We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living in a box” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure London Bloomsbury

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure London Bloomsbury to your Saves list
Mercure London Bloomsbury
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   130 - 134 Southampton Row, London WC1B 5AF, England (Formerly Waverley House Hotel) (Bloomsbury)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #329 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Living in a box”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for two nights for a leisure visit to London. Positioned between Russell square and holburn tube stations the location couldn't be better. However, this is the smallest hotel room I have ever stayed in. My job means that I stay in hotels up to 4 nights a week and this one is insultingly small. As a previous silver Accor card holder I like and stay loyal to the brand, however this will make me think twice about choosing a mercure again. While I appreciate that the location comes at a premium, this is just ridiculous. I also had trouble with the air con which, despite the efforts of the helpful reception staff, did not work and I had to resort to sleeping with the window open in a very noisy part of London. Won't be returning

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBlack, Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Purmus

Thank you for posting such a frank and honest review following your recent visit to the hotel. We were disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy the single room that was booked for you. Should you change your mind and wish to visit the hotel again please do not hesitate to contact us directly and we will be delighted to give you the best available rate for a daouble room.

With regards to the air con, we would like to thank you for bringing this to our attention. Since reading your feedback we have reviewed our preventive maintenance checks to ensure that this type of situation does not re-occur.

Once agian thank you for your review and we do hope that we can welcome you back in the very near future.

Kind Regards

The Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    588
    159
    46
    31
See reviews for
196
416
152
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed for a night on a theatre trip to the sparkling lights and have no complaints. It's easily accessible and good quality for a mid-range hotel. I arrived from Paddington and my sister walked from Euston.

Beds are comfortable and the rooms have been fairly recently refurbished. Tea, coffee and yummy biscuits are provided in the room along with complimentary bottled water, although they were a bit stingy on the toiletries given that it was a triple room. I'm sure that they would have topped them up had we asked though. We were up on the 6th floor so not too overlooked, but on reflection I might have given the neighbours a bit of a tease show, as I only realised there was a roller blind in there after getting dressed for the day. Lucky them!

Staff were polite and efficient. I particularly liked the selection of free international papers in reception - Le Monde, Pais and Times were all there when we checked in.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBlack, Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Laura Loves It

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review about your recent visit to the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. We were delighted to hear that you and your sister enjoyed your trip to London and we can not agree with you more, the biscuits are delicious, believe us when we say it is very hard not to raid the store they are kept in on a daily basis. Thank you once again and we do hope that we have the oppurtunity to welcome you back to the Mercure Bloomsbury in the very near future.

Kind Regards
The team at the Mercure Bloomsbury.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel after been transferred from another hotel nearby due to overbooking. We had a lovely 2 night stay, breakfast was excellent with lots of choice. Nothing was a bother to the staff. Rooms were immaculate, with lots of extras. The only niggle we had was the mattress wasn't to our liking, but you can't please everyone. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBlack, Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Carol B

Thnk you for your lovely review following your recent visit to us here at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit, although you were not originally meant to stay with us and we are very much hoping that we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
The Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed one night here and found it excellent. Also within easy walking distance from Kings Cross, Covent Garden and The West End. The staff were all very helpful and made us feel very welcome. Only one minor gripe - the view from the bedroom window was so poor it had frosted glass in it. But that didn't spoil the visit at all. An excellent hotel. We had also stayed at a Mercure in Annemasse, which was also excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBlack, Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Norman Davies 45

We would like to thank you for posting such a lovely review following your recent stay here at the Mercure London Bloomsbury. We were delighted to see that we met with your expectations and we do hope that we can have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the Mercure London Bloomsbury again soon.

Kind Regards
The Team at the Mercure Bloomsbury.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The hotel is not safe ! We were staying there at the end of december for eight nights. Went out to a show one night and came back to find all our valuables had been stolen. Security video showed two men entering our room with a key and by coindicence, a reception staff had recently "lost" his. Hotel did very little for us and now hiding behind a very restricted insurance policy. Thousands of pounds stolen from us and they offering 100 gbp in compensation. Clearly an "inside job" and you would have thought the hotel would want to put this right. Obviously they don't really care about tourists in london. Be warned !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBlack, Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Tadeuaguiar

Thank youf for taking the time to post such a candid review following your recent visit to the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. We would like to offer our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences caused to you and your partner during your time with us.

Please be assured that we take accusations such as this very seriously and have helped with the investigation as best we can. The management and staff here at the hotel treat the safety and security of our guests with the highest of importance and it saddens us that you think one of the team was involved. We believe in the duty of care that we provide our guests and even go so far as to provide the use of guest safes in all bedrooms free of charge and should it have being used then possibly the outcome of your visit would have being very different.

Once again thank you for taking the time to post your review and we do wish you all the best for the furture.

Kind Regards
The team at the Mercure London Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure London Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Bloomsbury

Address: 130 - 134 Southampton Row, London WC1B 5AF, England (Formerly Waverley House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#212 Business Hotel in London
#229 Luxury Hotel in London
#252 Family Hotel in London
#288 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 4 star boutique style hotel with complimentary WiFi, air conditioning & rainfall showers. Within walking distance of many of London's top attractions British Museum, Covent Garden, Oxford Street & Theatres. In close proximity to Russell Square tube station. Euston mainline station and Kings Cross St Pancras for Eurostar are nearby. Enjoy a bite to eat or a relaxing drink in our recently refurbished restaurant and bar, followed by a stroll in London's fashionable Bloomsbury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mercure London Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel London
Waverley House Hotel London
Mercure London Bloomsbury England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure London Bloomsbury, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.