We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, hotel is basic enough for a 4 star.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   97 Great Russell Street, London WC1B 3LB, England (Formerly Radisson Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel) (Camden / Primrose Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now & Save Up To 20%
Ranked #346 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Dublin
1 review
“Great location, hotel is basic enough for a 4 star.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

Our room was a delux suite which left a lot to be desired. However it was a good rate for its location. Staff were pleasant. The bar is very quiet at night and not cheap compared to pubs in nearby Soho. It's a pity the way pubs in London all close at 11pm even at weekends leaving you with no option but to find a loud "music bar" or else return to your hotel and pay the higher prices for a pint.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperanza916, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2009
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your positive feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your deluxe room at a good value for money. We do have competitive prices for the market with regards to the prices of drinks in the bar, but with saying that we do value your feedback and have passed your comments to my team. If given such an opportunity we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Hope Johnston
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    535
    243
    119
    70
See reviews for
142
446
218
490
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2009

This hotel exceeded our expectations, especially for the price we paid. Granted, we did go in off-peak season, but nonetheless, a great experience. The Kenilworth staff was always very courteous, helpful, and accommodating. There is a small computer room with internet-enabled desktops and printers, which was very convenient. The location is excellent for tourism because transportation is easy and it is located in the middle of London. It's not right next to most major tourist attractions (except the British Museum and a couple theaters), but it is centrally located for everything, which is why we booked it. There are bus stops right outside the hotel, and two tube stations within 5-7 minute walking distance.

The room (standard double) was very small, but that was pretty much our only real criticism. If you are looking for a room to hang out in and spend a lot of time, this is probably not the best. There is very little living space beyond the bed and bathroom, and the TV only had 5 channels. But aside from that, the room earned its 4-star rating (especially by European standards). The decor was modern with hints of tradition. Everything was very clean, the bed linens were fairly high quality, and the bathroom was modern and functional. We also had a great view of the British Museum from the 6th floor (7 floors in total).

All in all, this hotel was great for a week-long tourist visit to London. We were very comfortable the whole time, and always pleased to end our busy days at the Kenilworth. Unless the size of the room is very important to you, I would strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperanza916, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2009
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your positive feedback. We are happy to hear that you encountered a good value for money and our exceptional staff. We do enjoy the fact our location is quite convenient to many of the tourist attractions. We value your feedback with regards to your room as our rooms all vary in size and décor. Your comments serve as a great motivator to our team to strive in being the best. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Hope Johnston
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teeside
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

just returned from this hotel great location very close to tottenham court road tube station 5mins to oxford street , went to see hairspray the theatre is 4mins walk, and drury lane about the same. hotel very clean lovely linen and towels staff very helpful good breakfast just one small downside but location made up for this the bedroom was tiny and bath only half size but apart from this everything else was very good and i will return.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperanza916, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2009
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for your positive comments. I am pleased to hear that you liked the location of the hotel and breakfast. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback with regards to the size of your bedroom. However, our rooms do vary in size and would have been happy enough to move you if given the opportunity. I have passed your comments to my team to and value your feedback. If given such an opportunity we would be grateful to welcome you back to our hotel.

Kind Regards,

Hope Johnston
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2009

On the first leg of a trip to Egypt, we stayed over in this lovely small hotel a block from the British Museum so we could spend some time seeing the Egyptian exhibits before seeing the sights in Egypt.

Aside from a great location (a block from the museum) we had great service from the concierge, Colm, who was a friendly, patient helper who got us theatre tickets, made a great choice for us on a restaurant and made the reservations and generally made our trip a pleasure! Thank you, Colm!

Rooms were lovely, with a comfortable bed, a quiet atmosphere and a great bath.

The Laidlers

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperanza916, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2009
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for your positive comments. I am pleased to hear that you liked the location of the hotel and your room. I am happy to hear Colm was able to assist you with regards to organising your theatre tickets and restaurant. I have passed your comments to my team to and value your feedback. If given such an opportunity we would be grateful to welcome you back to our hotel.

Kind Regards,

Hope Johnston
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2009

This hotel is in a fantastic location for visiting the British Museum, Royal Opera, Covent Garden, National Gallery etc
Hotel staff were couteous and helpful, in particular concierge staff.
My single room was clean and comfotable with nice bathroom.
There was a good selection of dishes for breakfast and I was able to order my usual porridge.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperanza916, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2009
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for your positive comments. I am pleased to hear that you liked the location of the hotel and your room. We appreciate your feedback with regards to the hotel team and pleased to hear you enjoyed the selection for breakfast. I have passed your comments to my team to and value your feedback. If given such an opportunity we would be grateful to welcome you back to our hotel.

Kind Regards,

Hope Johnston
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2009

I booked this hotel for 2 nights for a short break in London. Very near British Museum and easy walk to Leicester Square & Covent Garden or Oxford Street. As I do not like the Underground I could walk to most places from this area.
I called ahead to say we would be arriving early morning as we were travelling on the overnight sleeper train and asked if I could leave my cases until check in at 2pm. On arrival around 8:30am the concierge suggested that I check in and I was surprised and delighted to be offered a room straight away.

The room had very nice furnishings with everything provided that you could want for a couple of nights. The bed was also one of the most comfortable hotel beds I have slept in.

We had booked for room only and felt that the breakfast cost was too high however there was a very good cafe near at hand called Silvas that did a great value full english breakfast. I noticed that the restaurant had a special offer of 2 courses for £15 for dinner however we were too busy to find the time to dine there.

When we checked out the concierge kindly held on to our cases until late evening when we were travelling and sold us vouchers for the Original Bus tour that included a river trip.
All in all I was delighted with this hotel and the friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperanza916, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2009
Dear Reviewer,

Thank for your positive comments with regards to the location and your room. We appreciate your feedback with regards to the breakfast price being too high. I have passed your comments to my team to and value your feedback. If given such an opportunity we look forward to welcome you back to our hotel.

Kind Regards,

Hope Johnston
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2009

for those who this hotel on their companies list of preferred hotels.. excellent location as next to british museum, oxford street and soho.. (not sure if it is value for money as paying company discounted price..)

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperanza916, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2009
Dear Reviewer,

Thank for your positive comments with regards to the location and your room. We thank you for your feedback with regards to the value for money. I have passed your comments to my team. If given such an opportunity we look forward to welcome you back to our hotel.

Kind Regards,

Hope Johnston
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel

Address: 97 Great Russell Street, London WC1B 3LB, England (Formerly Radisson Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden / Primrose Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#232 Luxury Hotel in London
#236 Business Hotel in London
#250 Romantic Hotel in London
#276 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian style Hotel situated downtown in literary area of Bloomsbury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson London
London Radisson
Radisson Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.