We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star service at a 4 star price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Montague on The Gardens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Montague on The Gardens to your Saves list
The Montague on The Gardens
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Montague Street, Bloomsbury, London WC1B 5BJ, England (Bloomsbury)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3 nights for 2
Ranked #9 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“5 star service at a 4 star price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is our second trip to the Montague over the past 2 years. We visited one year ago and stayed at the Montague in the spring of 2012. We were so impressed with the overall feel and service of the staff that we decided to stay here again when we decided to combine business with a pleasure trip for the week. The rooms are small yet cozy and tastefully furnished. The staff remembered us, greeted us by name and sent us a bottle of champagne with a hand written card from the general manager welcoming us back. The concierge was extremely helpful booking us reservations at delightful restaurants as well as securing us excellent tickets to the theatre. The hidden gem is the exceptionally "English" bar that serves a multitude of mixed drinks as well as featuring piano music as well as a clubby atmosphere. We made sure to stop by and have an after dinner drink each night just to relax and unwind after dinner. Brilliant! As the British say! We will definitely be back as we love London and our experience at the Montague.

Room Tip: We had a room at the very end of the hall and it was perfect--extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review following your recent stay with us.

As much-valued guests, your feedback is extremely important to us as it helps us to improve the services and facilities that we provide and I am therefore delighted that we have exceeded your expectations and made your stay with us an occasion to remember again. I’m delighted that our Concierge were able to assist you with booking theatre tickets and that the staff were attentive, with no request being too much trouble.

I’m delighted that you felt our bar had a great atmosphere and that your enjoyed our live pianist each evening during which you were able to relax and unwind.

I hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,168
    459
    78
    21
    9
See reviews for
435
1,320
190
411
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Keighley
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Location:
As we are a young couple we were looking for a centrally located hotel that would give us access to both the local museums, a good place to eat in the evening and a good base to go and explore the local surroundings, this hotel ticked all of the boxes! We were in London for 3 days and at no point did we have to get the tube, the British Museum is a 2 minute walk away from the hotel, Covent Garden was a easy 10 minute walk away and the centre of London an extra 10 minutes on top of that!

Rooms:
We had read some of the reviews about the hotel before we booked it and there seemed to be quite a few comments stating that the rooms were too small, when we got there we did find that this was the case. The room had lovely decor and was fantastically furnished but there was a slight lack of space, for us this wasn't an issue. There was only 2 of us and we only brought a small suitcase with us, so we weren't affected by the fact that the room was small. I could possibly see this being a problem if you bring large suite cases, but if you find that your standard room is a little too small they do offer a upgrade for £50 (per night) to one of the larger rooms.

Service:
This had to be the best part about this hotel, the service you received from every member of staff was impeccable. From the moment the front door is opened for you, to the moment that you leave you receive nothing but outstanding service. All members of staff are polite, helpful and knowledgeable about the local area, they made the stay much more enjoyable.

Bar:
The pice of the hotel bar was reasonable, the standard price of a pint of beer was around £5.50 and the price of the cocktails started at £12. All of with came with complimentary nibbles.

Breakfast:
The breakfast was very nicely laid out and offered both a hot british breakfast (Bacon, Canadian bacon, egg, sausage, mushrooms and hash browns) as well as a selection of meats and cheeses, this cost around £19.

Other:
The hotel also had a tea room and conservatory in which you are able to enjoy an afternoon tea (+£20 per head) and a cigar patio, in which you were able to smoke cigars outside under the heaters.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments following your stay with us.

I am delighted that the Montague offered everything you were looking for in your trip to London. It pleases me to read that you liked your room and found the public areas to be pleasant, especially the Conservatories and Cigar Terrace. I’m also pleased that you enjoyed breakfast in our restaurant, the Blue Door Bistro.

Our staff like to make our guests feel welcome and ensure they have everything they may need during their time with us and so I’m thrilled that they were helpful and knowledgeable.

I hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Montague in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I felt pampered, tended to and respected in this marvelous hotel. The rooms were beautiful and quiet, the location—a block away from the British Museum and close to several tube stations—was brilliant, but the single best thing about the hotel in the genuine friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. Every request is met with a smile and an all out attempt to assist. The only slight concern was smoking in the bar, but that was avoidable. The breakfasts were superb and you could get them served in your room with no extra charge if you didn't want to share your breakfast experience. I will never look elsewhere for a hotel in London. I will go back to The Montague without thinking twice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your lovely review following your recent visit to the Montague.

I was sorry to read that you found the smoking in the bar to be concerning, we do not permit guests to smoke within the hotel however we do have designated external spaces for them to do so. I would like to apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused.

However, I am thrilled that you felt pampered, tended to and respected during your stay with us. Our staff like to make our guests’ stay one that is comfortable and memorable and I am delighted that these efforts were noticed. I am also pleased that you found the breakfast in our restaurant, the Blue Door Bistro to be superb.

I look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Montague soon.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Staying at the Montague on the Gardens Hotel in London is a very high quality experience. Not only is the staff friendly, helpful, and extremely well trained, but the rooms are lovely and the location of the hotel (right across the street from the British Museum and in walking distance from Oxford Street and Leicester Square) is ideal for exploring the wonderful city of London. And, the breakfasts that come with your hotel stay at the Montague are really delicious!

Room Tip: Just tell the very helpful front desk staff what you are looking for in a room and they will help yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind comments following your recent visit to the Montague.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us here and found the rooms to be lovely and the location perfect. I am also delighted that the staff were friendly and helpful. We constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and it is always delightful to hear that these efforts are noticed.

I hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We were looking for a centrally located hotel that would cater well for a romantic fit 40's couple weekend with a lot of culture thrown in -we wanted a location walkable to British Museum, National Gallery, Thames river trip to Greenwich and West End show. We wanted a great bed, late breakfast serving, friendly and discreet staff. Have to say The Montague fit the ticket perfectly and our weekend was memorable. Thanks for a great time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback following your stay with us.

As much-valued guests, your feedback is extremely important to us as it helps us to improve the services and facilities that we provide and I am therefore delighted that we have exceeded your expectations, and made your stay with us an occasion to remember. I was delighted to read that the Montague was the perfect hotel for your weekend away and that your stay was memorable.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The people here bend over backwards to make sure you are happy. Every member of staff we encountered was polite and helpful. Real old fashioned service. The management should be very proud of them.
The hotel is very near the Dominion theatre where we saw a fabulous show. Short walk back to the hotel ( about a 10 minute stroll) we decided to have a drink in hotel bar. Staff seated us, took our order, provided us with nibbles and kept a check to make sure we had everything we needed. What lovely people. We felt valued as guests. Not the usual corporate, impersonal service you usually get these days. Thankyou, we would love to come back soon.

Room Tip: Room was not huge but had everything we needed. Lovely shower. Tea making facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your lovely review following your recent visit to the Montague.

I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to relax in the bar and were pleased with the service provided.

We are very proud of our staff and it is lovely to receive such wonderful feedback about how they ensured you had a pleasant stay and made you feel valued. We constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and it is always delightful to hear that these efforts are noticed. I shall ensure that your kind praise and thanks is passed on to the staff and that their service is duly recognised.

I look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Montague soon.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

If you are into old buildings and classic style, this hotel is for you. The location is great, next to the British museum and in a walking distance from Oxford street, Leicester square and china town.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind comments following your recent visit to the Montague.

I was pleased to read that you found our hotel to be of classic style and the location suited you.

I hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Montague soon.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Montague on The Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montague on The Gardens

Address: 15 Montague Street, Bloomsbury, London WC1B 5BJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in London
#7 Business Hotel in London
#9 Luxury Hotel in London
#9 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Montague on The Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, LondonMarketing.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and getaroom.com so you can book your The Montague on The Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Montague On The Gardens Hotel London
The Montague On Gardens
Montague On The Gardens London
Montague Gardens
The Montague On The Gardens London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Montague on The Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.