We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jules . Royalty Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Montague on The Gardens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Montague on The Gardens to your Saves list
The Montague on The Gardens
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Montague Street, Bloomsbury, London WC1B 5BJ, England (Bloomsbury)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3 nights for 2
Ranked #9 of 1,052 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersGold level
Chorley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Jules . Royalty Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Cannot praise the staff enough . Brilliant hotel , the best i have ever stayed at in 25 years of travelling all over the globe. Would not hesitate to stop here again.
Great location, only 15 minute walk to Euston train station or Oxford street / Covent Gardens and 5 minute walk to nearest tube.

Room Tip: All great rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your kind comments following your recent stay with us.

I was thrilled that you thought the Montague was the best hotel you had stayed in over 25 years travelling. Your kind comment is greatly appreciated.

We are very proud of our staff at The Montague and it is always pleasing to receive such kind comments as yours. I shall ensure that your kind praise is passed on.
I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,277
    472
    81
    21
    9
See reviews for
450
1,384
200
426
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed here recently for a few days. The staff was superb and the accommodations and breakfasts were very good. The Bloomsbury neighborhood is also a draw, close to Soho and the British museum.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind comments following your recent visit.

I am delighted that your enjoyed your stay with us and that you were happy with your room and breakfast in the Blue Door Bistro. Your comment that the staff were superb is most appreciated. I shall ensure that your kind praise and thanks is passed on to the team and that their service is duly recognised.
I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Montague in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, Kent
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My partner and I have stayed here a couple of times for a shopping and theatre weekend as it is in an ideal location just five minutes walk from Tottenham Court Road/Oxford Street and within easy walking distance of all the main West End Shows, restaurants and Covent Garden. The British Museum is also just around the corner if you fancy a bit of culture. The staff are very helpful and courteous without being over powering. Rooms are pleasant if a little small (we were in Room 327) but it was more than adequate for our needs with a nice bath and a shower that was in the ceiling - a bonus when you are tall. Tea & Coffee facilities plus a safe for your valuables and a flat screen TV with lots of channels including Sky Sports if you get tired of the shopping and even free Wi-Fi whether you come armed with a laptop or not. Lots of toiletries etc, fluffy towels and even bathrobes and slippers. Breakfasts are really nice and the crispy bacon is to die for - lots on offer with eggs done how you like them. A nice touch is the availability of tea/coffee, fresh fruit and healthy snack bars in the lounge area plus all the broadsheet papers, magazines etc. We had a complimentary bottle of champagne on arrival, late check out on a Sunday (6pm) and a also afternoon tea included in our deal which was extremely pleasant, some might say colonial. All in all a very nice quiet hotel for a stay in London. You will not be disappointed if you choose this hotel for either a weekend or an extended stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you have breakfast - that crispy bacon is just terrific!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your lovely comments following your visit to the hotel.

As regular and much-valued guests, we really do appreciate the feedback you provide as we feel it is extremely important to us as it helps us to improve the services and facilities that we provide. I am delighted that we were once again able to make your stay with us a memorable one. Thank you also for the kind comments about the helpfulness and courtesy of the staff.

I was thrilled that you were pleased with all the amenities provided in your room such as the slippers, gown, the TV with a wide range of channels and the free Wi-Fi.

It pleases me to read that you also enjoyed breakfast and afternoon tea in our restaurant the Blue Door Bistro.

We are very proud of our staff and it is always lovely to receive such kind comments as yours. We constantly strive to surpass our guest’s expectations of service and it is always pleasing to hear that these efforts are noticed. I shall ensure that your kind praise and thanks is passed on to the staff and that their service is duly recognised.

I do hope and that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Montague soon.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My husband and I have recently returned from the hotel to celebrate his 50th birthday for 2 nights. We booked through superbreak and had the champagne weekend which entailed champagne on arrival plus late check out Sunday afternoon. Firstly location is great 10 minutes from Oxford street and close to theatres too. Firstly most noticeable thing about the hotel are the staff they are all very friendly and it's obvious customer service is very high on the list it appears they like there jobs which definitely shows. Breakfast is lovely in the morning lovely choice and served promptly. We drank in the bar both afternoon and evening great choice of wines, champagnes and fabulous mohitto we had club sandwiches couple times and was lovely. You can have afternoon tea and that looked lovely so give it a go. The room we had was decorated in a neutral style with a bit if leopard print which I loved, size was fine as you are in London so you cannot expect it too big. Hotel left a balloon, home made biscuits, sweets and bottled water in the room and a hand written letter wishing us a wonderful stay and a happy birthday to my husband. The room was immaculately cleaned and so was the bathroom, slippers and dressing gown along with lovely toiletries await you too. As a travel agent would recommend this hotel especially if you want to feel special and have a lovely weekend treat. Xxxxxx

Room Tip: Liaise with hotel, they will do there best for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback following your stay with us.

