We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, some minor issues.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   97 Great Russell Street, London WC1B 3LB, England (Formerly Radisson Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel) (Camden / Primrose Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now & Save Up To 20%
Ranked #346 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great location, some minor issues.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

We loved the location. The first room we were given was on the 7th floor. Please avoid this level. The room was small plus the hallways are VERY noisey timber floors. We were woken but tramping feet and a vibrating wall from and air conditioner. We were then moved to an interior room on the 2nd floor. Much nicer room, bigger and carpeted hallways so very quiet.
The staff were great, much friendlier and helpful than our stay in New York the week prior.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    535
    243
    119
    70
See reviews for
142
446
218
490
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Caen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Great location, and very nice staff... BUT... I'm sure many people do not care too much for the state of rooms, but we must say that we thought it disappointing. Not very clean at all, our room looked tired and in dire need of a paint job. Corridors indicated that this wasn't just our place. We wouldn't have cause for complaints in one of the Victoria bed and breakfast at 50 pounds a night, but in this hotel, this seemed rather poor. The Kingsley in same location was a million times better. Not coming back here soon...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times,albeit not for a few years until our stay for 3 nights over New years eve/day period. The latest stay has left me with mixed feelings about The Kenilworth. Upon checking in,we were told the room wasn't ready and could take 30 minutes or so,however this became more like 45 minutes and we weren't informed of anything,upon asking if there was any news.hmmm....."can I offer you a complimentary drink at the bar Sir ?".OK that was a welcome offer and the Spanish lad at the check out desk was very professional and extremely polite.Upon getting our room we had to negotiate the high security lift system (card to activate it) then the high security door to gain access to the floor,and finally the high security room door.key card out 3 times in 4 minutes! Not a complaint about this,just an observation.
The room was clean and well kitted out.BUT no net curtains to the windows which meant anyone staying in the hotel across the road ,and for that matter,anyone on the top deck of the non stop double deckers that pulled up outside,had direct views into our room.The heavy gravity operated blinds were a bit of a bind to keep upping and downing.(nets would solve all this)
House keeping were a bit too keen to take out the used tumblers and coffee mugs,so much so,each afternoon upon return to the hotel, it meant a trek to find someone to ask for them back.they were never replaced! I'm staying there again next month,but to be honest,if I'd have known what I know now,I probably wouldn't have bothered with the booking.Don't get me wrong,there's nothing massively off putting about this hotel.It's just that my usual choice of hotel chain seems a little better at the things that irked me on this stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room change if they offer you any room near 122 on the first floor.The housekeeping staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed in this hotel foor five nights and we were very satisfied with it. Our room on the third floor was spacious, on the front side and had a nice street view. Windows were double so not a sound from the traffic to hear. Amenities and housekeeping was very good; the concierge very helpful for purchasing theatre tickets and museum tickets. Dont bother to try buying them in town: this is much easier and the same price.
On the minus side in the room only one thing: there are no good reading lights with the bed. The only reading lights are fixed in the ceiling, which makes it difficult for other persons to try to sleep.
On the minus side of the hotel only one thing: maybe this hotel is a bit unpersonal, but hey! location on the right of soho gives you plenty of opportunity to speak to people somewhere else. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front side with street view and the couch in front of it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XParis, Deputy General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to the Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth.
I was pleased to read that you overall stay was enjoyable and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Xavier Paris
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiba Prefecture, Japan
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The Radisson Blu Kenilworth is just by the British Museum, and less than 5 minutes walk from Tottenham Court Road Underground station. I found it when I was looking for a reasonably-priced hotel somewhere vaguely central, as I wanted to get some shopping done on a brief stopover in London. I have to confess to a preference for chain hotels - consistent standard everywhere, that sort of thing. The Radisson Blu Kenilworth fits the bill perfectly and is modestly priced by chain hotel standards. There are cheaper independent hotels in the area to be sure, if that's what you prefer.

I had a single room, so you should bear that in mind when reading this review. The bed was a single bed, not a double as you often get with a '1-person use' booking. There was an OK-sized desk, minibar fridge, and most importantly for me an electronic safe to stash the laptop and passports. The safe took an 11.6-inch laptop with no problems. The TV was a reasonable size for the room. The bed was comfortable, and I slept very well. There's also a free bottle of water in the room.

The bathroom was quite small. In fact, the shower cubicle was so small it was difficult to raise my hands to shampoo my hair - it's that cramped. This is a single room, though, remember. The toiletries provided were good quality.

Anything else - well, check-in was good but the staff member doing the check-in was quite new. At first I was told breakfast was extra and they offered a discount voucher for breakfast. Actually it was included in the rate. Went upstairs, checked the details, went downstairs, told someone else on the front desk, and they sorted it out with a smile. Their approach was quite interesting actually, because they brought up my booking on the screen and showed me how it looks to them, just a screen full of 2-letter code words in garish colours. Apparently the learning curve for the system is a bit steep for new staff. The point of this? Well, first the staff fixed the problem in a very open and friendly way. Apologize, Explain, Show, Fix. I was impressed. Secondly, it might be best to double-check your room details afer you check-in just in case. To summarise: friendly, good service, and they take their job seriously.


The Radisson Blu Grafton on Tottenham Court Road is a similar price bracket and, in my opinion, of a similar standard. You can't do much better in this price range. Both are on my shortlist for visiting London now.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XParis, Deputy General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much indeed for your lovely detailed feedback regarding the hotel, it’s location and the quality of the service provided.
We are delighted to hear that you had a nice stay with us and that the service offered was up to your expectation.
Once again, we do appreciate you sharing your comments with other Tripadvisor users and the team and I would be more than happy to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth in the near future.

Kind regards,

Xavier Paris Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leics
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Great location near Tottenham court road tube, lovely modern room, albeit small, but that's typical of London rooms. Gorgeous bathroom toiletries, which you can buy from reception, Would stay again. I did not have breakfast so can not comment. Bar was nice,and check in was fast. Check online first to get a good rate but this hotel was great
for the price of one hundred and thirty pounds.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XParis, Deputy General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback regarding the hotel and its location.
I am glad you had an enjoyable stay with us and I am looking forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth in the near future.

Kind regards,

Xavier Paris Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at hotel during overnight layover. Location of hotel is great. Checkin was friendly and efficient. Room and bathroom were small but that's typical of Lobdon. Similarly price was high by most standards but reasonable for London. Free wifi and bottled water were appreciated. My room facing great Russell street was quiet. Restaurant for dinner was good and service good but a bit expensive. I had full English breakfast at Bloomsbury cafe around the corner on Bloomsbury street which was cheaper and more filling than hotel's 11£ "reduced" continental breakfast

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XParis, Deputy General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to the Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth.
I was pleased to read that you overall stay was good and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kindest regards

Xavier Paris
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel

Address: 97 Great Russell Street, London WC1B 3LB, England (Formerly Radisson Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden / Primrose Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#230 Luxury Hotel in London
#236 Business Hotel in London
#250 Romantic Hotel in London
#276 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian style Hotel situated downtown in literary area of Bloomsbury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson London
London Radisson
Radisson Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.