Covent Garden, Oxford Street & Theatres. In close proximity to Russell Square tube station. Euston mainline station and Kings Cross St Pancras for Eurostar are nearby. Enjoy a bite to eat or a relaxing drink in our recently refurbished restaurant and bar, followed by a stroll in London's fashionable Bloomsbury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure London Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel London
Waverley House Hotel London
Mercure London Bloomsbury England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure London Bloomsbury, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.