As much-valued guests, your feedback is extremely important to us as it helps us to improve the services and facilities that we provide and I am therefore delighted that we made your husbands special birthday stay one to remember.

I was thrilled to read that you enjoyed breakfast in the Blue Door Bistro and I am equally pleased that you enjoyed the drinks on offer, especially the mojitos, in our Terrace bar.

Our staff take great pride in their jobs and so it is lovely to receive such wonderful comments as yours about their friendliness and the service they provide.

As we rely on word of mouth referral, I would like to thank you for your kind recommendation to others.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed for one night and were treated like royalty. Our room was upgraded due to it being a special Wedding Anniversary. The staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble. This is a boutique hotel and has a quirky character to it. We would recommend this hotel amd would like to thank all the staff for the world class service we received.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your lovely comments about your recent visit.

I was delighted to read that you chose to celebrate your special wedding anniversary with us here at the Montague. We are very proud of our staff, who strive to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and so it is delightful to hear that these efforts are noticed. We truly feel that nothing is too much trouble and so your comments are most appreciated.

I would personally like to thank you for your kind recommendation.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This was my fourth stay at the Montague. Usually my husband and I stay. He loves it! This time I spent a weekend in London visiting an ex-pat girlfriend and felt as a middle aged woman on my own, I wanted to count on a hotel where I knew I would be remembered, pampered, and safe. I was not disappointed. The service at the Montague is stunning. The concierge got me wonderful seats for theater in the West End, directed me to stores to buy new comfort shoes, and gave me wonderful directions to museums. My laundry was done in less than half a day. The room was immaculately clean. Yes, the rooms are small. This is an 18th century townhouse hotel. But the rooms have every amenity. Nothing is neglected. The breakfast offered has everything you can imagine and a la carte options. Let me give you two examples of service at the Montague:

On my return day, I was already checked out of my room, and ordered a peppermint tea before my car arrived. The tea came with chocolates, and to my surprise... free of charge.

A multi-generational family came for a birthday Sunday brunch at the hotel. They were unable to leave their little dog in the car park. So he came to lunch at the Montague also, and was given a refreshing bowl of water in the lobby before his car arrived.

Charming...utterly charming!

Room Tip: Rooms with a garden view, higher up are the best, but the street facing side can be very quiet as we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments following your stay with us.

As regular and much-valued guests, your feedback is extremely important to us as it helps us to improve the services and facilities that we provide and I am therefore thrilled that we have once again met your expectations, and made you feel pampered and safe.

I was so pleased to read that our Concierge were able to organise tickets to the theatre for you and were able to give you directions to shops and museums.

Here at the Montague we like to be sure that our guests have everything they may need during their stay and so I am delighted that your room had every amenity you may want. I am equally delighted that you enjoyed breakfast in the Blue Door Bistro.

Thank you for sharing your observation, we ensure pets are treated as equally as guests and ensure that they have everything they may need as well!

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel again.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overijse, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We were welcomed by a ceaselessly friendly and helpful team, from front desk to restaurant and room staff. Perfect comfort in our room, very quiet as it was looking out over the rear gardens. Excellent food in the brasserie, the set menu very good value. Amazing breakfast! The location is perfect, only 50m from the British Museum, near all the transport links of Russell Square (underground and buses). Short walk to theatreland and Covent Garden, and to the Embankment. Buses to all main rail stations. In short, perfection...

Room Tip: Quietest rooms overlook gardens at rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your lovely feedback regarding your recent stay at the Montague.

It pleases me to read that you were welcomed by all staff during your time with us and you found your room to be perfectly comfortable. Your kind comments are most appreciated.

I am especially delighted that you enjoyed breakfast and thought the food was amazing in our restaurant, the Blue Door Bistro.

Your kind comments regarding both the staff and restaurant are most appreciated.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel again.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,052 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 1,884 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#7 of 1,052 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 1,183 reviews
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#2 of 1,052 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 1,254 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#4 of 1,052 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 931 reviews
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Montague on The Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montague on The Gardens

Address: 15 Montague Street, Bloomsbury, London WC1B 5BJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in London
#6 Family Hotel in London
#7 Business Hotel in London
#9 Luxury Hotel in London
#11 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Montague on The Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Montague on The Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Montague On The Gardens Hotel London
The Montague On Gardens
Montague On The Gardens London
Montague Gardens
The Montague On The Gardens London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Montague on The Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.