We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service, location, and great charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Montague on The Gardens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Montague on The Gardens to your Saves list
The Montague on The Gardens
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Montague Street, Bloomsbury, London WC1B 5BJ, England (Bloomsbury)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 33% OFF!
Ranked #8 of 1,058 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersGold level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding service, location, and great charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Staying at the Montague on the Gardens Hotel in London is a very high quality experience. Not only is the staff friendly, helpful, and extremely well trained, but the rooms are lovely and the location of the hotel (right across the street from the British Museum and in walking distance from Oxford Street and Leicester Square) is ideal for exploring the wonderful city of London. And, the breakfasts that come with your hotel stay at the Montague are really delicious!

Room Tip: Just tell the very helpful front desk staff what you are looking for in a room and they will help yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind comments following your recent visit to the Montague.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us here and found the rooms to be lovely and the location perfect. I am also delighted that the staff were friendly and helpful. We constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and it is always delightful to hear that these efforts are noticed.

I hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We were looking for a centrally located hotel that would cater well for a romantic fit 40's couple weekend with a lot of culture thrown in -we wanted a location walkable to British Museum, National Gallery, Thames river trip to Greenwich and West End show. We wanted a great bed, late breakfast serving, friendly and discreet staff. Have to say The Montague fit the ticket perfectly and our weekend was memorable. Thanks for a great time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephenpullan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback following your stay with us.

As much-valued guests, your feedback is extremely important to us as it helps us to improve the services and facilities that we provide and I am therefore delighted that we have exceeded your expectations, and made your stay with us an occasion to remember. I was delighted to read that the Montague was the perfect hotel for your weekend away and that your stay was memorable.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The people here bend over backwards to make sure you are happy. Every member of staff we encountered was polite and helpful. Real old fashioned service. The management should be very proud of them.
The hotel is very near the Dominion theatre where we saw a fabulous show. Short walk back to the hotel ( about a 10 minute stroll) we decided to have a drink in hotel bar. Staff seated us, took our order, provided us with nibbles and kept a check to make sure we had everything we needed. What lovely people. We felt valued as guests. Not the usual corporate, impersonal service you usually get these days. Thankyou, we would love to come back soon.

Room Tip: Room was not huge but had everything we needed. Lovely shower. Tea making facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your lovely review following your recent visit to the Montague.

I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to relax in the bar and were pleased with the service provided.

We are very proud of our staff and it is lovely to receive such wonderful feedback about how they ensured you had a pleasant stay and made you feel valued. We constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and it is always delightful to hear that these efforts are noticed. I shall ensure that your kind praise and thanks is passed on to the staff and that their service is duly recognised.

I look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Montague soon.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

If you are into old buildings and classic style, this hotel is for you. The location is great, next to the British museum and in a walking distance from Oxford street, Leicester square and china town.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kamal f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind comments following your recent visit to the Montague.

I was pleased to read that you found our hotel to be of classic style and the location suited you.

I hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Montague soon.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Beautiful little hotel in a central but quiet part of London. Suzanna on reception was very efficient and charming (as were all the staff I encountered) and check in was very quick. I had asked for a slightly more spacious room with a bath and was very pleased with the room (208).

It has a slightly quirky layout (and I have a few bruises after walking into the furniture), but this is all part of the cham of this type of building. The bathroom (and bath) were a little small but fine, the room itself was very cute with a good size bed and cleverly positioned mirrors and very prettily decorated. Despite the room overlooking the road it was very quiet. The bed was super comfy. Complimentary bottles of water, fresh fruit and cookies were a nice touch and I apprecaite the tea and coffee making facilities (but only one english breakfast tea!!). Ordered room service breakfast which was good and good value. Check out was friendly, quick and efficient. A very cute hotel.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank arw2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind feedback following your stay with us.

Being an older style Georgian townhouse property we have a wide selection of styles, shapes and sizes of accommodation with each room being unique. I was really very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations with regards to the size of the room that was allocated to you. However, I was pleased to read that you liked the decor and that the bed was comfortable.

Our staff endeavour to ensure that our guests have everything they may need during their stay and so I am delighted that Suzanna was efficient and charming and was able to allocate you a room with a bath. Your kind comments regarding the staff are most appreciated and I shall ensure that your kind praise and thanks is passed on to the Suzanna and the rest of the teams and that their service is duly recognised.

I hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have stayed at several Red Carnation hotels and the staff/.service are always of the highest standard.The location is great being close enough to walk into the shops/theatres/eateries but sufficiently away from the noise on a night for a great night's sleep( not to be confused with Lenny Henry's idea of a good night's sleep).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MikeW66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for lovely comments regarding your recent stay with us.

I was thrilled to read that you were able to enjoy a great night’s sleep here at the Montague and you found the service/staff to be of the highest standard. We constantly endeavour to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and it is always pleasing to hear that these efforts are noticed.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Montague or one of our sister hotels in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights in March. Every day we had terrible weather which made walking any distance unpleasant.

The hotel public areas were fine and the staff is lovely, very helpful and pleasant. We were impressed that our room was waiting for us as we staggered in around 11 AM after our long flight from JFK. So often we've arrived at hotels and have been told that check in isn't until 3.

We stayed in 322 -- a "classic king". The room is between the staff elevator and the emergency exist stairway with a strange layout. A small room then several steps up and a 4 foot passageway to a tiny room that had a day bed wedged into it. This room made 322 a triple but since there were the 2 of us it was wasted/useless space.
The "main" bedroom had many mirrors but was small, there was no bureau and not enough room to put 2 suitcases on the floor. We ended up using the day bed for that.
Wifi worked well, plenty of water pressure and hot water.

The location: I hadn't stayed in the British Museum/Russell Square area for years. It is only a 15 minute walk to the West End but the immediate area is boring, scores of low/mid range hotels and cheap restaurants. The squares are pleasant and the BM is close and there are several tube stations near.

Room Tip: Read my notes about 322, most likely avoid unless you need a triple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marianneNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us.

Being an older style Georgian townhouse property we have a wide selection of styles, shapes and sizes of accommodation with each room being unique. I was really very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations with regards to the size of the room that was allocated to you. Please accept my apologies for the disappointment this would have caused.

However I was pleased to read that you were happy with the Wi-Fi and water pressures and that your room was ready on arrival.

I was delighted to read that all of our staff were helpful and pleasant. We constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and it is always rewarding to hear that these efforts are noticed.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,058 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 2,135 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#7 of 1,058 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 1,685 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#9 of 1,058 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#3 of 1,058 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 1,392 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,058 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 938 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#10 of 1,058 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 2,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Montague on The Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montague on The Gardens

Address: 15 Montague Street, Bloomsbury, London WC1B 5BJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in London
#3 Family Hotel in London
#7 Business Hotel in London
#7 Luxury Hotel in London
#9 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — The Montague on The Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, LateRooms, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Montague on The Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Montague On The Gardens Hotel London
The Montague On Gardens
Montague On The Gardens London
Montague Gardens
The Montague On The Gardens London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing