We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at hotel Cheshire” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cheshire Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cheshire Hotel to your Saves list
Cheshire Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Great Russell Street, London WC1B 3NA, England (Formerly Country Inn & Suites) (Bloomsbury / Holborn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #956 of 1,065 Hotels in London
London
1 review
“Stay at hotel Cheshire”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Very convenient location. Hotel room was very small and a little tatty. Bathroom sink was blocked and toilet seat loose. No air conditioning in hotel so convenient location results in lots of outside noise in the evening with bedroom windows open which is essential due to high unconfortable room temperature.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    46
    59
    48
    101
See reviews for
36
80
28
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Booked this hotel as it did look to be clean, comfortable, and with a nice large comfortable reception and bar on the internet advert. On arrival, reception was very tiny, no lounge or bar. Female staff greeted us pleasantly, staff after that seemed unconcerned. No teamaking facilities were provided. Room reasonably clean. Visitor info. book in room was way out of date on prices etc. But worst was the noise during the night.
Could not wait for the night to be over as hardly slept due to lorries delivering/collecting laundry etc etc during night, traffic, sirens going, loud shouting and so on with people coming out of pubs, night clubs, theatres, near by. We may as well have been sleeping, or trying to, outside. Would definitely not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

A most dissapointing place hotel, we were given a ground floor room no natural light even though we requested a room with a good view.
We asked for another , then found someones suit case in the cuboard thought it may have been sheets or pillows but on looking it was someones case.We phoned reception they were not apologetic then put back into the cellar, how discusting.The room didnt come with mike on tea and coffee guy on reception was very unhelp ful in getting any for us.All the staff were rude no goodmornings or goodbyes when leaving,the room was very bady made, shaver point upside down, sink loose on the wall.No light swich or table near the bed.
The worst hotel I have ever stayed at, oh yes and the blinds were think with dust , dreadful place

Room Tip: choose a different place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsbottom, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We booked this hotel as the pictures on the internet seemed ok....How foolish!! We should have dug deeper. on arrival the reception area looked lovely, warm and cosy nice furniture etc. BUT.. as soon as you pass reception, skirting boards and wallpaper are tatty, the lift creaked . We were given a room on the top floor . We opened the door and could not believe our eyes! The carpet was torn and threadbare, the furniture was worn and scratched, the bedding had cigarette burns and looked like something out of the sixties cheap polyester bedding, the panel of the bath was smashed in. I stood in shock not believing my eyes. We turned round straightaway and went back to reception. We explained the state of the room was completely unacceptable . We were given another room on another floor and this was in the same state.. We went back to reception and asked for a refund to be told we could not have one and that if we had looked properly on booking.com we would have known this. Fortunately we were in the position to walk out and booked ourselves into the nearest premier inn. The YMCA down the street would have been a better standard of accommodation than this!!!!!

Room Tip: There isn't one all are appalling. Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

• Buy/lease a building. Decorate pillars with gold paint. Put up plastic sign.
• Charge a high price.
• Employ very few, young foreigners with moderate grasp of local language and pay them very little.
• Don't renovate.
• Leave the wallpaper peeling off the walls.
• Have staff say "there's a problem with the internet in the rooms" when really you have only installed one router in the reception.
• Have very small rooms. You will put in mini furniture and ensure banging of shins which keeps guests out of rooms saving on wear and tear and TV watching which uses electricity.
• Save more on electricity: Ensure all plug points are burnt out. Guests won't want to recharge phones or computers running up unnecessary costs.
• Don't install air conditioning. For air, leave the sash windows open for city smells and sounds (especially drunken yells at 3am from the surrounding pubs). And for burglars. Make sure a continuous balcony runs in front of all rooms for easy access of aforesaid. Make sure cleaning staff always leave windows open. Do NOT provide a safe for valuables.
• Provide additionally to the large radiator, two large portable electric radiators. This won't heat the room (see burnt out plugs) thus saving electricity, but will fill up the tiny closet ensuring no room to hang clothes.
• Ensure cheap shower curtain sucks inwards leaving no place to stand in bath cubicle and flooding floor.
• Don't replace lights on elevator buttons to keep guests guessing as to whether it'll come and where it'll stop. Make elevator very slow.
• Charge a lot for breakfast then deliver brown bread and cheap jam. This makes guests upgrade to expensive "english breakfast". Make sure coffee tastes terrible so guests won't want more. Prepare and serve said breakfast very slowly from a converted broom cabinet. Don't provide newspapers.
• Arrange long queue (see point 3) when guests checking out so that they can enjoy ambience in reception cubbyhole and miss their appointments.
• Buy/lease next hotel and repeat

Room Tip: Rooms to inward court better as may be slightly quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I had to be near Charing Cross Road for two days so this was perfect. The room was small but hot, but then so was the weather. Could have done wit coffee-making facilities and more pillows but apart from that I found everything fine, all staff very pleasant, room clean, shower room impressive, continental breakfast more than adequate and good hot coffee. Dining room has good street view.The building is old but not decrepit and I was satisfied with the budget price I paid. Would stay again.

Room Tip: I only saw one single budget priced room so can't comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Looking forward to a 2night stay in London for a reunion and catching up with a great friend who I hadn't seen for a while. I arrived at the hotel early but there wasnt any where to wait for a room or my friend to arrive ,there was only a breakfast room that was being refurbished?,so I waited in a cafe next door .After an hour or so I went back to the hotel they said one twin room was ready, room 104.The room was small more suitable for single occupancy the furniture was old and scratched ,the carpet was worn with large bald patches,skirting ,radiators filthy I didnt even look in the bathroom, I couldn't believe this would be offered for hotel accomodation,I refused the room and another was offered room 204,same size room equally poor standard.I couldn't stay in it .
My friend arrived and agreed these rooms were poor standard and shouldn't even be offered as accomodation.Eventualy we were given room 304 all these rooms are in the same position (different floors) and size .
We had twin beds which were pushed together with a 6inch space either side ,the bedside lamp shade was broken,there were holes in the wall ,cicarette burns in the bedding,the sealent around the bath was covered in black grime ,the shaver point was smashed and dangerous unfit for use ,the bathpanel was pushed in,the pipes under the sink were exposed and filthy,the skirting and radiator in the room were dirty, the hall light outside our room was hanging off ,as was the wallpaper in the hall.
We booked with Booking.com we called them and asked for a transfer to another hotel ,or refund we had paid in advance,neither was forthcoming and they said they needed photographic evidence ,we took lots of photos and sent them ,but still haven't heard from them?.We were not sure what to do what were the chances of us getting another room in London at short notice, or wether Booking.com would refund us,so we stayed we only used the hotel to sleep ,but both of us ended up itching and just to be on the safe side when we arrived at our homes we washed everything in hot water and checked our cases for any unwanted visitors This hotel shouldn't even be listed with Booking.com .Don't Booking.com check the hotels that are on their site?.
There was no tea or coffee facilities when I called down to reception thinking this had been forgotten I was told they didn't supply this facility and if I wanted tea it was £5.00 .

Room Tip: Go to a diferent hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cheshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheshire Hotel

Address: 110 Great Russell Street, London WC1B 3NA, England (Formerly Country Inn & Suites)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury / Holborn , Camden / Primrose Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #956 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cheshire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cheshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn London Bloomsbury
London Country Inn
Cheshire Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheshire Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.